Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2017
I have never spent time at sea, the nearest I have come to the experiences of Peter Tate are a channel ferry crossing! I must say that cruising has never appealed to me but I feel slightly tempted after reading this story. Dr Peter Tate is describing his life as Ship’s doctor when he went to work aged 25 and very green for P&O. There are lots of amusing recollections and he describes how he met and fell in love whilst at sea. Much time has passed between the days he is describing and the present day where he is in hospital himself, recovering from major surgery. You learn about his life and marriage as well as the life at sea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A great read every emotional. There always was a different lifestyle on the passenger ships and I think this has been very well described in this book A great read for anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
I was a P&O apprentice back in the sixties, this brought back all those memories, a sad but lovely tale, any ex P&0 mariner will recognise the sites, the sounds, and the smell of those long gone days, thanks for the memory Doc .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
Was really interesting but with a very sad ending!

Would have love to have had some pictures in the book as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Cruised on Orcades same time as Peter Tate 68,69, spot on, in every way.
Loved the book and the cruise memories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
although mainly set around officers it still brought back great memories of my second ship while working as a seaman for the Orient Line. Story line and locations should bring back memories to all who remember when Britain had a merchant fleet to be proud off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Really loved this book - sailed on the. Canberra as a passenger aged 18 and brought back happy memories. ( (Even though it was a different P &O ship). However was confused re his illness and his wife's illness - maybe need to read it again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
One of the best books i have read in a long time, funny and moving. Could not put it down. Paints an excellent picture of life at sea on passenger vessels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Not a good read, the ramblings of a man who hates the crew unless they have stripes ! Maybe he has had to many of his own drugs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
GOOD WRITER GREAT BOOK WELL WORTH READING I COULDNT PUT IT DOWN THANK YOU PETER FOR A GOOD READ 5*****+++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse