Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
36
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 27 May 2017
excellent book , very good book for every christian to read and learn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
This book is a list of many persecutions suffered by true Christians by the hands of pagans and Catholics, including detailed descriptions of agonizing tortures and triumphant deaths of many martyrs.
The descriptions are sometimes so detailed that it makes it a very difficult book to read: Foxe really brings you there and you can feel the smell of burnt flesh, sometimes so much so that it makes it a disturbing read at times.
However, these episodes perfectly portray what true followers of Jesus suffered from impostors, a message of vital importance that many people nowadays don't want to hear, in the name of ecumenical togetherness .
Many Roman Catholic apologists, along with liberal theologians, have tried their best to discredit it, but this monumental work still stands, as a stark reminder of what really lies behind the teachings of popery .
All the people who believe that the Roman Catholic Church is a legitimate Christian denomination should read this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Having read Foxe' s Book of Martyrs many years ago, I wanted to purchase a copy for a dear Christian friend whose surname is Fox!
First of all be careful of who you order from as the one you will receive is not necessarily the one you think you ordered!! The edition I have just been sent from World of Books seems to be an abridged, abridged version and does not contain many of the writings I particularly would like my friend to read. Having said that, World of Books have given me a refund but I presume that as I subscribe to Amazon Prime, the total amount I paid was little more. They were pretty fair in that they have let me keep the book so I can't really complain. I have now ordered again from the Book Depository Ltd., in the hope I get what I have ordered.
Having now had a gripe over editions (!), this book is an absolute "must" for Bible believing Christians. I challenge anyone to deny that these people were not given strength from God to endure the atrocities they went through by the vilest of fellow human beings for the sake of their faith. I only hope and pray I would have their courage.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
I read this book in abridged form, and in parts, a long time ago.
This paperback version is the unabridged version of the original abridged mini-version, that needs stating.
The buyer must be aware of several points (do excuse all this if you are a historian):
1) The story narrated is savage, horrifying, and to the modern mind almost sick
2) It is from the point of view of a 16th century Protestant with a deep detestation of Rome--
expect propaganda and passion, not objectivity
3) Nevetheless the content, as to names, places and dates, has been shown to be researched and
essentially accurate. How exactly Foxe came by all this information would make a book in itself
4) If you have any feeling for either history or religion you will be disturbed
5) If the text isn't too edited and updated it will be in the English of Cranmer and Shakespeare--
though some would be fascinated by that;
6) From the ages of Elizabeth I that of Tom Paine in the 1790s it was read by more Englishmen that
anything but the Bible and the Book of Common Prayer.
None but the narrowest Protestant could call Foxe enjoyable, but he is significant.
But again--not for the squeamish--whether you "squeam" about religious bias, religious persecution, or sheer cruelty.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
A classic book. I'm not at all, in anyway religious, but have seen it referenced many times. A shocking, admittedly biased, record of historical human inhumanity. It's a shame that history goes on repeating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2007
This is not a review of the content of Foxe's Book of Martyrs (which is excellent). It is rather a warning to potential purchasers: please note that Amazon has copied reviews that rightly relate only to a specific edition across several different editions.

Furthermore, the "Search Inside" feature shows inaccurate views of some editions (for example, at the time of writing, a view of Kessinger's edition is incorrectly shown for both Ambassador Publications' and Hendrickson Christian Classics' editions).
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
This is a painful and emotional read... it's so hard for me to comprehend how human beings can treat and torture each other so terribly, but I'm thankful that someone took the time to document and immortalise these amazingly brave faith-filled martyrs!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 December 2002
My rating relates solely to the edition, and not to the content. Foxe's work is such a classic that no review would do it justice. Unfortunately, this edition doesn't do it justice either. There is absolutely no editorial material, so it's impossible to know whether the editor has made changes. The language has obviously been modernised, but there are no indications of how the text has been changed. The print and paper are not good quality either - it looks rather more like a cheap thriller you'd pick up at a train station than a serious work.
33 Comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
This book is an excellent read. It is an eye opener and should make you realise that people suffered and still do for the Word of God and the name of Jesus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
"Be of good comfort, Mr. Ridley, and play the man; we shall this day light such a candle by God's grace in England as I trust never shall be put out." The 2002 Ambassador Books reprint looks to be a victorian condensed edition with information added about Piedmont, the cause of the poem by Milton. Foxe's Book of Martyrs, sometimes called Fox's Acts and Monuments, may not be suitable for children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)