Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2011
I have now read all the Nathan Heller series and pretty much liked them all. He is the archetypal private eye who interacts with real crimes and real people from history. Max Allan Collins treads a thin line but magnificently well in telling real life stories through his fictional detective.
Great stories really well told and at a great price! If, like me, you are not rich but have a book addiction then here's a way to keep the monsters at bay a bit longer.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
I'm working my way through all the Nate Heller novels and so far not one dud. I do like the way Max Allan Colins interweaves a fictional account in a factual backdrop, no one does it better. If you like Dashiel Hammett or Raymond Chandler these are the books or you.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
great read,
great story and keeps the reader(ME!) interested from start to finish.
Well written
Highly rated and is recommended
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
I found this book as intriging as all the Heller books. Nat is the sme tough and virile character again!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
I quite enjoyed this but didn't find it a rivetting read. Kept picking it up and putting it down - and reading another story in between so proably a sign I didn't enjoy it all that much. Don't know if I'll read any more of this authors books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Excellent. Philip Marlowe for the MidWEst and a decade or so earlier. Fascinating period - Chicago early 30s - and Collins stitches his fictional character and the real people of the time - John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Pretty Boy Floyd - with complete authenticity. Next step: get my hands on everything he's ever done. Fab stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
I love this style of writing and the story line just keeps on chugging along. Will definitely be reading more of the Heller series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
A REALY GOOD READ WAS A BIT DOUBTFUL AS I HAVE
NOT READ A BOOK BY THIS WRITER BEFORE BUT ENJOYED
IT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Enjoyed this book which is easy to read and is entertaining. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed the style and the voice. Great fun. Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse