Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 September 2014
I purchased this as a gift for my dad who is a big theory of a deadman fan, I do like them but I'm not a diehard fan. I particularly liked this album, there are a lot of good examples of the song writing and moods of music. I was debating whether it was worth paying the extra for a few extra songs, but they are excellent. The acoustic versions are a nice contrast to the standard version and I much prefer hearing a song when its been stripped away. I do also like that when buying on amazon you get an mp3 copy through an app. I think most people buy digital copies of music as it is. And most people who buy CDs rip them to a computer, so it saves doing it. My dad is sort of a technophobe, so CDs are what's right for him. He's pleased with his gift and I got the bonus of an mp3 copy of it. If you like theory of a deadman, you'll love this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
fantastic album from a fantastic band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
Well Well Well,

Canada's best kept musical secret returns for a forth outing.

To cut straight to the point, if you liked "Scars and Souvenirs", you'll like " The Truth Is...".

However, if you are a fan of Theory's earlier material then you may find some of this a little hard to swallow.

After Theory recorded their début album, they changed producer. He wanted to take the band in a new direction. From a musical point of view, he saw the first record as being too muddy because of the super-detuned guitars. Theory originally did this to accommodate Tyler's range and vocals. With the new direction, Tyler was forced to learn how to sing all over again. This made all the subsequent albums more bright and vibrant, but they also lost some of that mean southern rock sound that had been so addictive previously.

So, while I fully understand that bands/musicians evolve and grow over time meaning that not every album they record will sound the same, I do wish that there was maybe one less ballad and 1 more balls to the wall song like "Nothing can come between us" or "Say Goodbye" The biggest plus is Tyler has become a much better word-smith, meaning his lyrics are much more meaningful, and in some cases, much more humerus (the title track being a prime example!)

A good record, and one that will undoubtedly go on to be their biggest commercial success, however be warned; for better or worse, this is nothing really like the old Theory Of A Deadman

Alex
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
This album is just fantastic. If you have any of Theory's other albums then you are just going to love this. I have bought 3rd or 4th albums from other bands and been really disappointed, they seem to have really gone off the boil. Not Theory, this album is just brilliant. The fab lyrics, no messing, straight to the point, nothing left to the imagination and then, suddenly, a really gentle, thought provoking song such as 'Does it really matter' which is just sad and beautiful. Buy this album, you won't regret it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
Bought this as a treat for my husband (aged 54!!!) and he loves it. Already has 3 CDs from this group and says this is their best so far. There is a good mix of heavy rocky tracks and slower more ballard type songs which make excellent music for joining in with on a car journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
Got this for xmas and it is brilliant. A good mixture of sounds and comedy to. Dont get the comparison thing with Nickelback, I think Tyler's voice is much better, Chad sounds like he is straining with his bowels most of the time. TOADM are great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
All i can say is that waiting for the release of this album was totally worth it :), The dispatch speed was really good, i thank the sender for that... no problems what-so-ever. Will def buy from this person again :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
TOAD's fourth album is a change in direction, though more sideways than forward.
I don't think it's has good as their previous effort Scars and Souvenirs but it's a good rock album neverless.

I recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
love evey one of their albums and play this one all the time, my neighbours must be sick of it but i aint. theory of a deadman are great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
Fantastic album, if you like any of their previous albums, there is a great chance you will also love this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£9.99
£7.50
£16.84

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)