Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2011
Thanks AngryDad for pointing to me to Amazon.com for a complete list of tracks. There are also a couple of helpful reviews there from folk who have heard this bargain release. Here are the tracks ....enjoy!... :-

1. You Send Me
2. The Lonesome Road
3. Tammy
4. Ol' Man River
5. Moonlight In Vermont
6. Canadian Sunset
7. Summertime (Part 1)
8. Around The World
9. Ain't Misbehavin'
10. The Bells Of St Mary's
11. So Long
12. Danny Boy
13. That Lucky Old Sun
14. I'll Come Running Back To You
15. Forever
16. Desire Me
17. Oh Look At Me Now
18. Someday
19. Along The Navaho Trail
20. Running Wild
21. Accentuate The Positive
22. Mary, Mary Lou
23. When I Fall In Love
24. I Cover The Waterfront
25. My Foolish Heart
26. Today I Sing The Blues
27. The Gipsy
28. It's The Talk Of The Town
29. God Bless The Child
30. She's Funny That Way
31. I've Got A Right To Sing The Blues
32. Good Morning, Heartache
33. Ain't Nobody's Bizness (If I Do)
34. Comes Love
35. Lover Girl
36. Let's Call The Whole Thing Off
37. Lover Come Back To Me
38. Solitude
39. The Can't Take That Away From Me
40. Crazy In Love With You
41. Only Sixteen
42. All Of My Life
43. Everybody Loves To Cha Cha
44. Blue Moon
45. Win Your Love For Me
46. Lonely Island
47. You Send Me
48. Love You Most Of All
49. For Sentimental Reasons
50. The Little Things You Do
51. Let's Go Steady Again
52. You Were Mad For Me
53. Summertime (Part 2)
54. There I've Said It Again
55. I Thank God
56. That's Heaven To Me
57. Steal Away
58. Deep River
59. Far Away Places
60. Under Pairs Skies
61. South Of The Border
62. Bali Ha'i
63. The Coffee Song
64. Arrivederci, Roma
65. London By Night
66. Jamaica Farewell
67. Galway Bay
68. Sweet Leilani
69. Japanese Farewell Song
70. The House I Live In
71. No One (Can Ever Take Your Place)
72. Teenage Sonata
73. Wonderful World
74. Sad Mood
75. Hey There
76. Mona Lisa
77. Too Young
78. The Great Pretender
79. You You You
80. Unchained Melody
81. The Wayward Wind
82. Secret Love
83. The Song From The Moulin Rouge
84. I'm Walking Behind You
85. Cry
86. Venus
87. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
88. I'm Just a Country Boy
89. They Call The Wind Mariah
90. Twilight On The Trail
91. If I Had You
92. Chain Gang
93. Grandfathers Clock
94. I Dream Of Jeanie With The Light Brown Hair
95. Pray
96. Long Long Ago
97. You Belong To Me
98. Goin' Home
33 comments| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 May 2013
This is one of a series of releases from the Real Gone label, featuring classic artists of the past. Each release typically reissues a handful of what were originally albums by the relevant artist, alongside a smattering of non-album single releases. This one is particularly good value in that it is basically the first 8 albums that Sam Cooke released (on the Keen label and also on RCA). I can only assume that these collections are only possible because they fall under the 50-year 'public domain' - which means that they can be reissued by anyone who has the means to do so, without either the artist's or the label's permission. Whatever, as with all of the 'Real Gone' releases, the sound quality is excellent, and with a voice like Sam Cooke's, can be enjoyed over and over again. Only down side is the lack of an information booklet- or any information at all, but these are such good value at the price that it seems a minor quibble. I would have liked some reproduction of the album covers (maybe those ARE copyrighted?) but all of that can be found on the web after a quick search.
I like these releases a lot, in that they present the tracks in the same running order as the albums would have been, and are basically an instant record collection of great artists of the past, at a fraction of the price of an 'official' boxset collection. Recommended +++++
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
I agree that it would be useful if Amazon put the track listings on here, but I've done a bit of digging around online and found the box set on another site (for quite a bit more money) and this is what they say: "Contains the albums 'Sam Cooke', 'Encore', 'Tribute to the Lady', 'Hit Kit', 'I Thank God', 'Cooke's Tour', 'Hits of the 50s', 'Swing Low', plus bonus singles. 118 tracks." On that basis, and given Cooke's status as one of the true greats of soul and gospel, I'd say this must warrant 5 stars, wouldn't you ?
11 comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
I agree with the earlier post "Middle of the Road" - this material is definitely MOR and deliberately so, and it is not really representative of Sam Cooke's style or work. If you are a purist, then Cooke's best vocal performances were on his gospel hits on Specialty, before he went pop, or live albums like Live at the Harlem Square Club. For a good selection of his more mainstream work, Man and his Music would be a better album to go for. It includes the three classics June mentions (especially Change is Gonna Come, which is one of the greatest songs ever written, and was covered by all the soul legends) plus other late hits like That's Where It's At, which shows the direction Cooke was taking, just before his untimely death.

Coming back to this album, it is an interesting document of Cooke's attempt to cross over to a white audience. What is often forgotten about Cooke is that, like Nat King Cole and others, he was at the absolute vanguard of black crossover artists.These songs represent his attempt to sell himself to a white, supper club audience. The same thing was done with Marvin Gaye in his early Motown years, and Aretha Franklin at Columbia, before Atlantic gave her the chance to do her natural thing.

To some extent, Cooke's mainstream work (Cupid, Only Sixteen, etc) was part of the same process. That is why it annoys me when people say that Otis Redding was a greater artist. For me he was riding on the back of the progress made by Cooke and Ray Charles, and by 1966 black artists were able to achieve great commercial success performing in their own natural style. Plus Redding, and many others, had some of their early hits covering Sam Cooke songs.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
If you want to see track listings for these series of albums "8 classic ..." try the amazon.com site! For some reason amazon uk can't be bothered to cut and paste them over.
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2011
It seems that AMAZON want to sell their CD's but they hardly ever bother to provide track lists these days. This is called '8 classic albums plus' but AMAZON say it only consists of ONE CD!!!!! Please, if you want us to buy your product, please make an effort to provide the potential buyer with the info you could get in a shop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
55 comments| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Such a wonderful dreamy selection of songs I could listen to all day. Many are more familiar by other artists, Nat King Cole etc, but Sam Cooke's smooth voice is so easy to listen to you soon forget an association with any other & just wallow in the wonderful melodies.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
I have enjoyed the late Sam Cook 's songs since they first came out, usually on 45rpm singles. At the time I could not afford the albums even if I could find them. In the UK, that was almost impossible anyway. The albums featured here contain loads of fine material that I have never heard. There are also later songs which are not on this collection which I hope appear on a subsequent collection. Hopefully his magnificent 50's gospel (pre crossover) work with the Soul Stirrers will also appear sometime. Musically, Cook presents every song in his own flawless and individual way. Sometimes you feel that the record company dictated the repertoire and sometimes the 'standard studio orchestra' does not add anything to Cook's incredible voice. Cook was one of the 'soul pioneers' to whom many artists have since tried to emulate. It is such a shame that some of these bland imitators of soul that you here these days get far more recognition than the genuinly 'late, great' Cook.
A small qualification to my review was felt to be appropriate after 3 or 4 listenings and a comparison of some with the originanal pressings on vinyl. It would seem that some tracks may be a bit over-processed. This has had a little effect on the tonal quality of Cook's incredible tenor voice. I still await the next batch of re-releases by this company.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
This set completed my collection. Previously I only had 'The best of Sam Cooke' and the Keen discs 'Tribute' and 'Encore'. I have several Real Gone box sets and am satisfied with the audio remastering. ( The Cooke set is not available on AMAZON U.S.A. which is why I also shop the U.K. site)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Sam Cooke is one of my all time favourites and although there is a lot more easy listening Jazz rather than the Chain Gang music but this does confirm what a beautiful soul voice this man had. What a shame he died so young!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)