Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
10
3.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2013
In the early 90's, dance music was a much broader genre than it is today. Top 40 hits were mixed with old disco, guitar based indie songs, rap music, ska/reggae and whatnot. This fine collection of tracks, mostly from the early 90's and late 80's collects a pleasant selection of this kind of music.

The remixes are booth complete reworkings of songs (like Sub Sub or Sheena Easton) to the conservative re-edits (Hall & Oates, ABC).

Dance music kid's don't dance to any more. But also music that brings a smile to the faces of us older folks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
Don't listen to DE01, this is actually a great compilation. Yes, some of the mixes are more established than others, but mostly, without numerous trips to eBay or Discogs, etc to get them individually, this is a great compendium of some great remixes from a time when that very word was an art form, not like now! Some great early stuff from Underworld, Norman Cook, the Chems, David Morales, Sub Sub....what's not to like?
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Although I had seen the track listing before buying this, some of the mixes of the songs are a little different to how I remember them, so I was a little miffed. It could also be that my memory of some of the songs are rose-tinted, and the songs simply weren't as good as I remember them, but never mind.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Got this solely to have the Underworld mix of Water From A Vineleaf, as this clubbier mix was previously only on 12" single. Some tracks are likely to be from vinyl, but not noticeably so. There are a few other classics on here but overall I was hoping to be hooked in more. It's ok as a compilation, but some mixes are not Hard to Find atall, or regarded as classic/rare!

The flimsy card packaging is easily torn when trying to extract the discs, as is the flap that's meant to hold the booklet in place. Oh well....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
Hard to find? Some of the mixes yes, but not all.
Chronological order? No.
Well sequenced? Yes!
A bit cheesy? Yes.
Enjoy...
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
So many great tracks with original and genuinely interesting remixes. Stand out for me as always is William Orbit's "Water from a vine leaf". Still an outstanding piece of music after all these years from the much underrated writer and producer (the only album of Madonna's that I can listen to is Ray of Light). Add in FGTH, Leftfield Lydon and Saint Etienne and you have a truly eclectic album. Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
This isnt too bad a compliation, ok some of the 80s remixes are like b sides and it is a bit too long, but apart from that this is worth buying, for its rare remixes, and not the ones on it that are available elsewhere.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
This just hit the spot for me. The 80's and 90's are my playground and I came across this from the Glimmers remix of Roxy Music which I had on the Glimmer's Fabric CD. Fascinating Rhythm by Bassomatic was a blast from the past but most of the other remixes are ones that I hadn't heard before.

In summary there is always another remix to find.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Interesting mix
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2012
I only bought this for ABCs Look Of Love Remix US But its a shame they did not incl. the B-Side US Dub Mix with Trevor Horn going Beserk????? Amazing Remix...? I only liked Roxy Musics Mix of Same old Scene well done for an 2000something remix but everything else kinda boring mainly 90s Mixes like Trip Hop / Techno and House....? Please release some Extremly hard to find Giorgio Moroder / Patrick Cowley remixes like "The Chase " 11 min Mix 12 inch from 1978/79.or Cut Glass " Without your Love " 12 min Electro Patrick Cowley Mix ca. 1980 or the Extremly hard to find VISAGE " Moon over Moscow Remix ca 1982-83 Version I still got it so it does Exist....? Why not " Phillip Lynotts 12 inch of " Yellow Pearl " 1980/81 Top of the Pops Anthem......? Etc Kraftwerks Original 12 inch MIX of Computer World " Very diffrent then all other Computer World releases...? Why not the Amazing " Rage Hard " Remix from Trevor Horn 1983 11 min Mix....? Etc...? Sorry but 90s Music was soo boring they had no Imagination.....? Only 1 Star......
77 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.61

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)