Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
67
Liszt - My Piano Hero
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£28.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 50 REVIEWERon 11 January 2016
Lang Lang starts this recital in gentle mode with the Romance O Pourquoi donc, surprising in all ways, and the dominant tone of the recital is almost angled more towards Liszt's reflective writing, taking in the famous Liebestraum No.3, fantastically shaped so that you hear it anew. A bit earlier comes the Consolation No.3, and the marvellous Un Sospiro which is the Lisztian melody par excellence, used so memorably in the film Letter from an unknown woman and also All I desire; nothing could express yearning in its pure state better than this. However where fireworks do come into their own you certainly know it: the most cataclysmic, thrilling pounding octaves in the bass in the Hungarian Rhapsody No. 6, while No. 15 takes you through similar flights, and the Grand Galop chromatique. The Liebestod is a further surprise, but ties in brilliantly as it follows another arrangement, of Schubert's Ave Maria. The disc ends with a brilliant performance of the First Concerto, whose excitement is fully unleashed. The DVD shows Lang Lang in the Teldex studio in Berlin, essentially, recording La Campanella, and to see it gives it even more urgency than just hearing it on the CD. Turning up at the studio in a t-shirt whith a huge poppy photo on the front and trainers, he seems very relaxed and completely genial, not at all strained by the task at hand. The disc is one of three releases from Liszt's bicentenary year that are necessary recordings, alongside Bertrand Chamayou's traversal of the Annees de pelerinage complete and Brigitte Engerer's Harmonies poetiques et religieuses. Each bring out a different quality of the composer; Lang Lang showing him to be a creator of fireworks in music, some of them in surprisingly subtle and muted colours as well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2016
Not only does this CD demonstrate Lang Lang's virtuosity on the piano but it provides a good selection of Liszt's compositions and all at a low price. Now since Schubert's 'Ave Maria' is also included, I must assume that this is a Liszt piano transcription of the work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
Beautiful classical music. I simply love listening to Lang Lang. Liszt - My Piano Hero is exceptional.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2014
The music and playing are excellent. However I find the digitallity of the record too obvious and a little bright. Knowing what I know know I would have gone for the CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2017
Always the showman, Lang Lang comes up to scratch with this delightful album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2013
The album is good. The CD is withdrawn from oldham library......and I dont like the lable added by the library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 February 2013
The disc was released in 2011 to celebrate the bicentenary of Liszt's birth. The thirteen track disc comes with a bonus thirteen minute DVD showing Lang Lang performing Liszt, his piano hero.

The fascination and admiration of Lang Lang for Liszt is contagious apparently elicited by the young pianist's masterly rendition of the composer's best and best known works present on the disc. Listening to the concluding piano concerto, the words 'sparkling' and 'shining' came spontaneously to mind.

A beauty of the disc is the alternation of the lyrical and the poetic with the virtuosic and the exuberant but invariably masterly in their amazing dexterity, expressive power, and mood transition.

The disc commences with Romance 'O pourqoi donc', an appropriately romantic piece; it is followed by 'La campanella' from Grandes Etudes de Paganini with all its intricacy, virtuosity, and pyrotechnics; then follows Consolation No.3, one of the most beautiful, lyrical, poetic, well known, and beloved works in the piano literature; then follows the exuberant Grand Galop chromatique; then Liebestraum no.3, another romantic and lyrical piece; then follows the tempestuous Hungarian Rhapsody, a favorite of the artist; then 'Un sospiro' again a romantic, poetic piece; followed by the 'Rakoczy March' with all its highly virtuosic setting; the disc concludes with the stunning Piano Concerto No.1.

A uniquely beautiful disc to treasure in your collection.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2017
Really enjoy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2013
OK, so he and it are a bit poppy but who cares. He has re-kindled a small fire in me for the classics. Much like Nigel Kennedy's and his Four Seasons recording. It really moved me and I enjoy it over and over again
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2013
My husband is a great fan of Lang Lang. This cd did not disappoint him. It arrived very quickly which was lucky as it was a last minute birthday idea. Would recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)