Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
11
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.03
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2012
Other than Allan Kelly's 10 things to know about Kanban software development blog post, which is awesome, Getting Started with Kanban by Paul Klipp is the only Kanban material I have read so far. I really like these short books which seem to be coming out thick and fast at the moment. I really must get mine ready! It took me less than an hour to get through this book. I suppose it could have been presented for free as a long blog post or an article, but I'm really not bothered paying £1.54 for it. It was worth it.

I literally had no idea about Kanban other than it was a looser Agile (than something like Scrum). I enjoyed reading this book and I learnt a lot in a very short period of time. I am now comfortable with what Kanban is and how it works and I can really see the appeal. I may even have to revise my thinking that to be Agile you have to have iterations.

About half the book is dedicated to an overview of Kanban with a list of other books you should read, including Kanban by David J. Anderson which is next on my reading list, and the final half to a description of the Kanban process that Paul Klipp uses. This really helps give some context to Kanban.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
This guide really does tell you everything you need to know to get started and getting started is probably the most important thing, as how you use the Kanban method will likely rapidly change and evolve at first until it settles
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
This short work relies heavily on graphical illustrations. As a technology, Kindle's not great at that, but the author has got round that limitation by providing Website links to where the graphics can be viewed in detail. That means exiting Kindle for a browser, so it may not a be solution for earlier Kindles, but that's neither the fault of the author, nor the work.
This is a good overview of Kanban, with practical examples of how the author uses Kanban in a variety of ways. It will certainly be enough to help you decide whether or how you want to study Kanban further, and it in some circumstances, it may be all you need to make use of the technique and adopt it into operational management.
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
The look gives a very good introduction in a straightforward way they makes it very accessible to someone new to the subject. It is short enough to get through quickly and to start to use the information provided. I look forward to building on the clear foundation this provides. Excellent value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
A good, short introduction that you could recommend for your colleagues if you're starting a Kanban initiative. I will be doing so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
It does what it says on the tin. It is an intro, easy to read in one sitting and straight forward to understand
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Covers the basics and is a great starting point
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
The book is quite good but wish I hadn't got it as a Kindle book. It is almost impossible to make out the diagrams on the kindle.
66 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Very short book - even for the money.. and failed to explain what a 5 minute video on youtube did...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
A pamphlet, and not a very good one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)