Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 29 June 2011
I have to agree with most reviewers about the quality of this album: it is stunningly good and mature!
This said, and even if the band clearly shows Zep influences, it is definitly a product of its time and no 70's nostalgia act despites its 70's instrumentation and sound. The zep influence is big but there's even a bigger 60's american garage rock feel to it and the main similarity for me would be with the likes of At the drive-In and Wolfmother (both also influenced by the 70's) and even sometimes The Black Crowes. I'd say that the album has a strong american feel to it.
Rival sons has that 60's/70's vibe but definitly sounds "modern"-again more in the approach than in the sound- as oppose to bands like Graveyard or Blood Ceremony and yet far from bands like The Answer or Black stone Cherry, who sound "too" modern to fully revive the 70's vibe.
Also, I don't think Rival sons could have sounded the way they do had they not been influenced by what was going on in the 90's (again Black Crowes, Pearl Jam,...).
Therefor I truely believe that this makes it even more of an interesting album.
So definitly a winner, but maybe not for those who expect a carbon copy of Sabbath, Purple or Heep releases.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2016
Arrived in time and in excellent condition. This isn't as good as their next album (I bought them out of chronological order) but still a few good tunes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Brilliant band as usual. Gets the boogie muscle going!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
A huge Zeppelin-sized shape may cast its considerable shadow over Southern Californian outfit Rival Sons, but much like The Virginmarys this quartet's brand of dynamic Hard-Rock is more of a celebration of rock `n' roll's glory days than a mere copy -- it's `rhythm and blues played with danger` as one band member so aptly puts it. 'Pressure and Time' is their new 12-track album which is set to issued by Earache Records on June 20th. It's a bluesy, groove-laden LP full of dynamic riffs, muscular percussion and rock swagger.

Frontman and Jim Morrison lookalike Jay Buchanan possesses a confident grit-infused classic rock pitch and the band play with real desire, as if their lives depends on it. There's nothing better when a band can effortlessly hit their stride like this, distilling all that we love in a rock `n' roll group, Pink Floyd collaborator Storm Thorgersen provides the artwork for the LP, while the band are booked for both the Sonisphere and High Voltage festivals which I'll be attending and very much looking forward to on the basis of this excellent record.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2011
Hotly in line for my album of year this is a bona fide classic!

Rival Sons have been on my radar for sometime having listened to a lot of their earlier stuff on myspace and been mightly impressed. If you like classic 70's era rock ie Zeppelin, Free, Humble Pie, Yardbirds then you'e in for a real treat.

The new album is a revalation from start to finish. There are just too many highlights throughout but my personal faves are the title track Pressure and Time,the Zepplenesque Gypsy Heart and Burn Down Los Angles which has a White Stripes kinda garage feel to it. The production is also superb,sounds like it was all done on analogue tape and has that spine tingling vinyl groove, missing from most modern recordings. Can't wait to catch them live in July at the Borderline

Go out and buy it now you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2016
a bit disappointed that it is advertised in colour but the sleeve that arrived was in very dark black and white, other than that the record plays fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
Okay, so this might not be the most original album you will have heard, but since when has that been a crime? Everyone raved about Amy Whitehouse even though there was nothing original on her albums, but what she did she did very well. And the same applies here. So what if the title track sounds as though it could have come off Led Zeppelin I, or if there is more than a touch of Free and Bad Company to many of the other tracks, they do it all with such verve and confidence they just pull it off effortlessly. All the tracks are short, sharp, catchy as hell and rock like a mother. I played it to my wife the other week and within twenty minutes she was up for coming to see them with Black Stone Cherry. It may only last 30 minutes but there's an awful lot of good rockin' packed into that 30 minutes, there is no flab here. If you're a fan of great rock music do yourself a favour and buy this album, you won't regret it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 June 2011
I first came across this band with a free 6 track EP with Classic Rock and this album is an excellent continuation and development of that. If you like Led Zeppelin, Free , Bad Company then you should go for this - but its not a re-tread of their music. There is an energy and riffing that is impressive, and its not a million notes a minute like you can get - but its full on rock music, something that I thought was a thing of the past
The album gets off to a cracking start with All Over the Road - the first three are full on , then Only One slows things down. I really liked the 'Burn Down Los Angles' track (I think someome had a bad time there ..) and then it full on until tyhe gem at the end of the album, Face of Light. This is a lot lighter song about a boxer (neat trick to do that ..) and not what I expected at all.
So these guys are not the expected riffing all the way and I think such a great new find - and then I find they are playing my home town 6 days before my birthday - how good is that !
Crank it up - you'll love it
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Hollow Bones
£19.55

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)