Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
85
4.5 out of 5 stars
Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Nintendo 3DS)
Platform: Nintendo 3DS|Change
Price:£22.95+ Free shipping


on 13 April 2017
Pretty good game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Excellent quality brand new sealed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
a present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
As you would expect from a Mario game - very good! My 8yr old and 3yr old both love playing it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
I bought this game with my Nintendo 3DSXL thinking it would be a nice fun game full of fun challenges, and to that extend it was. However after playing only a few mini-games I've come to realise that the scores are quite limited to the lack of detail of the simple game, and there's not much to gain from it after getting the gold medal.

My run-through when playing this game usually consists of playing the game on Hard difficulty, maybe Normal difficulty, and if I get a gold medal then that's cool I'll go onto the next game, if I complete it on Normal difficulty I'll go onto Hard difficulty. But after a while it's just that, a ridiculously small game that takes about 5 minutes, and that there's not much point playing after.

I know this is basically the London olympics in Nintendo/Sega world but I do think that it looks like a desperate attempt to gain money from the event. The game bores me after a while, but maybe that's just because of my age (I'm 21), half if not most people here are buying it for their son and I'm guessing they're the only target audience Nintendo are going for here. Bit disappointed with the purchase of this game, although it was only an extra ten pounds with the Nintendo 3DSXL bundle, but in my opinion that's how much the game is actually worth.

I've given the fun factor of this game a two because simple as, I don't like it, but obviously the game has had a lot of work put into it such as the vast amount of mini-games and characters so I can say the game itself is OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
Bought for my 9 yr old son, who loved it, played it a lot when first got it, has gone down the list a little now, but still gets played with every now and again. He had the Wii version first loved that and wanted it for DS too. Gave 4 stars has it hasn't remained a favourite, but that could just be his personal taste.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
3 months after its Wii version hit the shelves, Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games has reached the 3DS. As with past games in the series, the handheld versions are usually the best with extra events and a story mode as featured in the Winter Olympics. This 3DS version is packed with many events to play and once again a story mode, but some questionable design choices do hold this one back from being the best.

The story is about everybody getting ready for the opening ceremony of the 2012 London Olympics for the next day. However Dr Eggman and Bowser are hiding out in Big Ben and are quite upset that they weren't invited for the games. So Eggman has constructed a machine that by using a strange artifact will cause a massive fog to spread all around London, which will cause the Olympic Games to be cancelled. Mario, Sonic and their friends arrive in London and notice the fog spreading around the city and start to see fog copies of themselves. It's up to Mario, Sonic and crew to figure out the source of the fog and stop Eggman and Bowser. The plot itself is completely ridiculous just like the last game's story but it has its charm and corniness to it as well as some fun character interactions.

The game has 55 different Olympic events to play along with a multiplayer and story mode so there will be plenty to do. Each event has different styles of controls. You'll be using the traditional buttons as well as the microphone and gyro controls. Each event varies in controls. Some control great, others not as well. Events such as Aquatics 100m Freestyle, Taekwondo, Balance Beam, Trampoline, BMX, Canoe Slalom (Pair) and Archery are very fun with some pretty good controls. Other events vary from, fun but they end much to quickly or controls that end up being a bit frustrating or very limited. One irritating design choice is that you can only pick 4 characters for certain events. The other games never did this so why this one would do it I still don't understand. It really takes away the freedom of choice and being able to see characters doing sports that would take away all of their dignity for comedic value.

The best part of the Mario and Sonic Olympic series was the Dream Events. These events took place in Mario and Sonic worlds and put an interesting spin on Olympic Events. Sadly this handheld edition of London Olympics has removed these events which is a big letdown. The overall gameplay is still good fun but some of the design choices are disappointing.

The graphics are really well done. They are worthy of standing up to the Wii version along with some very impressive 3D. Character models look nice and the environments match the feel of London but with a cartoony look. The audience still look 2D as in previous games which only a very minor nitpick.

The audio is still as good as the previous games. The music sounds great especially during the story mode's cutscenes which really surprised me. Sound effects are pretty decent as well.

Overall this is pretty fun handheld version of the London Olympics, but some of the design choices do hold this one back from being the best. If you're a fan of the series I'd wait till it gets a little cheaper, or if you can look past the issues then go for it. This entry is close to being the best handheld version of the series, but it takes a few steps backwards. 7/10
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Bought this for my 11 year old son. He is delighted with it and reckons it will keep him occupied for a long time.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
my 9 year old grandaughter loved this game kept her quite for a couple of hours she loves mario games
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
mario and sonic at the games is all round a great game but in places (especially in the story mode) can be very repetitive, but aside from that the shear number of different Olympic games is staggering, you get to play as all of the sonic story characters and the mario ones as well, there is no online multiplayer but you can join up with another local 3ds console and have alot of fun.

Most of the games are fairy easy to control, its usually just a matter of pressing buttons in a certain order or hitting them quickly, but in some games such as basketball the control are quite tricky and i often found my screen falling down when making a shot at the hoop and most of the descriptions for the controls are not always easy to follow.

But if you enjoy sporty games with alot of re playability, great graphics with the classic characters mario and sonic, you will enjoy this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)