Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2011
The background to this non-Greek Greek Royal Family, is as intricate as it is bizarre. Only by constant reference to the two family trees, can one position Philip historically and geographically. Not only would Prince Philip's background outshine any soap plot, but his chaotic, and sometimes tragic upbringing leaves one amazed that he developed into anything like a normal young man. The book happily reveals its sources, which almost entirely portray Philip as level-headed, fun-loving, and unmoved by the political and cultural movements that might have influenced weaker young men.
He seems to have been loved by friends and extended family, whilst making the best of the horrendous circumstances, that fate dumped on his young life.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
This book should be put before the Education Secretary with a view to having it put on the national curriculum - Prince Phillip is the original self-taught Alpha Male. The tragedies he had to overcome in his life didn't break him, they gave him such a strong innet core which fashioned him into being the magnificent mam he is today. He is to be commended in the strongest way for fashioning our wonderful royal family today, and is the only man on the planet who truly can be called A Hero!
The worst part of this amazing book is simply when you come to the end of it whilst still wanting to read more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2012
I am not a fan of Prince Phillip. I have not read many flattering charactor reviews of him by other. He has been portrayed as a man with no emotions and someone who is made out of stone. It all could be true!!! This book confirms most of the characteristics but then who are we to judge a man who has been through a lot of ups and downs and seen so many tradedies even when he was just a teenager. Excile from Greece, Broken family, at age nine mothere institutionalised and not seen for five years, father living separately while the young boy grew up with his uncle. It made me tear eyes when I read how happy he was to recive the few items his father has left for him and how he wore that ring in his finger ever since. He obviously loved his father a lot.

After reading the book on Phillips' mother Alice: Princess Andrew of Greece by Hugo Vickers, I wanted to read about her son. This book cover so many things on Phillips life from his brith to time of the coronation. This would be a deligh to anyone who has an interst on Royal family.

It's interesting how the author has done justice to Prince Phillip by not being partial to him or trying to portray him as a saint or a hero. The truth is always more facinating than reading someones flattering accounts.

I hope this is the first book of two where the second book will be published soon from the time of coronation to golden jubillee. May be it will not have so many significant events, tragedies etc but still I'm sure it will be an amazing read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Easy interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Good Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2011
Prince Philipp may feel slightly embarassed about the Joe Blogges's of this world reading about his childhood and early life (I know I would!) but I am very grateful that this book has been written.
If the newspaper and television are your only sources of information of Prince Philipp, it is easy to develop an extremely one-sided impression. This book reveals a human being who has gone through many difficulties and borne them with both spirit and dignity. I think the author did a good job - his subject certainly deserves the greatest respect and admiration.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
We have grown used over the years to Prince Philip as the no-nonsense, occasionally gaffe-prone but decent, hard-working Queen's consort with a twinkle in his eye. A stable life of predictable privilege, you might think. Well, not quite...Philip's early life was one of utter turmoil. This book contains, for instance, a 1937 photo of the Prince attending his sister's funeral (killed in an air-crash) flanked by two brothers in law, one an SS officer, the other - also a Nazi - in his SA uniform. When Prince Philip - briefly a schoolboy in Nazi Germany - married the future queen, his surviving sisters were not even invited to the wedding due to the German connections. Yet Philip himself became a decorated British naval officer. The underlying drama and utter bizarreness of his early life is compelling stuff. His uncle, the Greek king, was deposed after a disastrous Greek invasion of Turkey. His father, the king's brother, narrowly escaped execution over the same matter, and the family- including the infant Philip - fled into exile. Philip Eade excels at unravelling the complex web of Europe's vulnerable nobility and the Prince's shifting place in it. He finally comes to rest at the side of a shy young princess whom he starts to bring out of her shell. Then suddenly all is changed...her father George VI dies at only 51 and their young lives are hurled into universal scrutiny. The Queen has since piloted the monarchy through decades of change and turmoil to become a globally respected figure. Prince Philip, survivor of such a turbulent youth has, one suspects, more than helped to steady the tiller, while seeking to modernise and define his own role. Hopefully Philip Eade will some day complete the story he has started so well.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2016
Not read yet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2012
This is one of the best books I have read. It is full of fascinating information about Prince Philip's childhood and his teenage years. It explains exactly how he was brought up by a remarkable set of parents, grandmother, sisters and their husbands, cousins and others. I couldn't put it down and at the end I was fully apprised of the effect of his childhood on his future as the Queen's Consort. He is shown as a remarkable man descended from various parts of the European Royal Families who shares a great-great-grandmother with the Queen, but that is about the only similarity in their upbringing. I ploughed through the excellent family trees many times with great interest. I recommend this book very highly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
A most interesting account of the Duke's early life, including his time in the Navy on active service in WW2. It is probably not generally realised how active, and sometimes dangerous, that service was. His forbears were Greek royals, and there were German connections which was awkward when Britain was at war with Germany. Mountbatten's role is covered well, and he became Uncle Dickie to Prince Charles and others.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)