Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
Chopin: The Complete Waltzes
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 9 October 2015
Winner of the Diapason d'Or Award. Brilliant playing, poetic interpretations. Technical wizzardy used for great poetic effect, and not to call attention to itself. The delicate structural beauty of these works is made to shine like stunning edifices in the sun. These interpretations will carry you away into another dimension of reality and beauty.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2011
In this recording, Stephen Hough has really surpassed himself. He plays the Waltzes in such a deliciously elegant and playful way, it's a joy from start to finish. You can practically sense how much Hough is enjoying himself throughout these pieces. Another thing is that he brings out so many felicitous details and makes the pieces really sound fresh, yet this never sounds like self-conscious 'interpretation'. Until now I've been swearing by Rubinstein, Ashkenazy and Alexandre Tharaud in the Waltzes. Not any more - the top spot is occupied solely by Stephen Hough, and I say that as someone who is not always convinced by Hough's playing.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2011
We expect excellent musicianship from Stephen hough, and here we are not disapointed. Extreme clarity and perfect articulation result in a wonderful performance of the waltzes.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2016
It arrived as promised. Well packed, on time, good quality. It made my journey down the motorway today much better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2014
This CD had terrific reviews in the press when it was released, and it does not disappoint. Stephen Hough's playing is touch perfect and beautiful to listen to. You must have this in your collection!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 October 2011
It's a shame that Chopin's waltzes are often overlooked by pianists seeking to record Chopin's music, so it's good to see the issue being addressed here. An excellent CD which I would highly recommend. A valuable addition to anyone's CD collection.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2011
This is such a new interpretation of the Chopin waltzes and it is exciting to hear it.

Stephen Hough is truly one of the great pianists of today and this is one for the collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2016
Acceptable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2013
I love Steven Hough. His play is very in details and lots of heart. I am going to listening to him at Barbican on 19th this month. Really looking forward.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2011
Stephen Hough is a wonderful pianist and this record is a delight. On the strength of it I have ordered other CDs by him through Amazon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here