Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2015
Brill !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
it's what it says on the box.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
good read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
Cocktails and Cockpics has certainly stirred things up a bit. Just look at the various reviews! The weird thing is, I can agree with them all. On the up side, it's a wonderfully funny, incredibly insightful romp through a certain kind of gay London. Brits love this sort of thing, especially when we can identify with the places and the people. I'm sure we all know a Blake. The author has really thought this through and as a fun, irreverant story it works well. In parts, some of the phrases are lovely. On the downside, it is the most badly written book I have ever read. It's full of head hopping; the author mixes up the characters so the reader is totally lost; he uses the wrong words; and the number of typos is beyond belief. The difference between the good bits and the bad bits is so great I actually wondered if it was two writers working together. So I toss a coin and end up awarding three stars. If this were edited properly it would get more.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
Got this e-book for 70p i think and thought worth a read from the reviews.

It had many ups and downs as i started reading it. At 1st i thought are people this seriously shallow and screwed up and i was put off continuing. I did however continue and the characters developed as i read on, Blake the typical man slut has deeper issues and learns his lesson the hard way, Rose the 'typical' girl who falls for gay men, and Peter the bit straight laced gay man who's too wrapped up in work, gym and staying in the closet to work and family he can't really get to enjoying life.

It is overall a really light hearted read, but it also deals with everyday issues facing gay men trying to find love.

Overall a good read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2011
A great read. Light and easy while reading it, kept me hooked all the way through. It is the most relevant story of gay culture today. I would recommend this to all my gay friends to have a read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
The premise of the book is fun, light and relevant. But, It's probably one of the worst written books I've read in a very long time. The phrasing is ugly, the dialogue is 'arch' in the extreme and the portrayals of the characters, whilst almost certainly real, is clumsy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2011
Yes, Okay, the book has a few 'Mis Texts' where one character becomes another, however on the whole this book really captures the lives of lots of London Gay guys. It was so refreshing to read a book actually relating to places I have visited/visit. The ups and downs of an 'Average London Gay'. Fantastic read.
I have re-rated this 5* because it has just dawned on me how little books are written about LGBT life that are not all about sex sex sex! The extra * goes towards the authors efforts!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
I really understand others frustrations with this book. as sometimes the mistakes are blindingly obvious, and you have to wonder if the writer actually READ his own work back at any point. However, if you can get past this, it is a good little read.
Frankly, I am just happy that I found something gay themed that isn't porn! I found the characters engaging and the plot interesting. It's not a taxing read at all, and for me a purchase that was well worth it. Would definitely recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
This book tells a great story, a really good story. But the authors mistakes are what brought it from being a 4 star to the 3 I gave. Often the characters are mixed up and you feel a little confused and the spelling mistakes are there too making you stop and think about the sentence you have just read, or trying to read.
That aside the story of Peter, Blake, Rose and Beefy is real real good!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse