Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
32
3.9 out of 5 stars
WWE - Wrestlemania 27 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 June 2011
This event starts off with a long promo from the Rock. While it was great to see the Rock back at the time this took up a lot of time and didn't really add anything to the event. Not a good way to start off a pay-per-view, especially a Wrestlemania.

Next Edge defends his World heavyweight championship against Alberto Del Rio. It was a decent match with Alberto working over Edge's arm to set up for his cross arm-beaker finish. Christian and Brodus Clay got involved on the outside but it wasn't too much so didn't take away from the match. They could have used more time but not a bad opener. The match was followed by Edge and Christian damaging Del Rio's car, this seemed unnecessary and a waste of time which could have been used on the match itself.

Then Cody Rhodes faced Rey Mysterio. They had a good match which told a good story with both Cody Rhodes' face protector and Rey Mysterio's knee brace(which is what caused Cody's facial injury in the first place) coming into play.

Next Kane, Big Show, Kofi Kingston and Santino Marrela took on The Corre(Wade Barrett, Ezekial Jackson, Heath Slater and Justin Gabriel) in a match that lasted one and a half minutes. This was another waste of time with the entrances lasting longer than the match itself.

Randy Orton then wrestled CM Punk in what I feel is the match of the night. They worked a methodical pace with Punk working on the injured knee of Orton. This played into the match and affected Randy's offence throughout the match, with his leg giving out on him when going for his signature punt. Punk also put over how devastating the RKO is with how desperate he was to avoid it. A really great match.

Next we have the worst part of the show as Michael Cole took on Jerry Lawler with guest referee "Stone Cold" Steve Austin. It starts off with JR and Booker T coming out to replace Cole and Lawler on commentary, I don't know why they gave them their own entrances but they did. Then when Cole and Lawler get out we have stalling as Cole apologises and begs Lawler to call off the match from inside his "Cole mine". When the match finally starts what should be a couple of minutes of Lawler squashing Michael becomes a long, slow and boring match with Cole attempting to wrestle, Jack Swagger getting involved and the "anonymous general manager" reversing the outcome of the match for no good reason. Stone Cold hands out a couple of stunners after the match, which manage to get no reaction because the match just stopped anyone from caring. Over half an hour was dedicated to this rubbish.

Next was Triple H challenging the Undertaker's undefeated Wrestlemania streak. There was lots of drama and it was filled with high impact moves. They went through the "cole mine" and through the announce table. There were so many moments where it felt like it might be over. It was a really good match which built to a dramatic finish. Only one man was able to leave the arena on their feet, and it was the man who lost.

This was followed by Nicole "Snooki" Polizzi, Trish Stratus and John Morrison vs Dolph Ziggler and LayCool (Layla and Michelle McCool). This match was really short, it's a shame this is the best they could do for Ziggler and Morrison. It didn't feel as pointless as the tag match earlier in the night though as it worked as a breather between the amazing Triple H/Undertaker match and the main event. Still, nothing special.

Finally was the main event of The Miz against John Cena. I never liked The Miz being WWE champion but they did do a good job with his video package before the match making this feel like a big deal. This was Cena's worst Wrestlemania match but it wasn't bad for the most part. Until the ending which was the worst in Wrestlemania main event history. It ended with a count out, which was followed by the Rock eventually coming down and more crap from the "anonymous general manager" before the match was restarted and then ended again very quickly. And the event ends with The Rock standing tall over our two main eventers.

Overall this was a really bad Wrestlemania, with so much wasted time and pointlessness. There were four or five matches that were worth watching but even they were tainted by Michael Cole bickering on commentary. If you can get it for cheap it could be worth it for those matches. I'd definitely skip over all the Cole/Lawler stuff and The Rock's promo however.

The dvd also includes a bonus match featuring Daniel Bryan and Sheamus, this could have been good but after a couple of minutes they just decided to make it a battle royal instead for no reason. It also includes a "legendary moments" countdown which is alright but mainly features clips from other(much better) dvds. The third disc is the Hall of Fame ceremony as is usual with Wrestlemania dvds.
55 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
I don't think I have ever had such mixed feelings about a Wrestlemania the 15 Years I've watched WWE lol

1. World Heavyweight Championship Match, Edge(c) vs. Albertoooo Del Rioooo!!!!

Good opener, quite surprised it was the first match but still had some great moves from both superstars and an impressive Mania debut for Del Rio. Sadly turned out to be Edge's last match before retirement :( he could've done worse for a last ever match. 8/10

2. Rey Mysterio vs. Cody Rhodes

Another great match here that was given the right amount of time, I was surprised who won but I was also glad for them at the same time. Fast paced action and a great use of Cody's mask makes it quite a unique ending. 8/10

3. Eight Man Tag Team Match

All honesty I thought this match would open the show and be given about 10 minutes for the young guys to show there stuff against the veterans. But sadly Vince screwed them over by shortening the length of the match, bit of disappointment but given who the surprise replacement was I was also thankful. 2/10

4. Randy Orton vs. CM Punk

2011 was without a doubt Punks year that sky rocketed him to the main event, this match probably helped ALOT with that. Orton was the perfect opponent as they had great chemistry during the match that helped them pull off one hell of a finish to the match. RKO OUTTA NOWHERE!! 9/10

5. Michael Cole vs. Jerry Lawler

In all of wisdom Vince decided to make THIS steaming pile of a match 15 minutes long, WHY! WTF VINCE! An awful match that was saved by Stone Cold's refereeing of the match, without it no one would have cared. Jerry Lawler is truly one of the greats and for his first and only Wrestlemania match he deserved a lot better, personally I would have put Swagger in there instead of Cole or a handicap match may have made more sense, stack the deck against Jerry and have him have a golden moment where he gets his revenge against Cole but that just me. Terrible Match, just skip. 1/10

6. No Holds Barred Match, Triple H vs. Undertaker

Absolute match of the night, hell match of the year even. Both veterans put it all on the line and it took one hell of a toll on Taker who seemed to be hanging on by a thread during the match. Triple H as always performed like a true great should and the stipulation was defiantly used to his advantage. Brilliant match 10/10

7. Six Person Tag Team Match

More of a celebrity showcase match then anything, Dolf Ziggler and John Morrison where great and it was awesome seeing the greatest diva ever Trish Stratus back at Wrestlemania, but the match itself didn't hold up. 4/10

8. WWE Championship Match, The Miz(c) vs. John Cena

Miz without a doubt had one of the most forgettable WWE title reigns ever, seemed too uneven as Cena was on fire at the time and Miz as a main eventer was really doing what a main eventer should... MAIN EVENTING! Still was an ok match but worthy of one of the less important and less significant PPVs like Over the Limit and Hell in a Cell. The surprise twist at the end was a good not great. Stupid idea to end with this match. 6/10

Overall rating: 6/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2011
Wrestlemania 27

1. Edge vs Alberto Del Rio- World Heavyweight Championship Match

** Very surprised that wrestlemania's first match of the night was one of the main events i have to say it was a good title match but not wrestlemania quality but was never boring edge's last match as well unfortanately

2. Rey Mysterio vs Cody Rhodes

** At times very good but sum parts of the match were not great ok tho

3. Kofi Kingston, Santino, Kane and Big Show vs The Corre- 8 Man Tag Team Match

* OK match

4. Randy Orton vs CM Punk

*** Very good match enjoyable to watch

5. Micheal Cole vs Jerry Lawler Special Ref: Stone Cold

* I have to say ive seen some bad matches in my time but this is right up there it went on for ever it was way to long and very dull

6. Triple H vs The Undertaker

**** a excellent wrestlemania quality match, great wrestling and lots of brawling it had everything good length to match and was entertaining right though best match of night by a mile could be match of year canidate easily

7. Trish Stratus, Snooki and John Morrison vs Laycool and Dolph Ziggler

* Right place on card in my view just standard tag match

8. John Cena vs The Miz- WWE Championship Match

** I was really dissapointed with this match it was good but wasnt given time and quite bland at times HHH v Taker should of closed show The rocks interferance was good to watch tho lookin 4word to nxt year when rock v ena goes ahead
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Wrestlemania 27 is easily the weakest Wrestlemania since Wrestlemania 15. It seems WWE were just using this to help promote Wrestlemania 28, as the host The Rock was the main focus of the show.

The only stand out matches are CM Punk vs Randy Orton and The Undertaker vs Triple H. If this was a four hour RAW, it would have been a pass; but as a Wrestlemania it is definitely one of the top 10 worst of all time.

World Heavyweight Championship: Edge vs Alberto Del Rio (3/5)

Rey Mysterio vs Cody Rhodes (3/5)

The Big Show/Kane/Santino Marella/Kofi Kingston vs Wade Barrett, Ezekiel Jackson, Justin Gabriel and Heath Slater (1/5)

Randy Orton vs CM Punk (3.5/5)

Jerry The King Lawler vs Michael Cole (0/5)

The Undertaker vs Triple H (4.5/5)

John Morrison, Trish Stratus and Snooki vs Dolph Ziggler, Michelle McCool and Layla (2/5)

WWE Championship: The Miz vs John Cena (2.5/5)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
Don''t get me wrong i loved this wrestlemania! The only downside i found was that Silvervision have edited out some of the best parts (in my opinion)
They have replaced the introduction music for both HHH and Undertaker for their original music, while the live event used Metallica and Johnny Cash for the actual entrance songs. And with Stone Cold's entrance they edited out him giving the finger to Michael Cole.
Only small edits i know, but annoying to a true fan. Great matches regardless!! =)
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
Now this Wrestlemania (WM 27) happened 1 year ago since im reviewing this today on the 24/03/12 and with Wrestlemania 28 Fast approaching i took my time to review this event that has been criticsed by alot of people and has been considered one of the worst wrestlemania's of all time but thats not true and i considered it to be one the great wrestlemania for a number of reasons which i will point later on.

Now i have this on Blu-ray and have the Live version recorded and ripped on to a blank DVD First i will point out the edits that WWE have made on the DVD/Blu-ray from the live version:

* Stone Cold finger gesturing at Michael Cole in the Michael Cole vs Jerry Lawler match has been edited.

* Triple H Metallica entrance theme has been edited and dubbed with some crappy in house WWE generic theme and Undertaker's theme Aint no Grave by Johnny Cash has also been dubbed and replaced by his original Theme and this is so blatant as the audio is not in sync with the dubbing of the themes i noticed this as i have the live version.

* The boos that were directed at Nicole 'Snooki' Pollizi when she made her entrance in the 6 man inter-gender tag team match has been edited and more cheers have been put in which is ridiculous as she was heavily booed WWE like to insult are intelligence where is the freedom to express ourselves!!

* John Cena entrance where he got booed quite heavily and when the qoir sang before his entrance which also they got booed quite heavily have been replaced with cheers which is shocking, they make out like john cena is loved when reality people hate his boring stale lifeless crap gimmick!!

* On disc 2 Triple H hall of fame speech about Shawn Michaels has been edited from 1 hour to half n hour which is disrespectful and a insult, they had enough time to put his speech in as the hall of fame originally ran for 4 hours and on the blu-ray it runs for 2 hours and 43 mins.
Luckly the rest of the hall of famers speech are in full.

Now thats out of the Way Lets get onto the show.

The Lovely and Gorgeous Keri Hilson sings America the Beautiful.

The Rock Opens Wrestlemania with a Promo which was unnecessary and wasted time which could have been given to the Bryan vs Sheamus match that was meant to be on the show originally but was moved to a dark match which is disgrace, i dont care if the rock had to say something to the crowd we all heard it before and wasn't needed this is a WRESTLING show not a PROMO show.

Edge vs Alberto Del Rio for the World Heavyweight Championship 4/5
Fantastic opener and Edge's last Match in WWE as he retired after the Event, one of the best Wrestlers of all time and deserving his place in the Hall of fame 2012.

Rey Mysterio vs Cody Rhodes 4/5
Really good match that should deserve more credit, Rhodes looked strong and was made to look like a star, Mysterio was fantastic aswell and put over Rhodes.
Underrated match in my opinion.

8 Man Tag Match The Corre vs The Big Show, Kane, Santino and Kofi Kingston 1/5
Nothing match, was over before it started waste of talent it was only 1 min long which is a disgrace, this match could have been really good with the wrestlers involved.

Randy Orton vs CM Punk 3/5
This is a way Overrated Match, its a good match dont get me wrong, but it had very slow start, quite standard middle part and a hot finish and awesome RKO by Orton on Punk a lot of people say this is the second best match of the night but it was just a standard match.

Jerry Lawler vs Michael Cole Special Guest Ref Stone Cold Steve Austin 2/5.
This was plain boring and lifeless, how this match was on the card and not bryan vs sheamus for the us title arhhhh at least make the match short but no WWE wanted to bore our brains out with this stinker, the only good parts were the involvement of Austin and the stunner he gave to booker t after the match and the return of JR in the Announcing position nothing else noteworthy.

No Holds Barred Undertaker vs Triple H 5/5
Now this is Match and a Half, Tied with the best match of the year in 2011 alongside Punk vs Cena Money in the bank 2011 in my opinion, this was amazing, one of the best matches of all time, they did everything, went for 29 mins, longest person to be in hells gate, steel chair shot to the face of the undertaker by hhh (which wasn't edited thankfully) and taker being carried off in a stretcher which was a first simply awesome.

6 Person Mixed Tag Team Match Morrison Snooki & Trish vs LayCool and Ziggler 3/5
Way 2 quick of a Match about 3 mins, Morrison and Dolph did nothing in this match hardly no involvement which was a shame, i quite liked the confrontation between trish and michelle mccool at the start, Snooki did ok and made me laugh which is something lol.

Main Event The Miz vs John Cena for the WWE Championship 4/5
I liked this main event, some dont and make out it to be the worst main event in Wrestlemania history which is false and dumb look at Wrestlemania 11 Bigelow vs Lawrence Taylor hey anyways this flowed nicely and the ending was awesome when rock gave the rock bottom to john cena and miz retained the title which was a relief as cena had won the title every mania since 21.

Total Event Rating 9/10 really good mania expect for 1 match that stank the building and looking forward to Mania 28 with Rock vs Cena and punk vs Jericho.

Blu-ray picture quality a 10/10 amazing and one of the best pictures on blu-ray around and the best by WWE So far.
Sound 8/10 for the dubbing of the themes and booing for cena and snooki rest is clear and hearable.
Extras 9/10 the hall of fame 2011 is fantastic, HBK pick of the bunch, amazing career well deserved :).
US Title Sheamus vs Bryan and Edge Del Rio History Video.
RAW Highlights March 29th and April 4th 2011 and full Smackdown April 1st 2011.

Picked this up for £8.99 in a 24hour deal could not go wrong with that.

Thanks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2011
The Event Itself
WrestleMania XXVII was billed and hyped to be the best WrestleMania of all time. Sadly, the event itself was very underwhelming. As always, there were some very good matches (Del Rio/Edge, Rhodes/Mysterio, Punk/Orton, Triple H/Undertaker) some very bad matches (Corre/Big Show & Kane & Marella & Kingston, Cole/Lawler, LayCool & Ziggler/Snooki & Stratus & Morrison) and a match none of the audience could get in to (Miz/Cena). Above all else, the event suffered from timing, pushing some matches and after-effects for too long (Cole/Lawler, Triple H/Undertaker), and haing too many backstage segments that were pointless and did nothing for the night (Rock & Okerlund & Pee-Wee Herman, Snoop Dogg & Teddy Long), that ultimately caused the ending to be abrupt.

Thankfully, with home video, an added video highlight reel synonymous with WrestleMania is included at the end, giving a more rounded ending to the 4-hour show.

Video Quality
The first WWE event released on Blu-ray was WrestleMania XXIV, and quickly became a good example of great video quality. With every WrestleMania and subsequent WWE Pay-Per-View released on Blu-ray, the picture quality has gotten better, and WrestleMania XXVII is by far the best WWE Blu-ray for video quality. The stadium setting with lights reflecting on the audience, and the close-ups of the wrestlers are all in great detail. The colours are vibrant and easy to distinguish, and WrestleMania XXVII ranks up there with the best Blu-ray for video, regardless of what the Blu-ray is.

Audio Quality
While the event sounds amazing, there is one notable change. For Triple H's entrance, live he came out with a group of viking warriors to the introduction of Metallica's "For Whom The Bell Tolls". It was distinctive, fitting the storyline, and was a great addition. On the Blu-ray (and DVD), the music has been changed to some generic WWE metal theme. While this is not as big a travesty as the complete re-dubbing and silencing of the audience's sing-a-long at One Night Stand 2005 to "Enter Sandman", it does throw into question whether the event you are watching is exactly how the event played live. Maybe the audience's cheers and boos were slightly elevated to make matches slightly more atmospheric, maybe the commentators were able to re-record lines they didn't say properly or loud enough that were important on the night. Of course this maybe paranoia and nothing has been altered, but the seed of doubt has been planted all the same.

Extras
Continuing on from the previous WrestleMania, WrestleMania XXVII comes in a 3-disc set; the first disc is the 4-hour event in its entirety, the second disc is the Hall Of Fame ceremony the night before in its entirety, and the third disc is the Raw and SmackDown shows before WrestleMania in their entirety, as well as clips from the Raw the night after the show, most notably the announcement for the Main Event of next year's WrestleMania.

Having the entire events on single discs is much better for viewing pleasure, as you get to be absorbed into the event the whole time it's on without breaking the experience to change discs, and the Hall Of Fame is always good for die-hard wrestling fans to hear stories from old wrestlers and their lives in the business.

However, while the Raw before WrestleMania always reaches fever pitch, and the SmackDown show is a good 2-hour plug for WrestleMania pointing out the matches on the card and showing the video packages, it is the case that WrestleMania is a Pay-Per-View built up two to three months in advance, starting with the build-up to the Royal Rumble, and the fall-out of that event generally leading to the card for WrestleMania. A better idea would be to even have the Raws and SmackDowns in the month's build-up to WrestleMania be included over 2 discs so owners of the Blu-ray can watch the stories unfold. However, as from 2011 most, if not all, WWE Pay-Per-Views will be released on Blu-ray, and the majority being in 2-disc sets with the Raws and SmackDowns before the Pay-Per-Views, this maybe somewhat a non-starter and sustain anyone who would like to re-watch the build-up to the matches that the participants generally bring their best work to on the biggest night for the company.

Overall Event: 3/5
Video Quality: 5/5
Audio Quality: 4/5
Extras: 4/5

Final Thoughts: A good addition to your WWE Blu-ray collection, if somewhat repetitive from last year's release.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
Wrestlemania XXVII is ok, but that's it. Featuring almost a full card of singles matches, there is no sense of variety that have made other Mania's so memorable.

+'s

The Rey Mysterio/Cody Rhodes match and the CM Punk/Randy Orton match are pretty good. In fact the former may have been the best match on the card.

The promos in between matches are quite entertaining, especially as most feature 'The Rock' who has no shortage of charisma.

The Hall of Fame discs are always good - but only if you're more than a moderate fan of wrestling and its history.

The general ring work is pretty good.

-'s

No variety - almost all matches are 'singles matches' with the exception of one tag match. The tag match however is short and doesn't count - it serves only to wedge a celebrity called 'Snooki' into the event.

There actually IS another tag match... but it is a farce which lasts about three seconds.

The opener to the show, is a heavyweight title match, and a poor one at that. The main event is another big title match - but this one is also poor AND it suffers from an awful, cheap ending.

The other BIG match - between HHH/Undertaker is very slow. Both men lay on the canvas for about 50% of the match. Nevertheless it does have it's moments... but with no build to the match beforehand, it doesn't seem as big as it should have.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
I will start off by saying that I have been watching wrestling since 1995 and have seen every wrestlemania on DVD. This is by a good bit the worst wrestlemania since wrestle mania 11.

1. Edge vs Alberto Del Rio - a average match which could of been better if it was given more time. It was not even 10 minutes long. Worth watching as it is edges last match. Some good spots but ultimately forgettable 6/10

2. Cody Rhodes vs Rey Mysterious - great match! Cody Rhodes was the star in this match as he pulled off some great spots. Mysterio felt a bit grounded as he legitimate knee injury before the match. The right man won, too. 8/10

3. Kane, Big Show, Santino & Kofi Kingston vs the Corre - Only Worth watching for santinos entrance (hilarious) but this match was a waste of time. 1/10

4. Randy Orton vs CM Punk - Match of the night by far. Back and forth throughout with some amazing wrestling moves. Brilliant Match. 9/10

5. Michael Cole vs Jerry Lawler (special ref Stone cold) not even stone cold could make this trainwreck enjoyable. Absolutely Horrible duiscusting match that should be avoided at all costs. 1/10

6. The undertaker vs triple H - Overrated! Took about a hour out of the event and I say about 10 minutes of that is actual wr
estling. Some good spots but you've seen it all before. Nothing fresh about this match. There match at WM 17 was far better. 6.5/10

7. John Morrison, trish stratus & Snooki(?) vs Laycool & Ziggler - Morrisonand Ziggler were barely involved in the match, very forgettable match. Not unwatchable though, 4/10

8. The miz vs John Cena - one of the most boring main events in wrestlemania history. Just started to get good before it ended. Basically a big setup for WM 28. Not main event standard. 4/10

OVERALL(average) 5/10 pretty awful show, ignore
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
Wrestlemania 27!!! Are You Ready???

The Show Began with the host (The Rock) cutting it on the mic like only he can!!!

1. The first match. Edge vs Alberto Del Rio. I had no idea this was going to be Edge's final match! Was a good match though 7.5/10!

2. Cody Rhodes VS. Rey Mysterio. Decent match. Could have gone longer. I'm going to rate it 6.5/10!

3. The Corre VS. Big Show, Kane, Kofi Kingston and Santino Marrella. Pointless. 2/10!

4. CM Punk VS. Randy Orton. CM Punk dominated. Orton's bad knee caused him to struggle through-out the match and he failed badly when going for his pattented punt. Punk should have won. But Super- Randy did. Not bad. 7/10

5. Michael Cole VS. Jerry Lawler. Stone Cold got involved (which was good) and had wwe kept things the way they were with Lawler the winner I would have rated this match 8/10 but as of the bad decision to turn the decision on it's head, I rate this match 5/10.

6. Triple H VS. The Undertaker. Before this match I genuinely believed Triple H was going to end the streak! This was by far the match of the night and was soooo brutal. Great incounter was epic but, I just can't give this match a 10! But it was close to being a 10 star match but wasn't quite... 9.5/10!!!!

7.Snookie, Trish Stratus and John Morrison VS. Lay-Cool and Ziggler. Just like th 8-man tag... pointless. Only watch this match if you are intrested in the celebrity side of wrestling! Not for hardcore fans! 2/10

8. John Cena VS. The Miz. The most hyped up match of the night and not a bad main-event!!!! I think the match in general was entertaining but when The Rock comes out it gets real interesting and when ever I see The Rock Rock-Bottoming Cena I can't help but smile. But I'm giving a review on the match not what happened afterwars and although some may disagree with this I am rating this match 7/10!

I rated this Wrestlemania 4/5 8/10 not for match quality but for entertainment. Buy This!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)