Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 November 2011
What a terrific opportunity to see this ballet and listen to Sir Charles' masterly arrangement of Sullivans music - Pineapple Poll is full of light-hearted comedy, fully realised by The Royal Ballet, and David Blair is a very suave and nimble footed Captain Belaye. The lady and the Fool is new to me, but again, a lovely mix of Verdis music and superb dancing with Beriosova as the lady, a good story, but somehow Crankos choreography is not as vibrant as in Pineapple Poll.
Well done for retrieving this from the BBC archives - a real piece of ballet history - but I have a suspicion the BBC also broadcast Pineapple Poll in later years, this time in colour, again with David Blair as Belaye - shame that could not also be restored and shown.
As this was filmed in 1959 it is in black and white which is disappointing, but it is such a pleasure to see this lovely ballet again one must make the most of it and enjoy.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2013
I am delighted to have these two ballets but watching them makes you realise how much things have improved in the last 50 years of so - and I don't just mean the technology. Mackerras's arrangements of Verdi's music and Sullivan's is a joy to listen to but it would be even better with a decent modern recording - but then I doubt that the Royal Ballet would want to consider these gems.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2017
Content very entertaining but thought that it would be in colour rather than black and white. If in colour it would have justified 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2017
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2013
I was surprised to find this was in Black and White as it needs colour to improve the spectacle. Pineapple Poll was amusing but relatively the sound quality was poor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2014
Great!
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2013
It is all Gilbert and Sullivan all put together to a lively ballet.. Wish there was a latter performance by Royal Ballet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2011
A superb recording of two brilliant ballets. The music is crystal clear and the recording would make a welcome addition to anyone's collection. Warmly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2012
I am old enough to have gone to the first night of Pineapple Poll at Sadlers Wells, I may have also gone to the first night of Lady and the Fool so this DVD brings back many happy memories. They both were both such colorful ballets that it is a pity that an attempt was not made to culourise the disk.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2012
Unaware it was in black and white, very disappointing.
Would not have purchased had i known this,
Would not recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)