Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
27
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2012
I love the works of Wilkie Collins, it's a shame he's not so widely read these days as his contemporary Charles Dickens. The Woman in White and The Moonstone can stand up to anything else published in the 19th century, I think, and Collins's books read very well for a modern audience. You don't have all the weirdly convoluted sentences you find in Dickens all the time.
And this edition is very good value for money, too.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
Don't hesitate, just buy it! This contains not just everything Wilkie Collins wrote, but also has some notes on the works. It's worth buying just to get some of the books that are not in print - and the famous novels are not the only good ones.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
except for the American spelling that kept cropping up.

I had no idea that Wilkie Collins was such a prolific author. I have read the Moonstone but that was about it. As another reviewer pointed out, he is not so 'wordy' and drawn out as Charles Dickens and his stories really grab you right from the start. So far, I have read about 10 of them and have been very, very pleased with what I have read.

Armadale, The Woman in White and Miss Gwilt are my favourites so far.

A great non-purchase because when I downloaded it, it was FOC.

Highly recommended and not so stuffy as Dickens. Even at £0.95 this is a bargain.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
This item comprises the whole of Collins' output: 23 full-length novels, including the best-known ones and others that I had never come across before; 13 novellas and 29 stories, some of which are familiar from BBC adaptations, but which on the whole are cleverer and more subtle than the broadcasts; 9 plays, several of which were written in collaboration with Dickens, and throw light on Dickens' work; and 27 works of non-fiction which appeared in various magazines and which again throw light on what Dickens and others were interested in at the time.

Collins is an innovative writer: he virtually invented the kind of story that later became "detective fiction", and weaves intricate plots that are at the same time perceptive analyses of human psychology. He can also tell a cracking good ghost story.

If anyone knows of a better value Kindle item than this, I would be glad to know of it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
Wilkie Collins today is only best know for two works. The novels do hold up though and it is a treat to have so many works for a great price and in a package. Delphi classic work is now in colour on Kindle fire which adds to the whole. It is easy to use with contents pages taking the reader to correct place. Kindle make it easy to search and look up in dictionary. Items can be zoomed into as well. It is worth having in a kindle library for fans of Victorian literature.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
Having read A Woman in White years ago, and enjoyed it very much, I decided to buy this book. I have not been disappointed.
Wilkie Collins writes clearly and with humour. He carries the reader along with his narrative, which is not at all dated. So far I have read The Moonstone and the Rogue, which are fun to read, and I look forward to reading the rest on my kindle.
I thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
I have only recently discovered Wilkie Collins after following up a reference to him from another book, his stories are complex and interesting, sometimes a bit slow, but they were written at a time when people were not in such a rush. Most of the characters are very well developed and compelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
I love my kindle and take it everywhere; this book makes it complete.
Having previously only read the more well-known Wilkie Collins novels, I have been taken by surprise at the sheer number of his literary works.

I find his books to be something of a blend of Jane Austin and Charles Dickens (which I find difficult to read), tending to be quite long and detailed.Collins' characters are finely drawn and plots develop slowly so that by the end one has the sense of having been led gently along to the conclusion. He is also totally believable when he writes in the first person - even when that person is female.
Although on the face of it, each book is a story of romance and intrigue usually woven around a beautiful heroine, I find the underlying commentary on Victorian society fascinating and thought provoking. It is really quite meaty prose and well-worth getting to know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
Wilkie Collins is often overlooked but he's a storyteller in the Dickens class. This omnibus is a very good value source of good reading
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Enthralled the whole way through the story No Name.

What a marvelous write Wilke Collins is. If you haven't read any of his works please treat yourself. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse