Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 December 2011
This book has a wonderful blend of humour, science-fiction and magic. I highly recommend it to any fans of sci-fi/fantasy books with a quirky sense of humour. This book is very reasonably priced for such a fun read, and although personally I got it free from Smashwords, I would definitely pay for it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
I found the book a bit unusual at first, mainly due to references in the book being different to what we would expect. It did take a bit of getting used to, but when I had got used to them, the book took a life of its own and I was always wanting to find out what happened next.

Would recommend this book, but would warn the reader to persevere at first and you will enjoy it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2012
I got my Kindle at Christmas and have enjoyed browsing through the various freebies out there. Most have been woeful, some good, and some better. As a Fantasy/SF fan this is probably the best one I have found so far.

The bad first. You're going to need to suspend your disbelief a fair bit. Air bubbles around everything? Ships in space? Hmmmm. It also wheels out a fair few fantasy tropes, including half elves, stuck up elves and Dwarves with a miners accents (though this time it was Welsh rather than Scottish. I imagined him with the voice of friends as I'm Welsh, it entertained me).

But don't hold any of that against it! It is easily one of the most entertaining reads I have read, paid and free combined, and is far better than any other free Kindle book I've found.

It is strikingly similar in concept to Firefly (it even has some enemy ships in it that are called firefly). With plenty of episodes based on jobs that you could easily imagine the Firefly crew doing.

In fact it reads as a series of episodes. Whilst there is an undercurrent of a plot (that presumably gets increased in later books), for the most part the action is in a series of episodes that build on the feeling of the crew.

And it works. I tend to prefer 'epic fantasy', with nations against nations. There are hints of that going on, but these episodes grip and entertain you.

This is not a book without flaws, but it is a book that is great fun, gives you interesting characters and is well worth a read. Personally the technique of hooking you with book 1 has worked on me, I'll be buying number 2. But even if you have no intention of it, this book is well worth a read. And for free, you can't go wrong!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I got this book as it sounded like my kind of story, sci-fi but with swashbuckling piratesque undertones.
The story starts well with character building and a strange feeling of acceptability of sailing ships flying through space, a strange concept but give it a chance, it does work. The storyline is quite good and all the players are believable and reachable. Killing off a main character in the first book of a series is a brave thing to do by the author, but. Even that didn't distract from what is an enjoyable read.
I gave it four stars as there are a number of typing mistakes and grammar issues, saying that, you can read through them and I'd be happy to read the next instalment of the series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Women are unable to go for more than 5 pages without their heaving well endowed boobs popping out. And then another female is added and another and every fight seems to blow only the women's clothes off. Bit where elf woman shaves her vagina with a dagger in front of two blokes was the point I gave up.

Really tried to like it as sci-fi mixed with fantasy seemed interesting. But seems more like soft porn sure would be a favourite with teenage boys.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
This is a Sci-Fi book, with a good dose of fantasy in there as well. It works. The story is a bit episodic, each chapter almost reading as a separate adventure, and leaving a few loose ends, but I can forgive this as the whole is a very readable, solid book.
I Enjoyed it. I will be reading the follow ups too. Maybe some of those loose ends are picked up?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
The writing style was so hard to understand that it was a chore reading.
I admit I didn't get past the first 2 chapters. I've not had that since I attempted to read Twilight.
Still, it's free, so it won't cost anything to try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
Having read 11% of the way into this book nothing of any significance had happened. The suggestion of spaceships made of wood & powered with sails stretched my imagination to far. I didn't pay for this so I can't grumble to much, if you are a super-keen scifi fan you might enjoy this, but if you only occasionally read this genre this may disappoint.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
Don't be put off by the basic precept, Humans dwarfs and elves flying through space. Its ridiculous but it works. Fantastic stories in every sense of the word. Amazing variety of characters. Nothing is predictable. I am a hard and fast SciFi fan with the occasional Fantasy thrown in. I highly recommend this. I even parted with my hard earned cash for the later books despite being on Kindle unlimited. Can't wait for the next book Iread the whole series straight through from start to the latest book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
Could not finish this book which is rare for me. I understand that the author has tried to write something just a bit different by combining the fantasy and Sci Fi genres It did not quite work for me. I could not get myself involved in the universe described in the storyline and feel that the book was aimed at the 12 to 20 year old market. Nothing wrong with that but had I known that I would not have wasted my time reading even a part of this book. All the women are beautiful and wear very little The main characters are heroic and prevail against all odds yawn. The story line is predictable and the writing is just downright lazy in parts. Why do we keep getting these Amazon downloads with multiple typos per page? They are being churned out without being proof read and it is annoying and unnecessary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here