Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
74
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2011
I must admit to never have heard of Frank Turner until this years festivals.
I was just flicking through the channels and saw Frank's set from Reading/Leeds and was blown away, and I went out and ordered this CD.
I was not disappointed and went on to but the other three studio albums.
Having read a lot of other reviews, I feel a little bit of shame that i didnt hear of this guy before, he is most definitely the best artist of his kind at the moment and the songs he writes are truly inspiring, melodic, cheeky and every other superlative that you can think of. Its intelligent and moving and makes you want to have a beer and realise that it aint so bad after all.

Eulogy, will be on my headstone when I am done on this world !
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
I, a Wessex born southern boy have been a fan of Mr Turner's since the days of the Railway. Whilst his last album was a foray into the heavier side of life; England Keep My Bones is classic Frank folk through and through, him doing what he does best. There is not a weak song in here. We have personal lyrics and exquisite guitar. This is absolutely an album up there with, what I think is his best, Love Ire and Song. Frank is a God.Love Ire and Song
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 April 2015
I am currently going through some kind of Frank Turner fan-boy phase in a big way, and his fourth studio album, 2011's 'England Keep My Bones' is currently on heavy rotation. As with all this man's releases, the guy has made brilliant record of folk/rock music that will inspire, encourage and motivate. The songs here are the kind that you'll want listen to if you have a bad day to lift you up again. Songs so powerful that they almost make you feel reborn.

Many of the tracks here deal with the theme of protest and survival, and the master singer/songwriter, as always, pays his respects to his past loves, countrymen, and musical rock idols that came before him. The opener 'Eulogy' is an epic, with a great, positive message that I will take on board, the soulful 'Peggy Sang the Blues' is further proof of this guy's genius, and 'I Still Believe', which has a pretty straight forward meaning, music save us, specifically rock and roll, and how true that is.

Frank is an atheist, and some of the songs here are anti-religion, some of which are more subtle than others. I'm not an atheist myself, but I respect his views, and they don't prevent from playing this disc on repeat at all, my one expectation is 'Glory Hallelujah', the complete opposite of a church hymn which I have to be in the mood for.

Enjoy 'England Keep My Bones' as much as I do, as we anticipatedly wait for this next album due to be released later in the year. Many thanks Mr. Turner!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
Now I am not going to pretend that I have been following Frank Turner since he first appeared on stage, singing in his Junior school end of term play. However, I am going to wax lyrical about the greatness of his latest offering. I stumbled upon his wonderful live presence whilst waiting for James at last years' Latitude and he ended up as my highlight of the day.

As for this album, it is full of clever lyrics and choruses that you just want to shout out of the window of your car as you fly along a dull dual carriageway (within the legal speed limits ofcourse!). It is also full of historical references-which I love-few albums have a song about William Rufus in them (English Curse).

At the risk of upsetting the purist fans (but for the benefit of those who have yet to buy a Frank Turner album) this album is reminiscent of Billy Bragg's album about Englishness...with a touch of the Levellers' early albums. Heavier, and not quite as good as "Love, Ire & Song" but still brimming with sing-along anthemic classics. "I Still Believe" deserves to be sung by a crowd of thousands whilst songs like "Rivers", "Song for Eva Mae"(bonus song on the limited edition version) and "I am Disappeared" can be enjoyed at home, with a pint of ale, roaring fire and tear in one's eye. "Redemption" is what those prone to emotional openness would call 'beautiful' and just another facet of this varied album.

I was going to give this album 4 stars as it is less amazing than "Love, Ire & Song"...then I thought that this was unfair. This is Frank Turner's second best album. I will give "Love, Ire and Song" 6 out of 5!
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
I loved 'Wessex Boy' when I first heard it, but I'm not one to buy an album on the back of hearing one track. But then when the first play of 'I Still Believe' reached my ears, I was straight on Amazon. So glad I bought it - one of those CDs where you turn up the volume a bit with each new track, until there just is no more up! It's inspiring, it's patriotic, it makes you move, and 'English Curse' is an absolute goosebumps song. Turner's voice is strong and passionate, and I'm off to find some of his other albums. Brilliant CD :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
Everything I had ever purchased by Frank Turner previously had been great, which is probably why I took so long to decide to buy "England Keep My Bones" - I was worried that it wouldn't live up to my high expectations...and I was right to be worried. Don't get me wrong - there are some very good songs on this album, but it just doesn't have that special something that Frank Turner is usually so good at producing - the feeling it gives you isn't quite as deep as it was on "Sleep is for the Week" or "Love, Ire and Song". Some of it feels a bit fake, like he's trying too hard. But there are also a handful of absolute gems to be found - "Rivers", "English Curse" and "If I Ever Stray" are fantastic examples of what Frank Turner can produce when he's on top form.
Overall it's a good album - nothing more, nothing less.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
I only heard of Frank Turner as he'd been booked to headline the Beautiful Days festival in August.. So I thought I'd better see who this guy was! I first ventured onto Spotify and listened to Wessex Boy which was the most 'popular' one on there, loving that I then listened to I am disappeared which is unbelievably good! I then purchased the cd. After around 2 months of listening to nothing but Frank Turner and his back catalogue I am kicking myself for not getting into this sooner. This album is by far the best thing I've heard in the last 3 years and knocks the spots of any of that commercial rubbish around. Genuine decent tunes with lyrics you can relate to. If you like your rock/country/folk with a bit of a punkish feel, Frank's your man!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
Fab album I love it and can't wait to see Frank Turner again live! Eulogy is my favourite!!
However only 4 stars due to scratches and marks on the album cover when I received it, it had no clear cover which was surprising!
But well worth the listen!
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
This is an awesome combination of angry shouty punk that still sounds very Frank Turner, like in I am Disappeared, but also some great folky Englishy songs like the ones from Love Ire & Song, like Rivers and Wessex Boy. And then there's Glory Hallelujah, which is an epic atheist tune and possibly my favourite...Then again, my favourite changes every time I listen to the album. The only one off the Rock 'n Roll EP is I Still Believe, which sounds amazing on the record, but even better live when there's a bunch of you yelling it. :D It's definitely getting the deluxe version, because the extra tracks are just as good as the ones on the album. If you have been listening to Frank Turner for a while and like his stuff, buy this album. If you like folk/punk/bluesy rocky stuff, buy this album. If you like music you should get it. I promise you will enjoy it. A LOT. :D
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 June 2013
I'm one of the latecomers to the Frank Turner scene - stumbling upon the brilliant 'Love Ire & Song' far too many years too late. To be honest, any curious new-potential fans should also stop by that album first, as it's much quicker to get into and the style is a bit, shall we say, lighter. Whilst the more hard-core fans seemed to have taken to this album instantly (credit to you, you got to enjoy this sooner!)... I found that it took a few attempts to really get into it. The sound is a lot bigger and bolder, where Frank's supporting band are playing a considerably more prominent role - And Frank himself is taking his style to a more 'stadium' level, which dilutes the lighter folky edge from the previous album. Not that this is necessarily a bad thing... but it's enough of a change that it can feel unusual at first. To be honest, the start of the album is perhaps the trickiest, as that brings forth more of the anthems and stadium tracks - which will feel like the greatest contrast to Frank's earlier work

My only real gripe with the album is that lyrically, the songs lack the punch of his earlier work. It's more the topics... the gist of a good handful is "I love England. It is home". Whilst not bad, it lacks the sticking power of 'Long Live The Queen', 'Reasons Not To Be An Idiot' and such - which carried with them far more powerful messages, which were a large part of Frank Turner's appeal

What I will say is, if you're going to go for the album: Go for the Deluxe DVD Edition. It comes packed with 3 additional songs, which are absolutely brilliant. In fact I'd say that 2 of them are some of the best on the album. So it's well worth chipping in that little extra to nab them

1. Eulogy - Totally an in-your-face opener at a concert to get things rolling! Less of a song, more something to proudly shout at everyone
2. Peggy Sang The Blues - This pretty much shows off the new style. There's a lot more instruments at play and it's very stadium-esque. Quite decent
3. I Still Believe - Clearly the anthem of the track. Big, bold and one built for huge crowds to join in
4. Rivers - This should appeal to the retro fans. An elegant acoustic-guitar driven track. A little reminder that the charm of Love Ire & Song hasn't been left out
5. I Am Disappeared - I'm still not sure about this one. Bold and quite rocky with a good chorus - but it seems to lack an edge
6. English Curse - A spoken curse and a little bit of English history. Personally it's just a filler
7. One Foot Before The Other - Certainly the heaviest song on the album with quite a dark, almost punkesque sound to it. It's not bad, but certainly more stadium-orientated
8. If Ever I Stray - A very charming, upbeat and all-round fun song. It's hard not to dance to this one... the beat is just so jumpy!
9. Wessex Boy - Easily my all-time favourite on the album. A brilliant collection of guitars with an almost Irish-folk feel to it. The mid-8/bridge is utterly gorgeous. A real feel-good piece
10. Nights Become Days - A quaint little piece. It feels a bit underwhelming after 'Wessex Boy', but is pleasant enough
11. Redemption - A bit more of a sombre 'I Am Disappeared'. The piano on the chorus is a very nice touch
12. Glory Hallelujah - This one's very clever. It's ultimately the style of those "clap because Jesus loves you" choir songs - But with a solid rock-kick up the backside. Brilliant lyrics and a valid observation on religion

The bonus ones you can (and should) get in the Deluxe Edition. I'd say that these really hark back to Frank Turner's earlier style

13. A Song For Eva Mae - This one is absolutely beautiful. Pretty much just Frank and the acoustic guitar - A divine song for his god-daughter
14. Wanderlust - A mournful, yet driving song. You can almost imagine coasting along the road to this one. It's darkly delightful
15. Bathazar, Impresario - One of my favourites. It's deceptively simple, but a fitting closer to the album with a brilliant resonant chorus. The strings are a perfect accompliment

So overall, it's a fine album! It needs a bit more patience than 'Live Ire & Song' but is almost just as rewarding!

Peace
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)