Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
105
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 December 2013
Hi folks, Just had this for Xmas. I'm a huge Family Guy fan. However there is a problem with the way the seasons are numbered, and the order in which they are played. Basically, the way the seasons are numbered and played on the UK DVD's differs massively from the TV broadcast order.

This is not down to Amazon, but down to Fox, the makers of Family Guy. From reading a few of the reviews, people think they are going to get more than they actually get.

Hopefully, the following guide will help buyers work out what they are actually getting from this boxset.

DVD Season 1 contains TV Season 1 and 7 episodes from TV Season 2.
DVD Season 2 contains the remaining episodes from TV Season 2, plus "When You Wish Upon a Weinstein" from TV Season 3.
DVD Season 3 contains the other 21 episodes from TV Season 3.
DVD Season 4 contains the first 13 episodes from TV Season 4.
DVD Season 5 contains the next 14 episodes from TV Season 4. It does NOT include the final 3 episodes of TV Season 5 as they were released together as the movie "Stewie Griffin - The Untold Story"
DVD Season 6 contains the first 13 episodes of TV Season 5.
DVD Season 7 contains the last 5 episodes of TV Season 5, and 7 episodes from TV Season 6. It does NOT include "Blue Harvest" (Released separately)
DVD Season 8 contains the remaining episodes of TV Season 6, and the first 9 episodes from TV Season 7.
DVD Season 9 contains the remaining episodes of TV Season 7, and the first 8 episodes of TV Season 8.
DVD Season 10 contains 12 episodes of TV Season 8, and the first 4 from TV Season 9. This DVD does NOT include "Something, Something, Something Dark Side (Released separately)
DVD Season 11 contains the remaining episodes from TV Season 9.

Hope this helps people out. Don't be put off buying this boxset because of the confusion. It's still great value for money, even if you're really only getting the first 9 seasons.
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
Wonderful dvd series - purchased for my grandson who was over the moon - I'm 70 but enjoy it too - I love the un-political correct bits
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
I just got this DvD box and it is freaking awesome!
There are all episodes that are in DvD but unfortunetly excluding all star wars episodes and the movie, and there is not family guy uncovered DvD what has been in some DvD boxes, so that means that no extra material for seasons 1-3.
But this is still awesome DvD box because there is so much bonus material and good episodes with the best quality!
I recommend this DvD box set! Its a must buy if you love family guy and havent bought any of the DvD jet!
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
First of all, I have to say that this was an absolute bargain! Hours and hours of hilarity! As someone who has only just got into Family Guy, I found this the ideal way to do so. You can start right at the beginning, and watch through each episode at your own pace. You don't get every single episode however. The Star Wars style spin-offs and Stewie Griffin: the untold story, are just a couple of episodes that are sadly not included in this package. But you can purchase those for a few quid on here anyway, so that is not too much of a problem.

The issue I have with this is the complete mess-up of the seasons. The seasons seem to be spread across the discs (eg season 1, has all the season 1 episodes, and half of the season 2 episodes), and although it says seasons 1-11, in actual fact it only goes up to around half-way through the tenth season. Despite this mix-up, I don't think you will get as much material at such a good price anywhere else.

A definite purchase for any new or existing Family Guys fans!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
I thought this was all episodes from all seasons (as shown by title). I have since realised that there are many episodes missing (about 30 in all), still a lot of family guy to watch, but I've been lied to Amazon!! lies!!
44 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
Just got this item today.
This consists of episodes from seasons 1-9 and not 1-11 as stated on the box. Thus the two stars. Everything has to be right for me, otherwise I become very displeased.
Of the seasons on this box set there are 19 episodes missing from the original episodes 1-9 transmitted on TV. They are not in chronological order as shown on IMDB and some disks have only four episodes on them when eight to ten episodes would easily fit. One disk has only a paltry two episodes on it.
Maybe it's best to buy the seasons individually. They would cost more but at least you would have all of them.

Rage.

Update on the above review.
I have raised the bar to four stars as I was incorrect in my body count regarding the missing episodes.
In fact this box set contains all episodes from seasons 1-9 and only has 6 missing episodes and not 19. (I missed a box)
The 4 stars is because of (A) The missing episodes as from IMDB.
1. STEWIE B. GOODE (Season 4)
2. BANGO WAS HIS NAME, OH (Season 4)
3. STU AND STEWIE'S EXCELLENT ADVENTURE (Season 4)
4. BLUE HARVEST (Season 6)
5. SOMETHING, SOMETHING, SOMETHING DARK SIDE (Season 8)
6. EPISODE VI: IT'S A TRAP (Season 9)

All of these seasons were shot in the 4.3 ratio. The two full screen seasons 10-11 will be released individually and will probably be available on blu-ray.

(B) Not in chronological order and...
(C) There was a lot of confusion with the seasons and the way this box set was put together. This is the way it should have been presented.

Season 1 (7 episodes, one box, one disk) 7 on one disk.
Season 2 (21 episodes, one box, three disks) 7 on each disk.
Season 3 (22 episodes, one box, three disks) 7 on two disks, 8 on one disk.
Season 4 (30 episodes, one box, four disks) 7 on two disks, 8 on two disks.
Season 5 (18 episodes, one box, three disks) 6 on three disks.
Season 6 (12 episodes, one box, two disks) 6 on two disks.
Season 7 (16 episodes, one box, two disks) 8 on two disks.
Season 8 (21 episodes, one box, three disks) 7 on three disks.
Season 9 (18 episodes, one box, three disks) 6 on three disks.

And one disk for special features which would total 24 disks.

To view all episodes and seasons of all TV shows and films the IMDB app is a 5 star app and should be downloaded if you are a film and TV buff.
33 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
I love family guy and I was so delighted to find a box set that was so complete. It turned out that this is not the chronological and full set of episodes from series one to eleven. These are seasons and only cover up to series 9 roughly.

I'm not sure who is at fault here, me or the manufacturer but I was lead to believe I would be purchasing a huge box set for a good price. Well, it was too good to be true. However you still get a lot of episodes here and it is probably good value for money with that in mind.

But i'm just disappointing.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
I bought this box set from HMV for the same price as on here so the problem doesn't lie with Amazon it lies with who ever made and released this box set that has caused the mix up. I think many people are just being daft about moaning and complaining about how this set has been laid out, i agree it is not seasons 1 through to 11 but for the price it is great. People are comparing the order of the episodes and how many there is to wikipedia, not the most trustworthy of sites for anything that is proper fact.The star wars ones don't seem to be there or the Christmas ones but like one customer said they are easily bought and are now pretty cheap. I also think the value for money is even better when you consider the fact that if you buy the seasons individually at around 12 to 15 pounds depending they are almost the same as the seasons in this set so buying them individually you will have the same compliant. Just watch the dvd's laugh and enjoy it because i think the price is fantastic and so is family guy, God bless American dad to but i have bought all the seasons of that series individually, so i have no complaints or a box set of more than one season to compare the individuals to. Buy and enjot, that is my advice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Well,where to start i agree with some peoples reveiws on here theres a lot of family guy episodes missing.now if your not a big family guy fan and just like these then you wouldnt know any different but me being me and really loving family guy i noticed and amazon is deffo doing some false advertising here. its suppose to be the complete seasons 1-11 not half a boxset and i paid alot of money for this boxset so not very best pleased.they have mislead me to believe this item is complete and i think in this case you aint getting your moneys worth or what you pay for. this is not what it seems and therefore should be taken off the sales list of amazon and sorted out in a way of people are getting what they pay for. in such a bad bad mood cause was looking forward to watching every episode of every season but theres like roughly 35 to 40 episodes missing all in all.Dont really know if its amazons fault for this or if this as been made in the wrong sorter way but still false advertising. So people be warned its deffo not what it seems.I mean the episodes dont even go in order and some episodes have 2 parts to it but some of these are missing to. i went through all the family guy wiki online checking episodes out and there was episodes coming up that aint even listed on these dvds not including the star wars episodes which i knew you had to buy seperatly anyway but wasnt really fussed bout them ones as i dont really like them anyway but certain episodes and feature lengths i expected to be on there for the amount you pay for this boxset. so be warned peeps when buying. Its only seasons 1-9 not 1-11 as i cheacked up on the family guy wiki.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
The show is great but the box is terrible

As with American Dad this box is again labeled incorrectly. It promises the customer Season 1-11 but you only get season 9 up to episode 17.

I think fox and Amazon should not get away lying to their customers like that and I have already lodged a complaint.

Therefore while i give this show a five star rating I need to give the box a one star rating. Giving it a total of 3 Stars
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)