Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Lab Rat One (Touchstone Book 2)
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


on 23 June 2012
I wasn't to certain about reading the first book because of what some reviews were saying about the format.
After a while i decided to give it a go and i can say it was the best decision i made.

Andrea truly manages to catch the readers attention and leaves you wanting more.
I read a review that said that they are definitely going to re-read the books and i absolutely agree with them.
The Touchstone books are very original and no matter how much i look for books that are similar they pale in comparison.

i am someone who always reads reviews and decides whether or not i am going to buy a book.
All i can say is that buy the books, you will not be disappointed, i wasn't.

P.S. Lab Rat One, my favourite.........
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
This is not my usual genre, bought the first because it was free, and the second because I just had to know what was next. I usually like hot and sexy shifter and vampire books, not like this book at all which is perfectly suitable for young adults. However, like the first book in the series 'Stray', I could not put it down. Although some people have complained about the diary format of these books, I feel that it was a great way to write these stories, that I really understand Cass and care what happens to her. There is a lot of depth to the characters, and the world created is believable and fascinating.

I cannot wait for book three!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Easy pace, quick read. Easily kept me turning pages to see what happened next. Worthwhile purchase even if sci-go isn't you go to genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 20 November 2011
Four months ago, Cassandra "Cass" Devlin was walking home on her last day of high school when she walked through a worm hole to another planet.

The planet of Tare is populated by a race genetically almost identical to humans, but with psychic powers of enhanced sight and powers over elemental forces. The most gifted psychics are now trained from childhood to join the elite band of psychic warriors know as the Setari who battle the dreams and nightmares that are trying to break through the ruptures between real space and what lies beyond. Discovering that Cass has the power to enhance and augment the abilities of the Setari, Cass finds herself joining their ranks where she discovers that she also has latent psychic powers, only her powers are many times more powerful than anything the Setari can imagine, including the ability to unlock the secrets of the Taren's abandoned original home planet of Muina. She also finds herself with a huge crush on one of the Setari squad captains who shows no interest in her whatsoever.

I really enjoyed the first book in this series and bought this second book straight after reading the first. The story continues directly from the end of the first book, but grows stronger and darker. I thoroughly enjoyed the story and really liked the occasional nod given in the story to the game Portal - one of my favourite games of all time, as well as other gaming and internet related cultural references.

Overall - 5 stars: Highly enjoyable Young Adult science ficton/fantasy told in an unusual diary format that really does work. The third and final book in the series is now available Caszandra (Touchstone). I really am looking forward to seeing what happens in the end!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
A sequal to 'stray' that follows so directly th ey might have been written as one book and split. Continu es to hold interst in an alien yet believable world. Like all good scifi, everything is plausible, just a logical advance on what we have now. Fot example, they surf the net, use social networks, share diaries etc just as we do with pcs and tablets but via an implanted device. Bet Apple are already thinking about how to do it.
One weakness of the book is that everything occurs in the restricted setting isolated from the main population so you find out a lot about the Setari but nothing about the majority. Apart from knowing they have shops, what do all these people do all day? But I loved the continuing soap opera based on leaked information and Caz's reaction to the actor portraying her, and the way the Setari are almost mobbed when recognised.
Agree with other comments that it does get a bit bogged down at times, but the diary approach and candid comments work well. Have already downloaded the next volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
I bought this sequal after reading the free copy of Stray, the first book in the series, and enjoying it a lot. If you also enjoyed Stray, I would definatley reccomend purchasing this second book, as it's very much more of the same. The characters and sci-fi world are all interesting and believable and you always want to read a little more and find out what happens.
The only problem I have with both books is that they have a pacing problem- there is sometimes long stretches with repetitive missons and long descriptions of coversations and fights, none of which is actually involved in moving the plot foreward. In fact, this second book does seem to be filler between the first and last installment, and the plot doesn't move on significantley at all.
Having said all this, I still loved reading it, and hopefully the finale will be more plot-orientated! I am also hoping the heroine spends less time injured in the third book, as it was slightley frustrating for her to be so weak and helpless all the time. Looking foreward to it's release!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
The trilogy of books are written as the journal of a 17 year old girl called Cassandra ("Cass but never Cassie") who, on her walk home from school, finds herself on a different planet and discovers that she has some rather unusual abilities, some of which make her a danger to herself.

Just as with the first book in the trilogy, Stray, I struggled to put this book down at bedtime which isn't helpful when the books are wonderfully long and you have to go to work the next day!

Someone else has already commented that the second book in a trilogy is often weak, not so with Lab Rat One - this book builds on Stray and leaves you anything but disappointed - I can't recommend it highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Lab Rat one was bought as a sequel to Stray. It continues the excellent story started in Stray. It is well written and has a good story line to follow
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
I picked the first one up as a free book and had to buy the others in the series, well written and very different.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
The second book and again one I couldn't put down. Brilliant storyline with brilliant characters. Epic story which kept me captivated and a real feel good bit too!! Now I'm straight to start the next one. Thanks for writing such a great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse