Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2011
I was surprised that in the Kilbourn/Crouch Q&A at the back of the book the mentioned negative reviews to the Cut version of Serial. What did people think it would be about - Corn Flakes? I personal read this after reading Afraid, the Trapped by Kilborn and was blown away by them both. I was also relieved. Why relieved? I just think that so much of adult life these days is 'kid friendly' whether you have children or not. Adults alone aren't longer money-makers anymore. I'm over 21 and pay my taxes, so since I love horror it's really nice to see someone really go for it and write something that's unsensored, exciting, and gory. Most horror novels are written with 'how to this will play for the 15 or under market in a film' in mind. That doesn't work for me any more.

Serial is such a good read and both writers mix horror and humour with good results. If you've read either of these authors individual works, it's definately worth reading Serial just to watch some familiar characters interact with each other. I now feel propelled to read Crouch's work just to find out more about several characters in the book and trace their individual progression in to twisted monsters.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
The interview with the authors at the end of the book just made me want to read it in one sitting all over again. This book seems to take an almost real, completely objective take on the characters and this makes for very evil & true guilt lacking phycopathic feel to actually take over your own mind for a while...I actually worried about my state of mind after reading this book, which in my oppinion makes a really good little book! Although the torture scenes were fairly predicatble to me (do to reading Karyn Slaughter & Chelsea Caine I think!),I think someone who has not read many books on graphic torture & the pleasure the killers feel will either be, after reading this, 1) Unphased as you cant imagine such things...your brain wont allow it! 2) Disturbed, having your eyes opened as you enjoyed it, and also wrong in some way for wanting to read more! I have started to only recently read books done individually by these two authors and was amazed to see they had written something together! I started with Blake Crouch called RUN. Which if you read after this book, will have you wincing and a little sickened...its excellent.Run: A Thriller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2012
Reality and fiction brought together to bring you this outstanding book!
Couldnt put it down after reading first few pages as you get swept into the story and think at times OMG that could so easily happen!! hope that it gets made into a film ASAP. BTW just remembered if you loved this book then get the next instalment called killers which is another if not gorier book I hope they make another!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
Jack Kilborn and Blake Crouch are simply the best!!! No negative review only positive. Go on, I dare you to download it. Definitely not for the faint hearted - god knows where these authors get their ideas but lets hope they keep writing. Next book to read: KILLERS, cant wait!!! Diane, Tamworth x
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Only read a few chapters despite being warned by the blurb. Just not my cup of tea as too extreme and
unfortunately could imagine the sickos out there getting a real kick from it (in many ways). Did make me question Crouch's
mind and if it was the first book I'd read of his it would be the last, however so far this is the only one I have rated less
than 5 star. Until now would have said he was a favourite author. More stories like this though will knock him off
my reading list.......... and yes I know both authors warn you exactly what's in the tin - but you just don't believe them until
you've cut it open and tasted the contents :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
This was the first book of it's kind I have read, I couldn't put it down and finished it in a day going on to buy Killers the sequel. It's pace graphic gore was addictive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I didn't really know what to expect from this book. It isn't a story as such more of a day in the lift of each character as their paths cross. It was quite graphic but you keep reading. I like it but it would probably have been better with a deeper consistent plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
This book does not dissapoint Blake Crouch fans it had me eager to read it from start to finish i dont want to give away any of the story so all i will say is what a great ending a very good twist to a superb book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Sadly not my kinda book. Usually love Blake Crouches book but had to keep skipping pages too graphic, partly my mistake should of read sample. More story less torture would of been better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Avoid this book if you are offended by sick and twisted stories personally I like that kind of thing and bought this book for a twisted friend who loved it as much as I did
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)