Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2017
Why is it that historians feel compelled to introduce the graphically gruesome into their well researched narrations...? Fiona Bruce, in this DVD, is no exception and turns what otherwise is an interesting presentation for the whole family into an, at times, totally uncalled for unpalatable viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
This is the series from BBC Television. Fabulous photography of these famous Royal Palaces. We probably see more of the State Rooms than you would on a guided tour, but we could have done with less of Fiona Bruce, and more of the Backstairs and how the Palaces really work. We owe a debt of gratitude to the flair of Prince Regent/King George IV without whom these Palaces would have been dull.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
Fiona Bruce wrote and presents this series which features the history of Buckingham Palace, Windsor Castle and Holyroodhouse. In the most part, an interesting excursion through the three palaces, well researched and nicely photographed. However much of the content is once-over-lightly while the camera lingers lovingly on our presenter; Fiona striding across courtyards and battlements; Fiona gazing up at paintings; Fiona climbing staircases etc etc. Enough, already! That said, it was interesting, and the story of Holyroodhouse and the ill-fated Mary Queen of Scots was particularly well described.
22 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
This is the DVD of Fiona Bruce's recent television series in which she visited and showed viewers around three of the Queen's palaces, Buckingham Palace, Windsor Castle and Holyroodhouse. With all her experience gained from the "Antiques Roadshow" and her extensive expertise as a television presenter, she wrote and presented these programmes to show off these wonderful buildings at their best and inform viewers of their long histories.

As another reviewer has written, Fiona Bruce features in many of the shots and, as she certainly is not antique, one assumes the director wanted to vary the visuals, at least I assume it was the direcor's choice.

The palaces come off very well and, although there will obviously be differences of opinion as to what should have been included, by the end of each programme, one learns a great deal about these buildings in which so much history as occurred and, unlike the original programmes, it is possible to study them at length using the pause control. There is not much bonus material and a booklet would have helped but, that said, it is a good DVD.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
Wow!!!!!! what a brilliant DVD. if u love touring round the Likes of Buckingham Palace Etc. you will love this DVD, great history along with fabulous interior and exterior coverage which also includes: Windsor Castle, and The Palace of Hollyrood House. So settle down with your fav Drink for over 3hrs, and lose yourself in splendor! With Fiona Bruce. Enjoy. I highly recommend this. Oh... and there's also an introduction from HRH. Prince Charles.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
This was a gift request. It arrived in good time and they were very pleased withthe dvd. I would recommend it to others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
...as the tour of the palaces. I so enjoyed the presentation of each of the 3 palaces, the detailed photography and the attention to so many aspects of interest. The only small complaint I would have is that the DVD tended to have little glitches here and there throughout and even though they were quite numerous, they we momentary so not a real problem to viewing and enjoying DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
Interesting and well filmed. The commere (French for female commentator) is quite good but intrudes somewhat lacking the essential ability to inform the viewer while being self-effacing - a skill BBC staff before the camera and microphone had quite naturally up until the end of the 1960s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
This is an excellent DVD wonderfully filmed and written and presented by Fiona Bruce. All the palaces were interesting to see, but I found Holyrood House the most interesting of the three, If you are interested in history or even just the royal palaces you will enjoy this very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)