Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
32
4.4 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Arcade Edition|Change
Price:£13.72+ Free shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2011
Lets start by saying I own street fighter 4 but skipped super street fighter 4, Therefore I was delighted when on the Menu screen for the Arcade edition there is a option to play the original SUPER STREET FIGHTER 4Super Street Fighter IV (PS3). So you get 2 games for the price of one ( I appreciate that both games are identical almost).
The graphics and game play are as expected with two previous versions of this edition.
The Cartoon artwork works extremely well and the controls are responsive and fun. I personally use a fight pad for these games Mad Catz Street Fighter IV Round 2 FightPad - Guile (PS3) as it is a better control layout than the original PS3 dual shock.
Overall all you'd expect with the bonus of super street fighter on the disc too.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
Super Street Fighter IV is easily one of the best fighting games, but it's ill-advised for a casual pass-time. Offline, the game has a steady learning curve and the easiest difficulty offers very little challenge even for beginners, but a few difficulties higher, at medium, it requires adequate skill with more than 10 hours gameplay. The moves are easy enough to remember, not necessarily so easy to pull off (some require full revolutions of the stick coupled with an attack command). From my experience with Trial Mode, where the game teaches the player character-specific moves and combinations, a large portion of combo success is luck and there appears to be no definitive timing. I imagine the game is MUCH easier when played using an arcade-style controller.
Online, the game is almost faultless and from my own experience unrivaled by other fighters. There is a huge Street Fighter community and matches move along quickly, it's also very easy to find players with good connection. I have had issues with responsiveness in online play, much like the ones I encounter in Marvel vs Capcom 3, where the character doesn't seem to react quickly enough or sometimes at all, which leads to frustration and a feeling of being cheated. It is, however, a very fun fighter with a great cast of distinct characters and a bit of personality often absent from these games. Don't expect any kind of coherent story line, like in the Tekken series, although there are attempts at creating some background as to why the fighters enter the tournament, the story is almost non-existent.
Overall, a great fighter (possibly the greatest) if you have the time to commit to it, if you're not a fan of the series or a casual gamer, you're better off with Tekken or Dead or Alive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Street Fighter is without doubt the greatest fighting genre gaming franchise in the history of video games. It's balance of characters, wacky back stories, fighting mechanics and overall look and feel across the various titles is unrivalled (don't mention Street Fighter EX :-/).

"Street Fighter III 3rd Strike" is reckoned by many to be the greatest Street Fighter game. Well SS4AE is like a heavier, slower version with a great new art style. They've tweaked the mechanics to make it more accessible to new players (easier to pull off special moves) but it still has the depth required for the hardcore gamers. Very good indeed. It's given me many, many hours of fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
No two ways about it, this is the best version of the best ever game, so I cannot recommend it highly enough. The depth of it is incredible - I've been playing SF4 since the first version came out and am still, years later, constantly finding new fun surprises in it. Just like Street Fighter II, this is a game I will absolutely never tire of.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
I have been a fan of fighting games for years and played the majoity major titles and can honestly say this is the best. The visual presentation is outstatnding and the ultra combos look amazing. The roster is wide and varied so there will be a character to suit you and your personality. The game play is amazing very deep and layered it can take some time mastering your chosen character and you will need to work on timing to execute the more challenging combos. Online is great ranked matches pit you against opponents of the same skill and you can record your best matches with the replay chanel function. This game can be difficult to play on the standard contoler however it plays perfectly on an arcade stick I would seriously recommend using an arcade stick to get the most out of this one.

So... in summary,

Graphics 5/5

Game play 5/5

Sounds 5/5

Life span 5/5

Online 5/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2011
Very well balanced, huge choice of fighters (and therefore of tactics). Good graphics and sound effects. The largest choice of fighters in a Street Fighter IV game, new arenas, beatifully animated, especially the one in African savane.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2011
This game is truly a fantastic fighter! Well worth the money! The new features and characters are a bonus :D
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Brilliant in every way - the only thing that will annoy you is that it takes a while to load but that's more to do with the hardware that it's running on than anything else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
It came very quickly from the order date, and exactly as shown in the image of the product page.
An excellent step up from Street Fighter IV on PS3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Love the SF series anyway. But for the PS3 this is a better option - more characters to choose from. I do look forward to what would be next for SF? ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)