Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
19
4.3 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£14.99+ £2.03 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2012
Having had the various playstations for the last 15 years and toiled between "International Superstar Soccer" to FIFA; back again to Pro Evo and then finally back to FIFA for '10, '11 and '12, NHL '12 beats them all.

Having visited Canada in November, I had always known that Ice Hockey was THE sport north of the border, but hadn't quite recognised how big it was. The Canadians are hockey mad. Having watched about three Toronto Maple Leafs games on TV (they lost them all) I was addicted to the game and the history of the sport. Moving from Toronto to Montreal for the second part of my stay I quickly realised that the rivalry between the Toronto Maple Leafs and Montreal Canadiens is as fierce as the Old Firm here in Britain. When I returned to the UK, I obviously discovered the NHL PS3 game.

This review is of course in my opinion and is from an anglophile who knows little about the game of Ice Hockey and even less about the rules. However, once you have discovered the basics of offside, the game comes into its own. The graphics are incredible, far better than NHL '12's compatriot FIFA '12. The game is quick and slick and the satisfaction of scoring a goal is better than hitting a 35 yard free kick on Pro Evo. Added to the defensive hits, the fighting and the visuals before the match, I have never played such a "realistic" sports game. I am currently playing in Season Mode with the Toronto Maple Leafs and already raked up 20 matches since Xmas. There are loads of other game modes that I haven't experienced yet, but I expect them to be tasty.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
Being a fan of NHL but never played a NHL game I was skeptical that it would be any good. However seeing as the latest game rarely drops its price by much until a new season is released, i took this as a good sign...

The game is totally addictive and I find myself always wanting one more game. There are plenty of in flight game options which you can do yourself as coach or let the assistant coach make the decisions for you.

The only slight negative is that it has frozen on two occasions, however im sure there will be a patch out soon as this is a new game.

If your interested in Ice Hockey...you wont regret getting this!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
The last hockey game I played was NHL 09 and the difference is huge if we compare it with NHL12!!! Gameplay is very realistic and I love the interaction with goalies! This is a must have game for all ice hockey fans!

As I am a big fan of all the sports games, I've compared NHL12, FIFA12, MADDEN12 and NBA2k12. And NHL is definately my top choice! This is the best sports game I've ever played!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
As a UK based NHL fan it is always frustrating how hard it is to get merchandise and to watch games due to the time difference with the states, so the yearly NHL release is the perfect chance to get involved with the game.
NHL 12 is an improvement on 11, which for me was the best sports title I had played. The player and puck physics have been massively improved, with goals now a lot harder to come by due to defenders being more effective at blocking the net and protecting the slot areas. The physics overhall also render defenders more useful against smaller players, as their size and strength attributes now play a key part in the flow of the game. The counter to that is skillful players are more effective at dekeing out an opponent and creating a scoring chance. The live goalies also make for more realistic exchanges, with them not more likely to move out of the crease to meet the play, rather than be clued to the goal line. If you are a hockey fan this is a must, just like FIFA/PES is for football.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2012
This video game has got everything that an NHL user wants. Action, speed, different camera angles. You can download the demo and see it for yourself. What I did like was the 94 controls, so older players like me who don't like complex controls can play this awesome video game with the use of only 2 buttons. Good game and good amazon.co.uk service.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
A great game, one of the most realistic sport games ive played. It really captures the sport for what it is and gameplay has to be adjusted from team to team to generate success so there is never a dull moment of repetitiveness by playing 70+ hockey games to complete a season etc. Great game!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2012
NHL 12 bring you the real gameplay sensation!

Go Penguins!!!

Be a Pro mode very fun!

Everybody on the ice!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
NHL games are always a good blast. This one is visually awesome and is just as much fun as you would expect, loads of teams to pick from and loading times are very short for a PS3, even installing only took 5 minutes so great if you want to take to a friends house and not have to wait half an hour to install. Recommended if you like NHL, or if you just want a good, fun, fast-paced sports game that doesnt hold punches (literally :-))
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
bought for a birthday gift and boys played it immediately and liked it very much. Good value since it was not the latest version, but looked an improved version over their older NHL game. happy with the purchase and recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
The game is catchy, there are some aspects though, that could be better, e.g. there is no speedup. You need to know some of the rules to play this, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£15.94
£6.99
£8.95
£12.97

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)