Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
62
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.27


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2013
A few proof reading bumps but a good story based around a horrific period in a shameful history.
Lots of good references to the double dealing of all nationalities at the time.

A tiny bit far fetched but read in a night and enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
One of the best sub stories I have read in a long time. More please.a good mix of fact and fiction
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. This book showed the tensions around the Baltic Sea with German invasion of Poland, and how the various countries and populations felt. The marine actions were well written, with several suprising twists in the story, which is based on a true story. There are several strong charachters in the book, and their thoughts and predicaments are well documented. Well worth the read.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
What attracted me to this book was the fact that no one had reviewed it and also because of how it was based on a true story.

Whilst the actual story telling is good, the number of grammatical mistakes lets it down. It's like the author typed it up on Microsoft Word then submitted it to be a Kindle download without first using spell checker or having someone read it to find mistakes.

You can tell it was "self published" because no publishing firm in their right minds would send this mistake-ridden manuscript to the printers.

If you can ignore the mistakes, the story is pretty good. It tells the story of how a Polish submarine crew over came overwhelming odds and escaped the Germans several times during the opening days of WW2.

If you're WW2/Naval history buff, this is a very good story.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
I was pleasantly suprised when I started reading this book. It's a simple story done well. The plot flows along nicely, never getting bogged down, and the characters are attractive and warm. The fact that its based around a true story involving a Polish submarine's exploits at the start of WWII gives it an extra dimension. It's the type of book that, in a few years time, you could find yourself reading again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
Based very loosely on a true story and written in a bit of a 'boys' own' style. Other that the main protagonists the characters are all a bit one dimensional. A little research would have improved the story. I'm not an expert on submarines but I'm pretty sure they're referred to as boats not ships. And as for waiting for the tide to rise in the Baltic... Still, not a bad read, but I wonder if the author's time and talents would have been better spent researching and writing about the real 'Eagle'
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Real boys own stuff with more than enough spelling errors. I hate the Americanism of the word dove as a substitute for dived. However l did enjoy the story and actual true life event of the polish submarine which inspired it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
Never heard of Mr Wenburg before but really enjoyed the book. would definitely try another of his.
Worth trying if you like giving new authors a run
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
The story is good, entertaining. Some of the nautical and navigational knowledge is a little lacking at times. All in all a good light read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
This is a story that will totally grip you. If you like sea stories then you will certainly like this one. There were certain aspects that I felt were somewhat implausible, only to find that most of them actually occurred in real life. The only reason I failed to give it five stars is that I felt that some of the characters would not behave as described. Definitely a recommended read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99
£2.56

Need customer service? Click here