Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
Just a wonderful Choral work, especially with the Cambridge Singers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
At last after several tries, I've found a recording of this wonderful work by Faure which does justice to my first introduction to it. Excellent for all the right reasons. The Cambridge Singers are in tune with the mood here, and the other pieces (also Faure) complete the CD in compatible manner.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This disc, first issued in 1984, focusses on a recording of the second of three versions Faure made of his Requiem. The first did not include two of the movements and was written for a smaller orchestra without violins, horns or trumpets. The second version from 1893 and recorded here incorporated these extra instruments in a limited but telling way and also included the Offertoire and Libera Me missing from the first version. The third, and most often performed version was for full orchestra and larger choir.

The performance here uses the small orchestra as required by Faure and this is matched by a small choir of very great purity of tone. The horns have a small but vital role in the climax to the Libera me. This is far more effective than in many more opulent versions simply because of the contrast created between so little and then relatively so much. The important treble solo in the Pie Jesu is taken by solo soprano Caroline Ashton who sings with such a clarity that it is very hard to imagine that she is not a treble of great tonal quality and surety. The baritone soloist, Stephen Varcoe, sings his solo well.

The Cantique de Jean Racine is an early work of Faure written when he was just 20 winning him first prize in a competition. It has justifiably remained popular ever since. The remaining works on the disc are of similar quality but it will be for the Requiem that this disc is chosen.

I would suggest that, like John Rutter believes, this is the finest of the three settings created by Faure. As such it has strong claims on collectors and this is one of the finest performances of that setting made. The recording portrays its ethereal quality perfectly. A sublime disc in every way.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
Absolutely beautiful music played fabulously. This takes you up and into a spiritual realm and soothes and calms and allows you to release emotions safely. Very moving.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2010
I bought this CD on the strength of the recent BBC Magazine recommendation. I am very pleased that I did. This is a beautiful recording of a wonderful piece of music. John Rutter's presence is an added bonus. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2012
i
Faure Requiem and other items,

This CD was excellent value and a CD I always wanted, having sung it with a local choir several times. One of my favourite Requiems and I think a lot of other's favourite as well. If not heard before it is well worth listening to.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
Fauré's Requiem always moves the listener. Cambridge Singers with John Rutter always bring a tonality that takes the listener right inside the music, a profoundly spiritual experience.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
This is the chamber version of the well-known Faure Requiem and in this form the work has a purity and poignancy that is incomparably beautiful. I now find the more familiar full orchestral version somewhat overblown by comparison. This is music I have given on two occasions to bereaved friends, and both found it almost uniquely consoling. The other works on the disc, especially the sublime Cantique de Jean Racine, are equally captivating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Heavenly music, heavenly performed! Need one say more? A bargain!
I would recommend this CD to anyone who likes choral music.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£5.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)