Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
123
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2012
Many of my favourite films have excellent stories and acting, but also have the right tone. The likes of `Fight Club', `Time Bandits' and `Willy Wonka' would not work if the directors had made them too light. Some films may become too light in tone for their subject matter, but the opposite can occur; when they find themselves too dark, `Super' is one such film. Is this a knockabout comedy about a man who decides to win back his wife's affections by donning a superhero outfit, or a film about one man's sad and lonely mental break down?

In terms of comedic moments there's not much to laugh about in `Super', but there is plenty to cry about. Rainn Wilson is excellent as the hapless Frank, not in a funny ha-ha way, but instilling the man with sadness and pathos. Ellen Page is also great as the tweaking Libby, her energy is refreshingly manic. It is a shame that the rest of the film does not live up to these performances. The likes of Bacon and Tyler come across as non-events and make the film's central angst fall flat - why would Frank care for his doped up wife?

It is not the acting that is the issue in `Super', but as mentioned, the tone. James Gunn is a director who appears to miss more than hit. Once more he is at it again with a tonal misfire. The film is far too dark and depressing to be remotely funny, yet too flippant to be considered a drama. `Kick Ass' is a similar film, with similar adult themes, but the more talented eye of Matthew Vaughn managed to balance a lightness of comedy with the darkness of the material. `Super' just comes across as grisly, depressing and cheap.

With a low budget, Gunn is not able to shoot a film that justifies BluRay. In terms of extras the making of is interesting and you can see that in the initial stages the cast and crew felt they were onto something. Unfortunately, this did not quite come about as planned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
Good film but not exactly as good as I wanted it to be. It seems to have a very rushed ending almost like they ran out of time & had to wrap it up before they had to pay the actors more. An amusing take on super hero's! Recommend watching it but don't expect to want to watch it again in a hurry after the first viewing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
I enjoyed this movie on many levels. It takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions, disgust, pity, revenge, righteousness, pathos, ridiculousness, horror, awkwardness, and stopping on humour at each step between.

Frank is pathetic, very realistic and very human. Libby is cute, excitable like a child, but at the same time, has a dark side,

The movie is violent and shocking, and at the same time moral. Those who enjoy the sex, violence & language will be off put by the Christian message. Some who will recognise the message may be put off by the darker side. Those of you who are somewhere in between, are in for a treat.

Traditionally the superheroes such as Spiderman, Daredevil, Hulk, have been physically weak characters that redeem themselves from a dark past, with selfless sacrifice, this move is in that tradition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
What would comics heroes be like in real life? a funny and realistic (so also bitter, raw and violent) comedy where there is no place for politically correctness and reassuring values and characters.
A liberating, smart and uncommon film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
This film has almost everything I enjoy, dark, well acted, decently written and humorous. It's not a comedy mind you, it just has a few funny lines and physical jokes. It also has Ellen Page. Enough said.
If there is anything I think lets it down it has to be the camera work and direction. It just seems a little lacking, as if it was shot with little no eye for composition in places. The content of the film, the writing and acting, is all good it just doesn't really look fantastic. I'm not asking for amazing stuff but some shots looked tilted or were unnecessarily shaky. It could be the look they were going for, in which case they achieved it I guess, but it's not my cup of tea.
It does do violence pretty well, it's brutal and realistic. In real life if Rainn Wilson hits you in the face with a wrench you don't get up and you will most likely be sent to hospital. The same is true in the film. It's not one for the squeamish.
It's a decent watch but don't go in expecting a comedy or a masterpiece of direction, I went in off the back of a load of hype from friends and initially came away disappointed but thinking back it is actually a fair bit better than my first impression was. Though this sounds like a negative review, it wasn't intended to be, it's just easier to poke at the flaws than it is to hype the good parts. I would recommend it to anyone who likes films that are a little bit off the main Hollywood list but not to fans of Micheal Bay. Definitely worth the £[] it costs at the moment.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
People compare this to Kick Ass, i can see similarities but both movies are a lot different. Super is a dark and humourous movie, where-as Kick Ass is a comedy.

Rainn Wilson stars as Frank, a mild mannered chap who lacks in confidence. When Jacques (Kevin Bacon) manipulates Franks ex- wife, and ex junkie (played by Liv Tyler) into going back down the slippery route, it's up to Frank to save the day. How may you ask, well he enlists the help of Libby (played by Ellen Page) who helps him gain confidence. I won't say no more, that will spoil things a bit. I did see this movie off a recommendation of a friend, i wasn't dissapointed. I actually prefer it to Kick Ass.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
Got to be the strangest film I have seen in a long time. To be honest 2o minutes in I almost turned it off, because its weird and I didn't know what to make of it. Really pleased I kept watching because it became one of the funniest films I have seen in a long time.

Frank D'Arbo, the main character played brilliantly by Rainn Wilson is a total dweeb working in a burger restaurant but some how had managed to marry Liv Tylers character Sarah. Sarah being a recovering alchoholic and drug addict down on her luck wanting a "secure" man to rebuild her life. Married life with Frank however becomes a bit dull and Sarah rediscovering her old ways falls for another man, Jacques, played by Kevin Bacon, a gangster and drug dealer who gets Sarah hooked back on drugs. Hey ho Sarah leaves Frank.

Frank being a sensitive chap prayes to God for help. Getting Sarah back is all he wants, at this point he has a "moment" when God "touches" his brain. From here on Frank in his hatred of Jacques decides to tackle crime and become a real life Super Hero, naming himself The Crimson Bolt! Frank creates his own costume and decides his weapon of choice to be an extremely large spanner! Armed with the killer phrase "SHUT UP CRIME" The Crimson Bolt then goes about tackling crime in his neighborhood. Tackling crime basically consists of him beating up villains on the street and doing serious damage with his spanner, and when I say serious I mean skulls cracking open! Yes there are parts of the film that are quite grotesque, not what you expect from a comedy. However this is not your run of the mill comedy....far from it.

It is when he meets his to become side kick Libby that the film really takes off. Libby works in Frank's local comic book store. She puts 2 and 2 together and realises Frank is The Crimson Bolt and decides she really wants to be his sidekick. After completing a hillariously side splitting audition/display of her "abilities" The Crimson Bolt decides she can assist him. Libby played by Ellen Page really makes this film and completely steals the show. Sexy and completely mad with desire for violence she "seduces" Crimson and what follows has to be the funniest/weirdest sex scene of all time! This scene alone is worth watching the whole movie for.

The duo then go about tackling crime together and the film builds to Crimsons revenge on Jacques at the finale. The ending has a real twist, really not what you would expect to happen, but again this is what makes this film stand out and makes it something you will remember.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
I didn't laugh once whilst watching this 'comedy' and just found most of it incredibly depressing. I appreciated that it was more realistic than lot of 'superhero' movies in the sense that people didn't just get up after being shot etc. There was a rape scene which everyone seems to think was ok because it was initiated by a female (NOT cool) which I found pretty upsetting. I watched this because I wanted to laugh, but ultimately felt really down afterwards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
Since buying this I've watched it three or four times with different people, and had quite mixed responses from them.
I love the film and think Rainn Wilson and Ellen Page's performances are brilliant, but the humour is very niche and could probably put a lot of people off quite easily.
If you're familiar with Rainn Wilson, you should already have a pretty good idea of what to expect. So go for it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
This trendy narrative, for regular people to fashion and don their own very badly made super hero costumes and then 'vigilante' their way into town seeking retribution is frankly , tiresome. This is the territory of Batman , simply because he has the money and therefore resources to pull it off and lets be honest , his costumes are far better. Okay, I'm being cynical , Kick Ass, one of the examples of this genre- was superb- this effort directed by James Gunn is flawed for a few key factors:Firstly, Frank ( Rainn Wilson)is not just your average Joe,he's a desperate loser who hooked up with a heroine addict/alcoholic ( Tyler) who used him in a moment of sobberness.Soon she's found solace in a seedy drug peddlar/user ( Bacon), where she spends most of the film looking like a junkie/whore. But- 'Frank' wants her back- really? Frank finds solace in comic books and subsequently its sales-girl Libby( Page), who is an adrenaline junkie with very violent tendencies. Admittedly , there are some weird funny moments and some interesting fantastical filming segues which are reminiscent of Scott Pilgrim vs. The World-but these just confirm what the audience suspects anyway, that Frank is a sick puppy.
Secondly , the violence and revenge toting are quite horrific and over the top- ( hence the 18 rating)- and the biggest faux-pas of all- is that after all the killing, maiming etc.- Frank doesn't get the girl-? ... and alone in his tiny apartment with a wall covered with drawings- just like a police mock-up of a serial killers lair...quite sad really-
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)