Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2008
Peter Cave has written another entertaining and thought provoking book. His exploration of a variety of paradoxes and puzzles challenges our intuitions, revealing the more complex implications of seemingly straight forward situations. Written in a stimulating and amusing style, the book is very 'dipable into', with each puzzle being a self-contained chapter. However, you will still be thinking about the conundrums he raises long after you've put the book down.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2008
Peter Cave returns to form with 33 more witty Philosophy puzzles. If you enjoyed 'Can a Robot be Human' you will not be disappointed. If you have not read 'Can a Robot be Human' then I suggest you purchase them both! Phantastic reads for anyone interested in philosophy.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2008
Another thought-provoking book with a human and hourous side from Peter. If you enjoyed Can A Robot Be Human, you'll nejoyed this just as much. Its intelligent, entertaining and very readable. And filled with puns again.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2009
I had the privilege of attending Peter Cave's lectures as part of my Open University degree, so was already familiar with his incisive wit and ability to take a sideways look at many issues which perplex students .
If you want illumination, challenge, and light relief all at once, then I warmly recommend both this book and its predecessor.
You can also find Peter on YouTube.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed this. It is wonderful for a busy person like me who needs something they can just dip into - but who is also badly in need of some mental stimulation! It really got my mind working. I'd certainly recommend it to anyone who bought Robot - and anyone who didn't!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
What do you buy a young man in his early 20's? This seems to have done the trick as it seemed to be very well received either that or he is a very well-mannered young man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Prompt delivery. Bought as a gift as partner had other books of this type. Would recommend if interested in philosophy puzzles
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
great though provoking with out frying brain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
I love the odd philosophical text.. This one fails to grab you and dies a quick death!!!! I cannot recommend this'
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
grandaughter loved it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here