Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
29
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2013
makes you appreciate how lucky we are to chose our future. To have arranged maraiges and to be thought so little of by your own family. To have no one to turn to and no one to help you that in the end you have to do as your family says. This was her story and i think she is so brave to just accept her lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Read this in a couple of hours, Badly written and the author seems to contradict herself at times. One minute she is terrified of her father,mother,husbands and family and the next she is shouting and standing up to them.I found at times I did not believe what she was trying to tell us, and the story seemed to jump from time to time. Found it confusing with all the references to her relations who were never named, like her fathers uncle , her brothers uncle her mothers uncle. Have read better books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
It shows how some people behave. It makes me angry to think that people come in the country and yet want to live as though they were in theirs. Here there is freedom to do what you want and marry who you want.I come from abroad and now consider myself British
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
I found this book a little bit boring as the story and the outcome just didn't seem real to me. I have read other books similar to this and found them to be really interesting but unfortunately this was not the case in this instance. Not one I would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
This book had so much potential but it is hurried and badly written. It ends in the middle of her story at a crucial point then you get a hurriedly written epilogue explaining the rest of her life which feels contradictory to every thing she has said. There are huge gaps no character development and as sad as the story is it's difficult to invest any emotion in to it . Very disappointed in this very short disconnected book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Can't understand this culture why these horrible men who are just bullies think they have a right to dictate women's lives and abuse them I would have them charged with assault and put them on a plane back to where they came from all this stupid respect rubbish who do they think they are such fanatics they need to live in the real world this abuse is bit acceptable in out culture don't they know if you live in Rome you do as the Romans do if not take a hike and get out we don't need inhumane idiots in our country we notice the so called men dont punch each other a sure sign of a controlled coward pure control freaks lock them up and throw the keys away please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
Poor standard of writing. I persevered in the hope that it would gradually get better but this did not happen. Very sudden ending too, although I can say that a positive for this book is that it is short and so doesn't waste too many hours of one's life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
I found the story tragic and very sad. I could relate to her because I too went through a very painful and nasty divorce in the late 70,s and it was a very taboo subject. My family however supported me. I married the most gentle and supporting man I have ever met
So not all Asian families are bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
This shows how little respect many Moslem families have for their women and girls. Very readable and tragic. I hope Shahnaz is now happy, she deserves to be after all she went through.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Made me cringe at how naive Shahnaz was in believing her family. Even worse made me sick that her own family put her through this he'll hole. Typical double standards of some cultures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)