Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
37
3.7 out of 5 stars
Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 April 2017
Very poor script. Confused, trying to cram everything "fashionable" into the story and the ingridients just don't mix. The private story-line is also most disapponting. Poor actors - it must have been really hard to deal with such a mix of genres - a little thriller and too much melodrama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
This is fantastic, but then it has the amazing Suranne Jones in it. Her talent was wasted in Coronation Street the best thing she done was leave as her skilful acting is now being allowed to blossom and grow in the way it should.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
Just finished watching all five episodes - this could have been very good, especially with some of the excellent actors involved - however the whole enterprise was let down by a poor storyline combined with poor writing.
I felt it "opted" out from difficult decisions in the storyline process, possibly because of some kind of PC directive? If this was not the problem perhaps the writer should consider a different vocation.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Some people discover their God-given mission late in life. I'm glad I'm still young enough to take up my staff and go walking among hills and dales to spread the word: KEEP AWAY FROM THIS TRAIN-WRECK OF A SCRIPT!!!!!

I really enjoy British TV dramas and am often surprised when discovering relatively unknown gems. The hype around the "Five days" series, and the great cast of actors, had me try this. It's a wreck, a complete wreck.

And that's quite an achivement for the screenwriter, given that the actors are for the most part excellent, their characters often well-defined. But the narrative itself is awful. Not only is it very inconclusive ( many red herrings abound and get you nowhere)but in the end, the explanation for what happened is such a ludicrous mish-mash of unlikely coincidences, ridiculous psychological explanations, etc etc... that should you try this, you'd find yourself, like me and quite a few others viewers it seems, wondering: how did anyone at BBC vet this script?????
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Stick with this one, lots of back stories going on.
Anne Reid is her usual endearing self, Suranne Jones as her daughter
is wonderful... an understated but enthralling thriller
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
The first two episodes are gripping and I was beginning to believe that this was indeed better than the first series. But episode three didn't seem to move the story line much further along and by episode four and five it had wandered off course and finally spluttered out with a wimper. The script dodged some issues and I suspect was influenced by the PC brigade.

The storyline regarding the train driver became totally implausible. It has a feel that the writer struggled to conclude the series whilst retaining some sense of continuity. Maybe there was some interference from above and the writer simply lost heart? I certainly did! Pity as it was well acted, great setting and good sense of drama.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
After watching the first series of Five Days, I was keen to buy this DVD. Im a great fan of Suranne Jones having seen her in Unforgiven and Scott & Bailey. It was a really good drama with a fair amount of good British actors however I felt the last episode let the series down. It was quite flat and was a bit of a disappointment. However if another series comes out, I would still be keen on seeing it.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
Saw series 1 on DVD so purposely didnt watch it on TV but got the DVD instead. All concentration needed here but once again a fantastic series - all about the people again - love these shows - great acting, great storyline to actually challenge the grey cells a little - its a grown up, serious Brit version of 24 I say! Bring on the next series!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2011
Not much to say about this one. I watched an episode every evening thinking it was going to get better, but it just went from bad to worse. When it finally finished, I thought, what was all that about?
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
The series starts with the mysterious death of a "jumper" dressed in Muslim black burkka, but with a twist. The story goes from there, including the haunted visions of the train driver. The lady police officer role is very well done, and all supporting cast roles work a treat. It keeps you involved, while not being too obvious. The direction is top flight through the weaving events, so visually it is sophisticated. Whether the ending is satisfying to all viewers remains to be seen, but it's the road that gets you there which has the charm.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)