Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
178
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2012
Once I downloaded this book I couldn't put my kindle down until I had finished reading it.
Although I found the book harrowing at times, I admire the authors sense of humour which I suspect is what kept him going when things got really rough.
I think the author is an extremely courageous human being to overcome such unfair odds and then be brave enough to share his story in such a transparent and honest fashion.
The change in their fathers behaviour must have been terrifying for those poor kids and made me wonder how something as ordinary as a house move could result in such devastation to one family, destroying their lives almost overnight!
I loved this book and personally had no real issues around editing, I felt every moment of the authors experience.
If you like factual reading this is for you. Matt Gables story is a big slice of real life.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
Ok, i am only 50% of the way through my kindle version of this (only got it this morning)lol,and all i can say is WOW!!! i am loving it!!!!, each chapter is like a short story of his life and when you end the chapter it leaves you wanting to know MORE, you just cant put it down. I cant wait to get home from work and finsih it off!!! highly recomended :)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
This is a terrific story by Matt Gable, sure it has a few grammar issues but for this price it's a steal.
It's hard to believe this could happen to someone and although I had a bad childhood it pales in comparison to this book and brings things into perspective.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
As a biographer and author I like real life tales. This one is good and makes real life stranger than fiction as usual. The editing needs work but on the whole a good read. Lapping it up, an ordinary woman, who lived an extraordinary life. (Soft Target Series)
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
I very much enjoy biographies and auto-biographies, so as this was a true story it interested me. It was well written and I would therefore recommend it to anyone also interested in factual literature.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
a touching story written in the eyes of the victim in a 'mans' way. The account of the abuse and hardship makes you realise that your own upbringing and parent / child problems were absolutely nothing in comparison.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
I took a punt on this book and can honestly say that it was the most enjoyable book that I have read in a while. I really could not put it down. OK so it isn't professionally structured and the spelling is a little off in places but this doesn't detract from how it pulls you into Matt's story.

After reading the book I sat and wondered about a couple of things that are mentioned and thought I would email the author and ask about them. To my delight he replied :-)

Go on, give it a go. I don't think that you will be disappointed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Whilst the story line may not link through the book and many of the characters disappear without being fully developed it is non the less a gripping read and at all times very thought provoking.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
I ENJOYED THIS SHORT STORY, A GOOD READ I BOUGHT AN READ THE WHOLE BOOK IN 24 HOURS BECAUSE I COULDNT PUT IT DOWN. POOR KIDS!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
A very Interesting Life Story .I have read a lot worse cases in my time the Title dose suggest it would be absolutely horrendous but as i have said i have read worse. Now on a good point i thought the book was funny interesting and i could not put it down i felt like i had met the author after reading it. I can not wait till the next book .
one of the reviews i read said the spelling and grammar was appalling i did not notice as my grammer not much better . you don't have to be 100% academic to tell your story and this is what Matt has done . Well done Matt .
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)