Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
286
4.6 out of 5 stars
Platform: Nintendo Wii|Change
Price:£27.85+ £4.06 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2013
Very difficult game, many difficult controls to manage all at once and although its entertaining , surely they know its too hard for your average person , you need to be an octopus to play this well in every event
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
I bought this for my Grandsons to play when they are at my house. They range from 1 year old up to 9 years old. They all seem to have great fun playing it, although the one year old has a little catching up to do!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 December 2011
With the Olympics almost upon us, it was inevitable that Sega would bring another Mario & Sonic title our way. This time they have completely re-invented the formula by introducing simplistic interpretations of various sports with even simpler controls and little to attract single players....oh, hang on....

I'm sorry, I don't mean to be so critical and if you've looked at my rating I do like this game. It's a pretty slick package and is every bit as good as the previous games in the series, but originality is not its strength. Sega have at least crammed in a lot of diverse sports and with that comes a greater variety in control types, most of which work pretty well. This has also led to less reliance on frantically waggling around a Wii remote and more on using buttons and the D-pad, which is not unwelcome bearing in mind how frustrating motion controls can be (there's no support for Nintendo's lame duck MotionPlus here either).

The athletics side of the game is arguably the weakest. By including football, equestrian, synchronised swimming, rhythm gymnastics, beach volleyball and more it highlights just how slight and unsatisfying running races can be. There are loads of Dream Events (Sega's attempt to fuse sport with the wacky world of Mario & Sonic) as well, many of which are a bit nuts but pretty good fun nonetheless.

You can play single events with up to four local players. It's a shame that there is no option to play through an organised series of events (a problem in Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games (Wii) too) as it can be cumbersome to keep picking sports. Bolted on to this is London Party, a mode where your character strolls around the streets of London taking on challenges and competing in different events to earn stickers. The first to fill their sticker album wins. It's a (very) stripped down version of Mario Party and works just fine, although it feels a little long-winded for what it is.

The graphics are nice and colourful and London is pretty well presented. There are plenty of challenges to complete and things to unlock as you play the game, and naturally it is by far and away best played with a group of people rather than on your own.

Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games is a fun title that works well enough and is good fun with family and friends. There's a certain buzz from seeing London being given the Mario & Sonic treatment and the wide range of sports gives you plenty of variety. Well worth a go, as long as you don't expect too much from it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
I bought this for my little boy who is 7 and he loves it. When it's a wet day I put this on for him and off he goes. He doesn't realise that as he is jumping about he is exercising. There are loads of games on this to play and he loves every one of them. Some are easy and some are a bit harder, but with practise they get easier. You are spoilt for choice with which game to do first. I would recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Although I am enjoying playing this game with the family I was a little dissapointed. I expected more from the games and found them very short. However the children seemed to have a ball while playing. Myself well I prefer the Mario Sports.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
We bought this for our grand children for last Christmas. I can only speak for what they showed us whilst playing
it on the Wii. One minute they were laughing and falling around, the next arguing, in general having a great time. I was lovely to watch them try to beat each other, then their Father, and finally me, what good fun.... Will recommend this to any Grand Parent or parent wish I was younger!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
Has numerous characters to become and 12 events to play: Athletics; Gymnastics; Aquatics; Canoeing; Equestrian; Badminton; Beach Volleyball; Table Tennis; Football; Shooting; Fencing and Cycling + Dream Events. Given to daughter as a present for her 7th birthday along with other Wii games and this seems to be her favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
Got the game for Christmas and gathered the whole family round for multi player action!
The events are good fun, some much tougher than others, and the dream events are great fun in multi player mode!
Spent all of new years day taking it in turn on multi player mode with the family and as the controls are pretty easy to master, there was something for everyone.
London party mode was a fun little break as well, although we didn't play that too much just yet.
One player mode is a bit of a let down. Would be better if there was a decathlon mode or something similar.

But Multi player mode is great fun for all the family!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
I have been borrowing this game from our local library and having taken it out 3 month's in a row decided we had to have a copy for ourselves. It is amazing! So many sports that there's always something fun for everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Great game with lots of smaller games that can be played as well as 'London Party' mode. Fun for all the family with co-op and versus evens such as Trampoline, horse riding, and synchronised swimming. Still being played years after purchase. A must for Mario/ Sonic fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)