Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
33
4.6 out of 5 stars
Colour Name: 500ml|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2016
For priming bathroom walls and ceiling, this really seems to do the job. The steam from showers can slowly cause top coat paint to peel from unprimed plaster, but this paint both primes and seals, providing an excellent, moisture resistant undercoat. What is more, it can be applied to pretty much any surface, plaster, wood, metal, you name it.
It isn't great in terms of opacity, so it will need a couple of coats, but once done, it is a great base and takes a top coat very nicely.
One tin is likely to be more than enough for any project as it goes a heck of a long way. My bathroom is probably medium sized and got two coats on walls and ceiling, yet it took barely a quarter of the tin, so don't worry if it seems a little pricey because there is a lot for the money, and for what it does it really is worth it. It also dries swiftly, being touch dry in half an hour, the second coat after an hour, and the top coat can then go on after another hour. That makes very short work of things.
There are, however, a couple of cautions with this paint, both of which stem from it's positives. The first is it's adhesion to any surface. If you get it on your skin wipe it off immediately or you will be spending a lot of time with a pumice stone later, and trying to get it off from under nails is not fun.
The second is it's ability to go a long way. It really does. It is so runny it tries to go a REALLY long way. Like, everywhere.
It's great actually applying it on the wall or ceiling, but I've never used a paint try so hard to fly off a brush like this stuff does. It really is alarmingly runny and drips like crazy from a brush, so I would highly recommend making sure that you cover everything except the place(s) you actually want the paint applied to, ideally with plastic dust sheets. And make sure you cover yourself too, because it is hard enough to get off skin unless you do it immediately, heaven forbid it gets in your hair. And as for using a roller to apply it, well, I'd rather not even imagine that. The strange thing is that it washes from brushes really easily, just water and washing up liquid.
Those minor drawbacks aside, once you get used to it it is a top class primer perfect for a bathroom, and probably any other job. Maybe just buy a pumice stone with it, just in case.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Great service from the seller - product arrived securely and well packaged.

Great product too - used on bathroom ceiling to cover area that has been filled where paint had flaked away. I'd previously used a specialist bathroom paint and found it to be inadequate and so after doing some on-line research I settled on this product. Simply shake well and apply a couple of coats. It provides a matt white finish that is just perfect for bathroom ceiling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
This is great stuff and the customer service from the retailer first rate. I had a problem priming bathroom tiles. Wondered what I'd done wrong. Emailed the seller and received a thorough phone call explaining exactly what you need to do. Tiles are possible btw, you just need to prepare them well before with methylated spirits, as it cleans then dries v quick afterwards. I'd used soap & water and even a small residual bit of moisture is enough to ruin your work. I tested the method on a single tile today, using the meth spirit method, stirred the pot well, applied, left to dry for 1 hr, then same again for another coat. Then after waiting a few hrs left the tile in the shower area and ran a long hot shower, steam everywhere. While the rest of my tiles are horrendous and will need a huge effort to correct (not looking forward to that), this one little tile, rode the steamy storm with no problems!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
Great product. Needed to prepare a galvanised metal pole and the coverage is fantastic. 4 sides of a 2.4m pole with 3 coats (for good measure) when only two were needed - more than 1/2 of 500ml tin left. Applied with a roller without issue, it would need diluting/thinning if you wanted to spray it on. Washup with warm soap was trivial - very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 November 2014
Very easy to work with and you can just wash brushes/rollers out with water. Quick drying times: touch dry in 30 mins and re-coatable in 1 hour.

Used it to overpaint a pedestal draw unit of the beech-laminate-effect variety without any prior surface preparation other than removing dust. Two coats of this and two of the top coat, job done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
This is an amazing product. I moved to a house where the old wood fire surround had been stained an awful colour and the tiles were old fashioned and drab. Painted over both twice, and then emulsioned twice. Looks great, and only took a couple of hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
It was first time I had used this product and I would say It does exactly what it says on the tin.I used it to paint over a melamine coated work top and was very pleased with the result.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
Was expecting it to cover in one coat and provide a base for a top coat on some old oak furniture. Needed two coats and then three top coats so disappointed with the outcome. I feel I should have use the oil based version. Came very well packed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Great cover on varnished wood but streaky so takes a couple of under coats to prepare for top coat.
I wouuld highly recommend the paint.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Just have to let you know that the person who developed this deserves a knighthood. It is brilliant. I had skirting boards & door frame in a glossy-antique-pine-glossy finish. It was time it all went. 2 coats of this plus my top coat all done on 3 hours !!! If the surface has no bumps then there is no need to sand at all. Just brush this primer on & wait an hour. It is then ready for its second coat. I am now confident to tackle my fire surround which will have s sandstone sprayed finish. The two coats only used less than an inch of the tin & does go a long way. Buy some now & you wont regret it. It saves so much time & will stop all of those daunting jobs which you loath to start. Arrived very quickly. I have also purchased a different Zinsser for my lounge ceiling. Review on that to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)