Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
6
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2017
View the antics of the meanest man in the world. Remember the Jack Benny Show appearing on TV so many years ago so it's a real treat to view once again. I've bought the whole re-issued collection. What a relief to listen to pure humour without a single interjection of 'strong' language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
excellent collection of Benny's TV shows on 4 single-sided discs with good quality transfers. Features a host of guest stars including Humphrey Bogart and Marylin Monroe. I wasn't overly familiar with Benny's work before seeing the recent TV series 'Make 'em Laugh' on BBC4 which was an excellent overview of 20th century American comedy . Watching these shows I'm struck by how camp Benny was as a performer - Larry Grayson clearly owed him a great deal - which the documentary didn't pick up on.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
As other reviewers have pointed out, not the best picture quality, but, Benny at his TV peak at a knock-down price, a nice package,who can resist it? HHmmm!Only available in region 1 format.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2012
I gave this dvd four stars instead of five because the 1950's picture quality sometimes - not often - dips a little below the optimum. Although Jack Benny made a few stage appearances in Britain, he remains not very well known here. Guest appearances by contemporaries such as Bob Hope and Jayne Mansfield add interest, aided by the great Mel Blanc and other regulars of the supporting cast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Great value as package contains 4 DVDs with 39 shows etc. Lots of laughs and so glad my DVD player is Multi Regional.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
Jack Benny in his prime. However, the footage looks and sounds as if it were recorded directly from olden day television, complete with Lucky Strike tobacco commercials full in the face. They make it patently obvious his shows were supported by that very tobacco company. Not suitable for young impressionable minds to actually watch these too-merry ads that keep replaying after every single episode, that is, almost every 25 minutes, replete with catchy Lucky Strike jingles that promise bliss with every puff of the most "elegant" tobacco. Even my father, for whom I bought this DVD, was initially taken aback by those cigarette ads. That said, the jokes on the Jack Benny Show are clean, timeless, and as jokes should be, though they oftentimes roll right by me, unless I have my dad explain the context of the time of Mr. Benny, a true comedian to the last. Here's to you, Mr. Benny!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Good collection of Benny TV material his own show and other specials .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
exactly as described - very satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2016
Great item, classic American comedy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
Great trip down memory lane
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)