Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
29
IT ALL STARTS WITH ONE
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 December 2017
Highly recommended pop music from the melancholic north.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2012
Not very often, a voice or arrangement casts one looking for some way of improving the method by which one has just experienced that set of music. When i completed listening for the third time, this pair of cd's and her other work, Ane Brun made me want to invest in a new hi-fi. I know, what is the matter with my current speaker arrangement, am i impaired in some way? Well probably not. But the the whole pitch of her voice, the Billie Holiday like quavering, made me want to have more. In short there are some anthemic pieces on this particular cd set that demanded i be greedy.

For instance, i was anticipating amidst the 10 track original cd a flawed, weaker track. Nope, failed. The second cd has a few more distant pieces that don't immediately snap the synapse. However, these in time will not be mere filler in my brain-library, but will be a coherent part of her oeuvre.

A strong, brittle, fragile bursting voice married with understated shades of dark and piercing soprano light. Enthusiasm demands that effusive comment take pride of place over detached critique. Pieces like 'Lifeline', 'One', 'Worship', 'These Days', and of course 'Do you Remember', have caused my hi-fi to tremble with a strange pleasant anxiety. The other tracks merely made we want to shatter.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 November 2011
Norwegian singer/songwriter Ane Brun's new album 'It All Starts With One'
is a singularly affecting creation; a work of darkness and melancholy shot
through here and there with iridescent shafts of sunlight and moonbeams.
Ms Brun's voice is a fragile but beautifully articulated instrument with a
tremulous upper-register and the capacity to communicate complex emotion.

There are ten songs in the set, sensitively produced by Tobias Froberg.
The mood of the project is largely sedentary; the kind of music to lull
you into a state of reflective somnolence. Even when the tempo becomes a
tad more racy (as it does with the African-tinged percussion of 'Do You
Remember') the dreamlike spell is sustained. 'Worship', a duet with Jose
Gonzalez, is an especially magical example of her craft; the gently plodding
bluesy melody decorated with a luminous and deftly scored string arrangement.
'Lifeline', too, spins a silver thread within the delicate crystalline framework
of the tentative instrumental accompaniment; Ms Brun's vocal performance
an almost ghostly presence, lost and alone in a terrain without landmarks.
'The Light From One' advances slowly like a snail crossing the surface of
a dew spotted leaf; desolate but nonetheless curiously beguiling and final
track 'Undertow' wrings an extraordinary range of tonal colours from it's
sublime central theme; rising and falling like a great rolling ocean wave.
It is one of the very finest songs I have heard this year. A stunning finale.

'It All Starts With One' deserves a far wider audience than I fear it will find.

Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
Oh this album is a work of art. Utterly wonderful, each song is different from the last. Ane Brun's voice and writing is second to none. I love her, I love this album. I would this and Changing of the Seasons are her very best so far. This is the best of albums, a beautiful, passionate, thoughtful album with just the best melodies ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2012
Originally published in [...]

If you search for Ane Brun in the online allmusic you get the following description:
With her lilting vocals, theatrical arrangements, and delicate indie folk craft, Norwegian singer/songwriter Ane Brun (pronounced Ah-na Broon) remained a regional secret until 2003, when she made her European debut with the release of Spending Time with Morgan. Released on the DetErMine label, a company that Brun co-founded the previous year with the Tiny's Ellekari Larsson, Spending Time with Morgan won local praise for its cinematic sound and was later championed at the Swedish Independent Music Awards.
It is true that she sings like a cabaret singer and her voice is peculiar in a way you can certainly not mistake her for other singer. She owns her record label and she is widely known in Scandinavia, and as time goes by, in most of Europe.
Her last record, It All Stars With One is a masterpiece, where vocals match perfectly the score of the songs, this way, the songs which opens the album These Days is somehow magic. The strings and her voice blended make the song not easy listening, which is a label most times underrated in music criticism, but perfect. The record is full of contrasts, sometimes close to the her previous records, sometimes close to a new tune, like the well chosen single Do you remember? where the contrast between lyrics and sound make the song obscure and at the same time, close to what the ideal pop song must be.

The epic One , where you can find the line which names the album, it's amazing and puzzling. The music remembers the ones you can find in the single, but at the same time, the lyrics and music evolve in a way you don't certainly know if the song is about love or life. Or both.

The beautiful Undertow closes the album. Not merely a ballad, but much more. It makes me remember the beauty and sadness of portraying life in some songs by Suzanne Vega, in spite of other songs which are more close to the works by Florence and the Machine, or more new wave emerging singers.

In any song the quote I mentioned earlier is accurate. Her voice works perfectly in a theatrical way, making the songs touch you, drawing a landscape of contrasts between your own memories and the ones you can find inside the record, almost like this objective has been marked by her, as she says in One: "We all start with one".

If you purchase the deluxe version, you got a CD with extras which includes a little treasure, a cover of Alfonsina y el mar. If you have the chance to see her live, don't miss it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2017
not a fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2015
Interesting music from Sweden.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 September 2012
A dedicated Radio 4 man I was travelling home from work and rather than listen the Front Row after the Archers, I switched to Radio 2 and listened to this lady and her band appearing at Maida Vale: she has the most captivating voice (2 tracks available via BBC iplayer still). I was particularly fortunate to listen just before "do you remember" was broadcast and her voice combined with the use of two drum kits by the band was simply incredible (better I think on iplayer than the album version). Not since I first listened to Suzanne Vega and Tracey Chapman in the mid-1980's have I been so captivated by a female vocalist. I was so taken by her vocals that I immediately sought her out on the internet and was fortunate to watch and listen to a number of clips on you tube. I immediately ordered this album from Amazon at what I felt was a fair price of £8.59: it seems that demand is high, as it is now priced at over £12.00 (13th September 2012). Could it be the higher costs of items in Scandinavia or could it be blatant profiteering based upon demand for a niche artist?

The album itself is incredible with her voice amazing me at the range that she is able to deliver. I particularly like "what's happening with you and him", but all of the tracks are extremely enjoyable as are the lyrics, which leave you very much with a vignette to ponder the story behind them.

I still listen mainly to Radio 4, but part of me thinks that perhaps I should listen to Radio 2 more, particularly when I am returning home after a long day..........
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2013
Ane Brun was recommended to me after hearing at a HI-FI show. She is certainly different with a unique voice. But probably best in small doses not 4 sides back to back. Good vinyl recording of excellent quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2014
Beautiful music. On the whole I really enjoy this album. The only slight criticism, and it is only really slight, is that two or three of the tracks have a sort of movie theme tune sound to them, which I find a little disturbing, but perhaps that's just me! I really recommend this album, and love listening to it.

It is interesting that the download version has many more songs on it than the CD, but with amazon you get to download the MP3 version when you buy the CD so you get the best of both worlds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)