Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
347
4.3 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2016
A brilliantly fun game. I have always been a big fan of Bioshock 1 and didn't think it could be outdone...this game may just have done that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Great purchase arrived soon and just as described, no problem
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2016
Somewhat different from BioShock but still very enjoyable to play
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
I think, with Bioshock Infinite, I made the mistake of focusing too much on the 'Bioshock' aspect of the title. As a big fan of Bioshock 1 and 2, with its eerie atmosphere and spliced up foes, Infinite was too much of a shooter for my liking. As a stand-alone, disregarding the prequels, I did enjoy it, especially the foray into the idea of parallel universes and a sliding-doors esque style of thought. The voice acting was brilliant and the storyline was engaging. I wasn't fond of the replacement for plasmids the game introduced (again, this is probably because I liked the other games so much), and sometimes the game had a bit of a repetitive feel to it.

I suppose I just missed the creepier elements of Rapture and its denizens.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
When I heard that there was a new Bioshock being released, I was unsure of the premise, with the new entry in the series seemingly abandoning the dark, fascinating world of Rapture in exchange for the bright, flying city of Columbia. Weird, possibly childish concept, but like the equally weird concept of a city full of genetic freaks located at the bottom of the Atlantic, the team behind this has pulled it off exceptionally well.

This game has so many things to praise its hard to know where to begin, the graphics are excellent, the voice acting top notch, the world well built. But what really makes this game shine is it's characters. Whole sections of the story exist for the sole purpose of developing Booker and Elizabeth as characters, a far cry from the silent, empty protagonists that so many games have. Booker is a cynical, guilt ridden former Pinkerton agent ( essentially strike breakers) with heavily gambling debts, offered a chance at a clean slate in return from rescuing a Girl from Columbia. Elizabeth is the expected Messiah for the people of the city, Daughter of the prophet Zachary Comstock. The city of Columbia itself seems to be almost a character in it's own right, existing in it's own alternate version of 1912, and is exceptionally well created, with a visual style distinct from Rapture, the wide open vistas contrasting sharply with the dark, dripping corridors, But this highlights the general feeling of the game to a Bioshock fan, the city is Completely different, yet also in some way, it feels the same. It also has the brilliant audio log feature, which adds a whole new dimension to the world, adding unseen background story lines and providing clues to the main story right from the start, which gives the game a great deal of repla value just to find the rest of them. The game also has excellent minor characters, the shady Lutec twins being an excellent example, all of which are well fleshed out. The storyline is so good, it's sometimes hard to believe that this is actually a popular game, released in the age of the sadistic, lazy nonsense coming out from the call of duty line.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
I cannot say I did not enjoy Infinite. A did enjoy it about halfway through. The first 20 minutes of the game, with the arrival to the light tower, and to the flying city of Columbia was certainly memorable. The world is painted with vivid colours and full of imagination, however once the action actually kicked in, things started do go downhill for me.
Not that Bioshock Infinite is a bad shooter game. It's mechanics and weapons are solid, however all those things meant to set this experience apart from the rest are not that unique as they seem to be.

Most of the positive reviews herald it as something groundbreaking, but I couldn't find anything particularly new here.
First of all, there is barely any interaction with anything in the world. Citizens only stand around and stare at you as part of the scene, but they never react in any human way to your actions.
Even the amusing interactions with your partner - the well realized and acted Elizabeth - are not more then press and go cutscenes.
When the game does offer you a choice, that choice soon turns out to be pointless as it never alters the flow of the game.
Your superpowers - the vigors you can use - feel like decoration on a cake, without any real tactical weight. I finished the game on medium, barely using two or three and I only upgraded two of them to another level. They also feel out of context. Never during the game you see anybody else using any vigors, which is strange considering how many wending machines are scattered all over the levels, not the mention a lenghty part which plays entirely in a vigor producing factory.
The weapons are the same. You only allow to have two at a time, but upgrading them is very costly and also ammo is very scarce.
That leads me to my main problem. The interesting story aside, 80 percent of the game I spent searching every nook and cranny, looting each fallen enemy for more supplies. Pressing the same button all the time on top of dead bodies is not my idea of perfect modern gaming experience. And guess what, one of the other regular interactions with Elizabeth is the same, as she will keep throwing random items to you every 5 minutes.

Graphic wise the the whole thing is a mixed bag.
The overall look of the city is great, but when you look closer it quickly looses details.
Foliage and textures look pretty ugly at closer inspection, and the frame rate stutters sometimes.

This is certainly a well made product overall, with professional voice acting and original style, it is just sad how it turns out to be shallow and boring as a game.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
To keep it brief:

This game is a slow burner. Initially feels out dated for 2015 in terms of game-play and controls but just stick to it and get immersed into the story. I am not a previous Bioshock player but I am a seasoned FPS veteran.

- Politically brilliant. Just observing the propaganda, symbols and messages plastered all around the city you can get a sense of how this society functions and has been conditioned to think by the impressive Prophet Comstock. History is bent into lies, reality is morphed and old religious and political ideas are taken into consideration to build a new communal narrative that will control the populace and enhance the leader's power through time.

- Historically accurate: Despite the obvious fiction, real (disturbing) historical events, religious references and political heroes are taken into account to make the story really seem like an alternate reality to our own history.

- Scientifically relevant: It all seems like science fiction initially but by the end of the game it all starts falling into place. The involvement of interesting scientific concepts like alternative reality's, entanglement and multi-dimensional travel makes it for a mind blowing finale that will have you thinking about what is possible for days. I ended up watching loads of documentaries about quantum physics and try to understand how real could the underlying concept of this game be.

- Elizabeth: Never in any game have I had a sidekick that helped me so much by tossing medikits when I am about to die, ammo or salts when I am totally out in the middle of a gun fight or extra coin when I most need it. You create a real bond with Elizabeth with the weird feeling that despite you protecting her, she is indispensable for you. She can pick locks and by opening tears she can manifest useful elements into the battle field (like covers, gun stacks and gun turrets). She never feels like an annoyance, you never accidentally shoot her or gets on the way of a gunfight. She is always there but never gets on your way or gets left behind, in fact her witty comments entertain and "hey, check this out" remarks point you to hidden lock-picks or voxphones making it seem like its a real person helping you out. When you loose her and must save her again, it feels like a real emphatic and desperate attempt to get her back into the game, rather than merely to complete the objective. They have done an amazing job in bringing the characters to life.

- Gameplay: Obviously loads of fun once you learn how to combine magic with guns efficiently. Having only capacity for 2 guns, limited ammo and sometimes having to manage with guns you would normally avoid makes the game slightly more challenging and realistic. The fact that there is no arrow or map makes it realistic in my opinion as it allows for a more cautious and conscious exploration really understanding the city and what exactly is you are seeking. Some people have complained about this, but I tend to think its probably the gamers who dont really pay attention to the story and just want to get from A to B as quick as possible. This game is great for people who like to look at all the details.

The end: its not your typical Hollywood ending and it will certainly not end as you would think. It was enough to make me do my first game review.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Bioshock Infinite is a strange beast. Whether you are flying around Columbia on it's sky rails, incinerating enemies with the new Vigors or simply taking a late night stroll with Elizabeth through some of the City's more desolate locations...you are constantly aware that you are taking part in something quite extra-ordinary and almost divine in it's narrative.

Maybe the developers wanted the game to slowly burn, at least initially. A mixture of ingredients thrown into the pot and cooked up for one hell of a main course. Not saying that the game stalls you or tries to obstruct your path. As Booker DeWitt, the protagonist of this big show in the clouds, you have a simple agenda: Go to Columbia, get the girl and bring her back to New York City. Wipe out your debts Mr. DeWitt. So we have a goal, a gruff ex military-type and a mystical floating City in the clouds. Now you can choose to (literally) fly through the game, busting up the bad guys and obliterating anyone in your path with a mixture of special powers and a nice arsenal of firearms. Or you can let Columbia soak into your skin and absorb you into it's world of politics, race discrimination and the rantings of a religous mad-man. You have to realise that Columbia is very much alive and it will immerse you completely if you allow it.

While there are no serious moral-defining choices given to the player throughout the game....you are in charge of your own gun and Vigors. This means that some areas are not automatically going to be hostile towards you. Infact it's possible to get through some locations without having to kick backsides. But if you are like me and have a habit of stocking up on as much loot as possible, looking inside every container to raid it of it's contents then some people wont be happy with that.
This is no Grand Theft Auto but if you cause trouble then the local cops are going to come for you. Peaceful City streets can quickly become bullet ridden and body filled in no time....and the force of the cops does not end with that. You'll find airships hovering above, dropping in reinforcements all the while you wonder if it really was a good idea to steal that orange after all?

The City of Columbia is broken down into sections. It isnt a sandbox world but the areas can be quite large in size. You'll relish in latching onto an overhead skyrail (these things allow trams and gondolas to travel the skies above - like a rail line) and soaring through the clouds. Seriously you can ascend to fantastic heights and even leap off and jump an unsuspecting enemy, finishing him with a grizzly bloody death move. But really you will be hitting the sky rails for the exploration-factor most of the time. That is when you remember to look up. I often found myself battling to get into a new area - before realising that I had my skyhook and could grab the line above. Oversight on my part. Exploration of Columbia is certainly rewarding for the hawk-eyed player. Secret areas filled with loot, special ability enhancing gear and Infusions (these liquid drinks permanently enhance your health, shield and salt levels - salt is used for Vigor access). Because of the sheer number of weapons and Vigors you need a lot of coin to upgrade these items....so always grab as much cash as possible. Vending machines can even be tampered with and will gladly dish out some free money (but I'll not tell you how that works).

If you liked Bioshock and it's sequel you will have high expectations for Infinite, especially in the Vigor (they replace Plasmids) and weapons department. I'll admit that I felt a little down hearted with the Vigors, at least for the first several hours. But as the game opened up and encounters with armed foes increased I began to see the tactical advantages of setting down flame traps, summoning a murder of crows and zapping giant robot George Washingtons with lightening. The weapons are basic but can be upgraded. Pistols, shotguns, rifles, sniper rifles, machine guns etc etc. So long as you have the money you can upgrade weapons several times; increasing round capacity, accuracy and damage. The Vigors have a couple of upgrade options also, increasing duration and power. It does become very satisfying to fire bolts of electricity from your fingers and watching it jump from enemy to enemy...and then their heads explode. That never gets old and it is possible to march through areas and completely obliterate anything in your path.
In the original Bioshock the weapons seemed to get weaker as the game progressed and opponents became somewhat more resistant to Plasmids. Infinite does not suffer this. Headshots are fatal (provided they are not a machine or wearing a helmet) and RPG rounds really do blow stuff the hell up. I played the game on normal and only died once during my entire playthrough. I exploited my abilities to the maximum and it worked in keeping me safe. This cannot be overlooked. Using the right Vigor in the right situation will get results.

By the time you meet Elizabeth (the girl) you'll be somewhat glad to have the company. The conversation between Booker and Liz serves to expand the world and you get to see more of Bookers' personality. He is a cool guy really and very likeable. Liz is gorgeous and well acted, to the point that you quickly establish a bond with her and it's hard to imagine her not at your side.
Of course, this is not a date and the dangers of Columbia are still very real even after Liz is in Bookers' custody. As the game ups the ante so does the duo of man and girl.
Elizabeth has a unique talent; she is able to open tears in space and time. This is really handy for Booker as you can summon in cover points to hide behind, allies and supplies. Basically you become even more deadly to those who want to get in your way.
Liz never directly exposes herself to combat and stays out of the way. You do not have to protect her and thus focus on your targets. Outside of combat she never gets in your way and will happily give you any money she finds.
Normally in games were you have a partner as such they can sometimes become a nuisance. Whatever magic the developers of this game worked they have ensured that Elizabeth never annoys the player. Kudos for that.

As the story picks up pace and you begin to encounter epic moments of "what the hell just happened?" You will look long and hard at Infinite and wonder if any game will ever make you feel like this again. I dont want to sound cheesy but it's true. Infinite will have your brain in bits. Sometimes, as you traverse Columbia, taking in the sounds and listening to audio logs you'll think to yourself "aha...I think I have this place worked out."
That may be true for that particular portion of the game. You could have it all nailed down in your mind....but then things can suddenly change and it all literally leaves you gasping.

So, what else can I say about Infinite? Play it, love it, admire the ambition behind the project and maybe take away some of the games' philosophy.
For some gamers Columbia may be too much to take in. It may not strike the right chords....not straight away. But believe me, Infinite will grab you at some point.

With Single player DLC already in the pipeline the future of Columbia is set to remain bright.
77 Comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
This game blew my mind! I haven't played the other BioShock games, but you don't have to, to understand this game. The level design was beautiful, and so was everything else about the game. The story line left me speechless for a very long time, such a good plot twist. It did however lag the latest Xbox 360 a bit, in intense fights, but it wasn't bad.
Definitely reccomend this game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

£15.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)