Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 22 August 2017
Bought this album originally a few years ago. And then he played a couple of songs from it at the Olympic opening ceremony.... AWESOME!!! Great story telling, raw, emotive and rocking!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
This is brilliant. I've Not long since found frank but I love him already on a mission to own every cd/album he's done
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
This is an awesome combination of angry shouty punk that still sounds very Frank Turner, like in I am Disappeared, but also some great folky Englishy songs like the ones from Love Ire & Song, like Rivers and Wessex Boy. And then there's Glory Hallelujah, which is an epic atheist tune and possibly my favourite...Then again, my favourite changes every time I listen to the album. The only one off the Rock 'n Roll EP is I Still Believe, which sounds amazing on the record, but even better live when there's a bunch of you yelling it. :D It's definitely getting the deluxe version, because the extra tracks are just as good as the ones on the album. If you have been listening to Frank Turner for a while and like his stuff, buy this album. If you like folk/punk/bluesy rocky stuff, buy this album. If you like music you should get it. I promise you will enjoy it. A LOT. :D
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
I must admit to never have heard of Frank Turner until this years festivals.
I was just flicking through the channels and saw Frank's set from Reading/Leeds and was blown away, and I went out and ordered this CD.
I was not disappointed and went on to but the other three studio albums.
Having read a lot of other reviews, I feel a little bit of shame that i didnt hear of this guy before, he is most definitely the best artist of his kind at the moment and the songs he writes are truly inspiring, melodic, cheeky and every other superlative that you can think of. Its intelligent and moving and makes you want to have a beer and realise that it aint so bad after all.

Eulogy, will be on my headstone when I am done on this world !
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 April 2015
I am currently going through some kind of Frank Turner fan-boy phase in a big way, and his fourth studio album, 2011's 'England Keep My Bones' is currently on heavy rotation. As with all this man's releases, the guy has made brilliant record of folk/rock music that will inspire, encourage and motivate. The songs here are the kind that you'll want listen to if you have a bad day to lift you up again. Songs so powerful that they almost make you feel reborn.

Many of the tracks here deal with the theme of protest and survival, and the master singer/songwriter, as always, pays his respects to his past loves, countrymen, and musical rock idols that came before him. The opener 'Eulogy' is an epic, with a great, positive message that I will take on board, the soulful 'Peggy Sang the Blues' is further proof of this guy's genius, and 'I Still Believe', which has a pretty straight forward meaning, music save us, specifically rock and roll, and how true that is.

Frank is an atheist, and some of the songs here are anti-religion, some of which are more subtle than others. I'm not an atheist myself, but I respect his views, and they don't prevent from playing this disc on repeat at all, my one expectation is 'Glory Hallelujah', the complete opposite of a church hymn which I have to be in the mood for.

Enjoy 'England Keep My Bones' as much as I do, as we anticipatedly wait for this next album due to be released later in the year. Many thanks Mr. Turner!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 June 2013
It's rare these days for anyone to create an album on a theme, but this one - written by master lyricist Frank Turner about his love for England - is beautifully crafted, and makes me more patriotic than I have felt for a long time.

If you're new to Frank Turner, prepare yourself for a wonderful selection of poetic and profound lyrics, which will uplift you, make you shiver and occasionally make you well up. Well, that's what you'll do if you're anything like me or the hundreds of thousands who have been converted to followers by his constant touring and the constant and improving quality of his songwriting.

If you're not new to Frank, but don't buy this album: on release, it felt to me like perhaps his best work, even if the far more raw Love Ire & Song [Explicit] perhaps means more to me personally. The songwriting is taken to a new level, and in making the songs - deliberately or not - centre around his love for England, this feels like a true album: something that should be consumed as a whole.

There are numerous highlights, starting with the singles: the stomping Peggy Sang The Blues, the catchy, live favourite If Ever I Stray, the beautiful Wessex Boy - an ode to having a truly British home town - and the spectacular anthem I Still Believe, made extra famous by its broadcast as part of the Olympic open ceremony. But of course the true quality of an album like this is in the album tracks, and this one is singularly spectacular: from the mini opening track, Eulogy to the awesome closer, Glory Hallelujah, via the soaring I Am Disappeared and stomping One Foot Before The Other, this is superb.

It's no exaggeration to say Frank Turner has had a profound effect on my life, and this is a superb place to start, continue or complete your Frank collection.

(Oh, and as a post-script, if you can get the deluxe edition, the extra tracks that come with that are well worth a few extra quid: the lovely Song For Eva Mae, written about his goddaughter, the heart-wrendingly sad Wanderlust, the soaring and brilliant Balthazar, Impresario - containing some of my favourite Frank lyrics so far - and sometimes the starkly simple Sailor's Boots.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 June 2013
I'm one of the latecomers to the Frank Turner scene - stumbling upon the brilliant 'Love Ire & Song' far too many years too late. To be honest, any curious new-potential fans should also stop by that album first, as it's much quicker to get into and the style is a bit, shall we say, lighter. Whilst the more hard-core fans seemed to have taken to this album instantly (credit to you, you got to enjoy this sooner!)... I found that it took a few attempts to really get into it. The sound is a lot bigger and bolder, where Frank's supporting band are playing a considerably more prominent role - And Frank himself is taking his style to a more 'stadium' level, which dilutes the lighter folky edge from the previous album. Not that this is necessarily a bad thing... but it's enough of a change that it can feel unusual at first. To be honest, the start of the album is perhaps the trickiest, as that brings forth more of the anthems and stadium tracks - which will feel like the greatest contrast to Frank's earlier work

My only real gripe with the album is that lyrically, the songs lack the punch of his earlier work. It's more the topics... the gist of a good handful is "I love England. It is home". Whilst not bad, it lacks the sticking power of 'Long Live The Queen', 'Reasons Not To Be An Idiot' and such - which carried with them far more powerful messages, which were a large part of Frank Turner's appeal

What I will say is, if you're going to go for the album: Go for the Deluxe DVD Edition. It comes packed with 3 additional songs, which are absolutely brilliant. In fact I'd say that 2 of them are some of the best on the album. So it's well worth chipping in that little extra to nab them

1. Eulogy - Totally an in-your-face opener at a concert to get things rolling! Less of a song, more something to proudly shout at everyone
2. Peggy Sang The Blues - This pretty much shows off the new style. There's a lot more instruments at play and it's very stadium-esque. Quite decent
3. I Still Believe - Clearly the anthem of the track. Big, bold and one built for huge crowds to join in
4. Rivers - This should appeal to the retro fans. An elegant acoustic-guitar driven track. A little reminder that the charm of Love Ire & Song hasn't been left out
5. I Am Disappeared - I'm still not sure about this one. Bold and quite rocky with a good chorus - but it seems to lack an edge
6. English Curse - A spoken curse and a little bit of English history. Personally it's just a filler
7. One Foot Before The Other - Certainly the heaviest song on the album with quite a dark, almost punkesque sound to it. It's not bad, but certainly more stadium-orientated
8. If Ever I Stray - A very charming, upbeat and all-round fun song. It's hard not to dance to this one... the beat is just so jumpy!
9. Wessex Boy - Easily my all-time favourite on the album. A brilliant collection of guitars with an almost Irish-folk feel to it. The mid-8/bridge is utterly gorgeous. A real feel-good piece
10. Nights Become Days - A quaint little piece. It feels a bit underwhelming after 'Wessex Boy', but is pleasant enough
11. Redemption - A bit more of a sombre 'I Am Disappeared'. The piano on the chorus is a very nice touch
12. Glory Hallelujah - This one's very clever. It's ultimately the style of those "clap because Jesus loves you" choir songs - But with a solid rock-kick up the backside. Brilliant lyrics and a valid observation on religion

The bonus ones you can (and should) get in the Deluxe Edition. I'd say that these really hark back to Frank Turner's earlier style

13. A Song For Eva Mae - This one is absolutely beautiful. Pretty much just Frank and the acoustic guitar - A divine song for his god-daughter
14. Wanderlust - A mournful, yet driving song. You can almost imagine coasting along the road to this one. It's darkly delightful
15. Bathazar, Impresario - One of my favourites. It's deceptively simple, but a fitting closer to the album with a brilliant resonant chorus. The strings are a perfect accompliment

So overall, it's a fine album! It needs a bit more patience than 'Live Ire & Song' but is almost just as rewarding!

Peace
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
I didn't know what to expect from this album but what I found was a treasure trove of wonderfully crafted songs, sung brilliantly by a man who's voice is unique and perfect for the style he sings in.

The songs themselves are rousing,heart-warming thoroughly British; Eulogy, Rivers, I Still Believe and If Ever I Stray are wonderful and delight that should soak into you like the English Summer Rain and the very sea that surrounds this Sceptred Isle. There is nothing in Frank Turner's music that could be considered to be more than retrospective of a home loved by a child and remembered as an adult; this album fills and illuminates the dark corners of every soul.

A pure delight, this album is one that lightens the dullest of days and leaves one with a feeling of hope, of history and purpose. This album should be the soundtrack for our Green and Pleasant Land!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2011
I've been a fan of Frank Turner's for a few years and really enjoy his previous albums. But this feels like he may just have grown up a bit! There's a good mix of songs on here - "Peggy Sang the Blues" is a great song about his gran, and "Redemption" is a great track which tells story. "Wessex Boy" is probably my current favourite on the album. This is a must for those who like their music original, well written and just a little bit different!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
I, a Wessex born southern boy have been a fan of Mr Turner's since the days of the Railway. Whilst his last album was a foray into the heavier side of life; England Keep My Bones is classic Frank folk through and through, him doing what he does best. There is not a weak song in here. We have personal lyrics and exquisite guitar. This is absolutely an album up there with, what I think is his best, Love Ire and Song. Frank is a God.Love Ire and Song
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)