Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
61
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.27
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2012
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. This book showed the tensions around the Baltic Sea with German invasion of Poland, and how the various countries and populations felt. The marine actions were well written, with several suprising twists in the story, which is based on a true story. There are several strong charachters in the book, and their thoughts and predicaments are well documented. Well worth the read.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
What attracted me to this book was the fact that no one had reviewed it and also because of how it was based on a true story.

Whilst the actual story telling is good, the number of grammatical mistakes lets it down. It's like the author typed it up on Microsoft Word then submitted it to be a Kindle download without first using spell checker or having someone read it to find mistakes.

You can tell it was "self published" because no publishing firm in their right minds would send this mistake-ridden manuscript to the printers.

If you can ignore the mistakes, the story is pretty good. It tells the story of how a Polish submarine crew over came overwhelming odds and escaped the Germans several times during the opening days of WW2.

If you're WW2/Naval history buff, this is a very good story.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Real boys own stuff with more than enough spelling errors. I hate the Americanism of the word dove as a substitute for dived. However l did enjoy the story and actual true life event of the polish submarine which inspired it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
An unusual subject, the theft of a Polish submarine by its crew to prevent it being taken by the Germans in September 1939. The story isn't really original, it's standard war-novel fare, but it's well told and I enjoyed reading it. There were a couple of things I was not convinced by, the description of the crew drawing up charts from memory seemed implausible and the gun fight with soviet bombers did not ring true. Looked at objectively, there was lots of poor characterisation, cliches and predictable plot devices, but I've seen movies that have been worse. It's based on the story of the Orzeł, but is not intended to be a true account, more like a dramatisation of the original story. One thing that needs to be revised is the spelling, sometimes names are not consistent, it would benefit from a professional tidy-up.
Not the best WW II novel I've read, but entertaining and, despite its faults, it's worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
I was pleasantly suprised when I started reading this book. It's a simple story done well. The plot flows along nicely, never getting bogged down, and the characters are attractive and warm. The fact that its based around a true story involving a Polish submarine's exploits at the start of WWII gives it an extra dimension. It's the type of book that, in a few years time, you could find yourself reading again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
Based very loosely on a true story and written in a bit of a 'boys' own' style. Other that the main protagonists the characters are all a bit one dimensional. A little research would have improved the story. I'm not an expert on submarines but I'm pretty sure they're referred to as boats not ships. And as for waiting for the tide to rise in the Baltic... Still, not a bad read, but I wonder if the author's time and talents would have been better spent researching and writing about the real 'Eagle'
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Still waiting for a reply as to why I have received 3 sets when 2 were rejected because payment was rejected,the cost of sending back was £2.80 per set and as I only asked for 1 set who's fault was it . Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Based on real exploits of the last Polish submarine but very much a work of fiction. Some parts are a bit far fetched, in particular the female American journalist, and the escape from the harbour is extremely fortunate. Other parts, however, such as the description of moving a torpedo from the front to rear torpedo rooms are very well done. Overall largely well written and a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
I enjoyed this book but why on earth can’t authors\editors get some people who are familiar with the technology and period to check it. Just one error was that the American reporter was given a Hasselblad camera by Stefan after his camera was destroyed by a mob. Not possible, as Hasselblad did not make any cameras until 1941 and then only specialist aerial observation ones (HK7). The first traditional 6 x 6 Hasselblad, the 1600F, did not reach owners hands until June 1949. At least I suppose he has not committed the classic howler of “taking off the safety catch on a revolver!” Wilson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
A few proof reading bumps but a good story based around a horrific period in a shameful history.
Lots of good references to the double dealing of all nationalities at the time.

A tiny bit far fetched but read in a night and enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.