Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.90+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 August 2011
In a world where it is becoming increasingly common for great singers to emerge from the youtube phenomenon I think it is becoming more difficult for these singers to really stand out unless they offer something more.

Greyson Chance is a youtube sensation who deserves all the praise being thrown at him. After a highly publicised appearance on the Ellen De Generes show, Greyson would become the first act to be signed to Ellen's newly formed record label. What really makes Greyson stand out is not only his young age but the fact he is not just a voice. It is quite clear he is more vocal about important issues than other peers and it's great to see him not only play the piano but take an active role in the songwriting aspect. There are very few tracks here that do not have a writing credit by Greyson.

Musically this debut is full of great pop tracks with a good emphasis on the piano. I personally feel Ellen's team and Interscope Records have done an extremely good job at pairing Greyson with the right producers and writers here. If you've followed Greyson up to now you will be more than satisfied. If you enjoyed debut single 'Waiting Outside The Lines' you will find plenty more to like here.

Lately I'm definitely seeing a different between being talented and being exceptionally gifted. Greyson clearly fits into the latter.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
This is an excellent album, especially considering his age. My favourite song on the album is probably 'unfriend you'. It has an irresistable hook in the chorus and is extremely memorable and can be related to by all generations.

Highly recommended
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
This popped up on my Amazon recommendations and I decided to "give it a go". Greyson Chance is a very accomplished singer. On this CD his voice seems to be changing and superb use is made of various elements of this changing voice. Certain passages begin to use a new tenor register. Other passages exploit, movingly, the use of the register in which the voice is actually changing; there are also, still, some top notes which please. The young singer seems to be able to place each note, confidently, in the part of his voice which works for him. The arrangements made for him on this recording are superb, placed very exactly in keys which worked for him when this was recorded.

Not really my sort of music but he's certainly a skilled singer: best of luck to him.

Musically, probably, rather limited/commonplace in "pop idiom", but there are certainly moments which, technically, make one think how well this boy is singing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
Like probably everyone else, I first found out about Greyson through his clip on YouTube of him singing "Paparazzi" and playing the piano. He just blew me away with the confidence and power of his voice. So, a few months down the line I was really pleased to find out he'd released an album. I instantly ordered a copy and also went online and watched his awesome music video for the song, "Waiting Outside The Lines", which is definitely my favourite song as it's so uplifting and catchy.

I really wish he was more well known, especially over here in the U.K. Considering Justin Bieber's similar story, you'd think he would be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
What a nice surprise after a not too long time of waiting for a debut album by this enthusiastic and gifted young singer.

The booklet of the album comes as a 16 pages leporello. A lot of small print divided by a few photos of Greyson Chance.

Even though the cover artwork of this album does not sweep me off my feet, the ten songs on Greyson's debut album are appealing from the first to the last.

Indeed the songs are well composed and very well produced.
I have not looked into the lyrics in detail yet but my overall impression is that they are well balanced and mature rather than just candy pop or teenage love drama. By the way, Greyson Chance was involved in the writing of more than half of the songs on this album!

The sound could easily compete with the big names in current pop business.

If you like pop and rock music with nice melodic lines one easily feels attracted to sing along, don't hesitate to get a copy yourself.

His album will surely spin a couple of times in my CD-player!

If you ask why I give "only" four stars for this album here my answers:
A good album like this deserves more efforts on its artwork. The artwork is creative but still lacks something. To me it still looks unfinished.
The chorus of "Take a look at me now" (track 10) shows some melodic similarities to "Waiting outside the lines" (track 01), which makes song number 10 appear like a rehash to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Yer know - of all the albums I've bought recently, this one has the most infective melodies, an ohrwurm, (in a good way). Forever (so far at least) Greyson Chance is no doubt known as the Youtube paparazzi kid, and don't knock that. - This album though some four years old (released 2011) moves on, and contains some really good songs. When did you last hear kid singing a six F word alliteration without an expletive "Am I a fool for fool for falling for you girl " from Cheyenne? - Home is in your eyes a moving ballad of distant love, with the line "If I could write another ending
This wouldn't even be our song" squeezing tears from somewhere.
Just give the album a listen you'll be quietly singing along in your sleep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
I have to admit, Greyson Chance has surprised me. His Youtube performance of Lady Gaga's 'Paparazzi' is surely one of those viral videos that capture just how much talent ordinary people have. It should be celebrated, and it's obvious someone took notice to give this kid a record deal, if not for that voice. Chance's range should be acknowledged - at high notes it may surprise some, and there are no doubt the comparisons between other teen pop stars (notably Justin Bieber). But what sets Chance, and his album, apart, is that there is a subtle maturity in his voice, a spark of passion, that is lacking modern pop music nowadays. And for a mere 14 year old to show his much older peers how it's done is truly a feat. The songs itself are a mix of crossover genres - pop, piano rock.

The album starts off well with 'Waiting Outside the Lines', the lead single off the album. It's a simple pop ballad with strings and piano, and possesses a chorus which makes you want to join in and sing together. 'Unfriend You' continues the string melody combined with a synth-filled chorus and lyrics that remind you this is still a kid. 'Home Is In Your Eyes' is a nice acoustic song that really shows off Chance's vocals. 'Hold On 'Till the Night' is a change, with an almost sinister feel to it. 'Heart Like Stone' continues this, with dark lyrics and a powerful chorus. 'Little London Girl' is cheery and bouncy, reminiscent of the summer days and holidays. 'Cheyenne' is a highlight on the album, with Chance singing solemnly and less belty than other tracks (it has a similar feel to Grenade by Bruno Mars). 'Summertrain' has hip-hop influences that work with sparse guitar production. 'Stranded' has a sort of ska-reggae feel to it that is feel-good and happy. 'Take a Look at me Now' is another ballad that is big and loud, and sounds like something Ryan Tedder would produce (OneRepublic). Bonus track 'Slipping Away' is another solid ballad that continues to show off his really pronounced falsetto.

Overall, it's quite an impressive album for someone as young as himself. I look forward to his future music, and wonder how his voice (and sound) will change as a result. If his voice sounds this mature now, then we can only hope his voice will sound even better with time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
This is an amazing album from such a talented young star.
Founded on an internet video sharing website, he was soon picked up by major stars in America and has now released his first album. He writes and composes most of his work, and the raw talent shows with such mature and heartfelt music.
A must buy album for all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
At 13, can't believe he was only 13 on the album. And he play plano, amazing. The whole album is fantastic, Cheyenne, hold on til the night is a great song catchy chorus. Waitng outside the lines is also good.
Can't wait to hear more from him
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
This CD is amazing! It's perfect in every way. This is my new favourite CD and I listen to it all the time. Don't miss out, it's the best. Also Greyson Chance is just fantastic, one in a million voice and talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£19.76

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)