Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
98
4.4 out of 5 stars
Platform: Nintendo Wii|Change
Price:£14.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2011
I bought this for my 9 year old sisters birthday after weeks of begging. I believed that she would play it for a couple of hours get bored of it and put it in the cupboard not to be seen for many years. However after half an hour she, my brother, the next door neighbour and I were all playing together this coninued for several hours until she had to go to bed.

One of the great features of the game is that you can do everything with up to four players meaning that we didn't have to wait for ages until good quality mutiplayer levels were unlocked (as in some previous Disney games). It created healthy competition between us and kept us hooked throughout.

Its great fun for all ages, with not just simple racing modes but with others, such as hunter where you hunt down the "baddie" cars using weapons which you collect from Mario Kartesque item boxes. In the races you can do tricks to boost the turbo bar which I think make the game more beautiful to watch.

I found the wheel response excellent and it involves you in the driving making you feel that you are the character (of which there are many) you control.

The graphics are good for the wii and will please any avid Cars fan with extreme detail on the cars striaght from the film. As well most of the Cars are voiced by the original actors from the movie (major exceptions being Fin McMissle and Lightning McQueen). It's good that the game is based on but not strict to the film, this gives a strong relation to it but makes sure that playing game is not just the same as replaying the film.

The game overall feels alot like Mario Kart with Cars characters but this does not take away the pleasure of the game and there are modes which are not in Mario Kart which can be played if you are Mario Karted out.
11 comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
My boys (aged 8 and 5) play this game whenever they get the opportunity. The game is extremely good fun, can be played solo or with friends/parents and without any stress about reaching the next level or figuring out what you are supposed to do. We would highly recommend it.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
The game has very good graphics, driving reality and driving tricks. It combines races (for younger kids) and races with guns (for more action). Very good choice for kids that likes driving.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2011
There are other Mario Kart like games out there, but this is certainly one of the best. With plenty of features, complex tracks (with shortcuts), and some features (fancy jumps, 2 wheel driving, etc) that Mario Kart doesn't have. I was surprised at the quality of this game and would recommend it to those who already own Mario Kart and want something similar but new. If you don't have Mario Kart I'd recommend you get them both!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2011
Great value for money. My 9 year old son had been after this game for ages, however, I wasn't keen to get it as he already has Mario Karts. That said, although it's a 'driving' game it's totally different to the one he had and neither of the kids have tired of it... Each level unlocks new characters providing motivation to continue playing. The different circuits around the world are also a good fun way of learning.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
That game was a nightmare to play at times and frustrating for a child. This one, as has been pointed out, is more in the mario kart mould and works well for it. The training mode is fun and failing to meet the trophy standards ends up pushing you for that "one more go, I can do this" response. The multi player is good fun and very mario kart in style, for example the battle mode and works well for all ages.

The only reason I would not give it 5 stars is there is one annoying glitch in the game, there is a move that allows you to flip the car to drive on its side, the way to do this is push forward. Unfortunately, as can be guessed, that is a move it is easy to make by accident and once you're on your side cornering is a nightmare and sitting back down only seems to respond half the time. So you can find a good lap ruined by that one glitch. But it isn't so bad it ruins the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
I bought this having played Mario Karts. To be honest I expected so much more, Mario Karts has been out for years, this one not so.

But Mario Karts beats this hands down, the main issue is steering, mario karts steers using the tilt of the remote, and the more you tilt the more it turns, mario karts also adds a skid to the turn automatically, based on steering and speed. Sadly this game doesn't the steering is poor, the more you turn the remote doesn't really affect the steering, you have to press a button to make the thing turn properly, what's the point in that. Games have progressed and so have the boxes, yet games like this still insist on using buttons when there is no need to.

If you haven't got mario karts, and are after a game, go for mario, if you have mario, and are looking for something, this will disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
What a fantastic game! I enjoy playing it a lot! So happy to have bought it! If you like racing, this is a game for you! You have lots of tricks to choose from. You also have personal training sessions where you can practise your driving. These little cars can do more than you imagine.
You can choose a car before each game and you can choose the scenery of the race once you pass the first level - win the first race. Once you know how to control your car with your remote, it is a great fun! Graphics are amazing and the sounds are super!
I use Wii racing wheel which helps quite a bit. Buy it and enjoy the race! The safest driving ever: on your TV screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
My son loves driving games so I bought this one but has been disappointing , the steering is not as good as other driving games like mario kart etc.
The story line is not great either, so I don't recommend it. No
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
This game is a little tricky. Bought for 5 year old twins who love the movie - but feel frustrated by the game. Older siblings (who would not want this game due to being TOO OLD for this movie) were able to play and enjoy it. Disappointing. Mario cart is still played every day - while this sits in the box...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)