Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
BAND OF GOLD - The Complete Series 1 [import]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 28 March 2013
Watched this series many years ago,loved the acting.The DVD was Dutch but played perfectly in English.What more can i say but i watched the whole series on one sitting,glued to the box.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2015
An itv drama about female criminals entertaining nonsense
violence is never far away full of good actresses and a well written script
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2014
I wanted the title song, but had difficulty finding it on any other album, so I'm pleased with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2004
How wonderful is this series an amazing piece of writing from the fab Kay Mellor!! It follows the story of Gina, a young mum of three kids, forced into prostitution by her loan shark and a violent husband. She is helped by fellow single mum Carol, together they work the lane with a cast of Tracey a 15yr old prostitute, Rose an old hand and Anita who offers her rooms to the girls. Gina is killed and the women set out to catch the mad killer!! An exciting and exhilarating conclusion, you'll never guess the killer! Some laughs and heartache along the way a wonderful series yet again say where is series 2????
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2005
I remember watching series 1 in UK, have just bought series 1 and am looking to buy series 2. If anyone is selling series 2 I would be interested to hear from you.
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2012
Intelligent if slightly awkward melding of a gritty, sad drama of life of the street for working class
prostitutes, and a somewhat more melodramatic and soapy (if sometimes quite tense) serial killer
thriller.

Unlike `Klute' where the world of hustling and thriller melded seamlessly, here there is a bit more
schizophrenia between the elements. For me, the crime sections, while sometimes effective, were
also quite familiar, and felt like TV and movies I'd seen many times before, whereas the portrait of
the day to day lives of hustlers felt like much more interesting and less often explored in a
non-exploitive way. The killings and investigation feel oddly grafted on.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2001
I didn't know there was a second season of Band of Gold until I caught it by accident on a local semi-alternative television station. It seemed to have graduated from the realistic to the atmospheric, with two ex-prostitutes (Geraldine James, Cathy Tyson), a quasi-prostitute (Barbara Dickson)and the mother of a slain colleaugue having established a cleaning service, only to become unwillingly involved in fraud,murder, drug abuse,kidnapping, and suicide. Only one of them (Tyson) achieves partial security at series' end. The performances of James, Tyson, Dickson, Samantha Morton, Tony Doyle, Peter Firth, David Bradley etc. are excellent. If anything, the drama highlights two truths: the difficulty of trying to quit the "lane" and that the best English-language drama is, basically, produced in the U.K.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
What can I say? I am over-obsessive about 'Band Of Gold'. It has to be one of the best TV series to this date. Kay Mellor has once again struck us with her witty and powerful writing, and Geraldine James has given another wonderful and memorable performance. Along with that, the rest of the cast of absolutely brilliant aswell! These stars include Samantha Morton, Cathy Tyson, Ruth Gemmell, Rachel Davies and the 'singer-fantastic' Barbara Dickson!
Gina Dickson (Ruth Gemmell), is roped into the world of prostitution, after she becomes in debt with banks, and chased by a loan shark. With the help of Carol Johnson (Cathy Tyson), Gina soon finds her live changes dramatically, when the worst thing that can happen to a prostitute, strikes! Written by Kay Mellor, creator of Fat Friends and Playing the Field.
As I said, I am obsessed, because I have the video, two novels based on the two series and a companion to the three series. I was very disappointed when I found that Band Of Gold II has been deleted from the UK, and Gold was never released! They should bring out a three-video cassette called 'Pure Gold', which contains every series made!
If anyone wants to talk 'Band Of Gold' please contact me. If anyone wants to sell me a copy of Band Of Gold II then once again, please contact me!
In conclusion, 'Band Of Gold' is pure genius!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2003
Barbara Dickson, Samantha Morton, Geraldine James, Ruth Gemmel and Cathy Tyson head a distinguished cast in 'Band of Gold', a bold and compulsive drama. This gritty drama revolves around the murder of a single mother forced into prositution by her mounting debts. She soon finds herself drawn into the sisterhood of the streets, a fiercely loyal network which underpins the harsh realities of the oldest profession in the world. This is british drama at its very best!!! It is nail biting, gripping and both harrowing and heartwarming at the same time - the writing is 'gold'right enough! Some of the best British performances of all time are contained within this series and gives a medium for a strong and inspiring cast which boasts the creme de la creme of female actors. The videos come in a double cassette box and the series lasts approximately four hours. It's just a pity that the second series has been deleted and is not available to buy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)