Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 5 May 2012
Another one from my Amazon wish list to be bought when it's cheap enough which I'm glad I did finally get round to seeing.

In a nutshell, ex-spy Eric Bana raises his daughter(?) Saoirse Ronan in an unspecified tundra region to be a ruthless assassin. His aim: to get her to kill his ex-handler Cate Blanchett. Now adolescent, Bana allows Ronan to decide when she wants to start. Having decided, a signal is sent out, Bana leaves, and Ronan allows herself to be captured. What follows after that is a hunt for both of them across North Africa and Europe during the course of which Ronan begins to learn about being human..

Saoirse Ronan is just bloody amazing, her acting is so subtle, restrained and concise. Cate Blanchett is superb -I know, who'd have thought?- as the frighteningly scary ruthless enemy. The rest of the cast is great too -the aforementioned Bana, Tom Hollander, Jason Flemyng, and Olivia Williams.

Only problem is, I didn't believe a word of it. There's a massive high-tech underground American spy complex in the Moroccan desert. Blanchett uses a bunch of shaven headed (implicitly Nazi) thugs run by deadly but sexually ambivalent Tom Hollander. An amiable British family with parents (Flemyng & Williams) who are so liberal they'd take in a girl in early adolescence who's travelling alone rather than dropping her at the door of the nearest appropriate embassy. I just couldn't suspend my disbelief.

I enjoyed it all right because of the quality of the filmmaking, the excellent cast, and the pace of the thing, but there's a whopping great but. No matter. Of one thing I am sure, Ronan is already an extremely accomplished actor who'll be gracing cinema screens for years to come and I wouldn't bet against her winning an Oscar some day. She's already had one nomination.

And a final thought: much as I loved Jennifer Laurence as Katniss Everdene in The Hunger Games; Ronan would have been ever better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2015
I really like this film. It has a really good storyline, but the atmosphere, style and music make it very different and unusual which makes for a much more interesting and enjoyable film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2012
Great product and film. Not quite on a par with Bourne Identity but a good spy story. End was a little disappointing, could have been better.

Would always recommend going for the triple play, the digital copy is great on the move and the dvd is great when having a movie night with friends.

Enjoy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2011
This is not a disaster by any means but how i wanted something a little more warming and engrossing. It has niether the emotional drive or the required action set pieces to deliver something memorable, Instead your left wishing you hadnt compared it to Leon in the first place.

A relationship and bond is formed at the start but the constraints of the plot and the apparent will to concentrate on other characters that are not as vital to the story lets things feel cold. It's ironic then that all the the themes remain familiar, the first half-hour is extremely vague. There seems to be a loss of focus from the director at some point as if he wasnt bothered anymore.
It's full of dodgy accents and even dodgier hair-cuts and acting and even the action scenes are a let-down.
It runs out of steam way before the end and it all just feels very dull and limp. Must do better, the girl lead is about the only remarkable thing in it and even her assasin's talents wont keep you focused. And anyone looking for a terrifying bad guy will be left dissapointed by Blanchett's euro trash, mutton dressed as lamb villian.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2011
I'd waited a long time for this film to be released on DVD. What an utter let down. It was awful! It started off ok, then after 5 minutes or so went into freefall. Everything about it was handled and directed badly. Despite a good cast, I just didn't engage with any of the characters and couldn't have cared less about what happened to them. To give you a perspective, I loved Taken, and the Bourne films. This doesn't even come close; even 'Salt' was a better movie than this.
Save your money and spend your time doing something more rewarding.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2011
I missed this at the cinema, and was looking forward to watching the DVD.

It did not live up to my expectations. The acting was fairly ok, but at the end I felt that this picture had an identity crisis. What was it trying to be - an action flick, a teenage morality tale, a good idea that ran out of steam?

The conclusion was predictable and weak, and some of the situations were hard to swallow.

I do not think I will be tempted to watch it again.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2017
finally it is not a Hollywood style action. the story is straitforward but the acting is good even the child-play is genuine, Hanna is absolutely superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 July 2011
I can't believe how this movie is given 5 stars by some reviewers. Hanna doesn't know whether its a spy movie or a coming of age movie! The movie begins out in the wilderness with just Hanna and her father living totally off the grid. Hanna then decides she wants out in the real world and eventually her father lets her and leaves her in their cabin while a team of soldiers/ killers come looking for them.

The story is then Hanna travelling through countries to meet her father in Berlin, I assume just to show him she can survive on her own, but is being followed by a gang hired by a CIA agent whose nose has been put out of joint! This is where the movie takes on a new theme and becomes a coming of age movie and totally ruins the movie for me. Hanna meets up with a teenager and her family and stows away in their camper van. When she is discovered she is treated as one of the family. Hanna discovers electricity for the first time and is obviously mesmerised by it but then a little later in the movie she is able to serf the world wide web!!! Hanna hooks up with a boy and blah blah blah! This part of the movie is so unnecessary.

Cate Blanchett's role is OTT and you never quite know whether she wants Hanna dead on or wants to recruit her.

What a complete let down. The only positive thing I can say for the movie is that some of the action scenes are really good
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2016
Brilliant. Really enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2011
First of all the "not perfect" bits. Cate Blanchet is not the correct actor for the part she played, its really as simple as that, she is not good enough to pull it off. The homosexual skinhead gang did not seem to fit the film since they were clearly incompitent yet hired for "their special talents". There are aspects of the plot that are pretty far-fetched whilst most of the film is plausible. So they are the minuses for me but this still gets 5 stars for the incredible editing, direction, suspense and originality. Its a great film, it just could have been perfect with a few tweaks.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse