Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
50
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2015
If you like military sci if action read the books.
I read the first one and and thought not bad but needs work.I purchased the second one and was hooked more back story more character depth and a fuller introduction to the universe the story is set in.
Now on the third book and looking to where the story goes, I suspect this book will not have as much action but will set the scene for the fourth book, there still out there it's just when and where the battle will commence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
The first volume introduced us to new aliens. It set out some great story arcs and great characters. The second book ignored them all and did not pick up the main story until half way through.

Good gritty warfare, but not the story I wanted .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Having just finished the first book of the series. I snagged this one (book 2). When the birdsong alerted me I made my way to bed.
OK it's been done before (many times) but it's well written the lead characters are likeable, varied and not over played.
And it moves along at a hollywood blockbuster pace.
If you like Ringo's Posleen war books you'll like these.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
What Price Honour( Merkiaari Wars.) by Mark E.Cooper.
This is a continuation of Hard Duty and completes the story of the
defence of the Shand home planet. This is like a second slice of cake.
It's well written and shows promise for further novels. I'd say another
good SF read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
This is the second book in Mark's Merkiaari Wars series and it has a more military feel to the story. From the detail and battle action against an alien race on a foreign planet you could almost believe it had actually happened and these are the observations of an archivist. The story still includes the individuals introduced in the first book bringing them together with additional characters in a well rounded account of a struggle to free the Shan.

Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
Loved this book I was seriously entertained, held in the wonderment of it I almost lived it..
So many of the sci-fi books forget that this is what they are meant to do...suspend belief whilst we are reading ,take us to places and this book did it for me as did #1.
When is the next book due out ?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
Okay this is a strong carryon of the series .Got locked into this via a free promo for Part 1 and have loved all the books in the series so far.Went back and re-read this one again and .. yep simply loved it.
Keep them coming Mark !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
If you like your military to have cybernetics, mass space fleets, but also lots of sub plots and secret missions, this is the book for you. Like many of the books in this genre the mainstream military are basically the USMC in space. However, the enhanced solidiers of this book are an anomoly that are shunned by many regular nations, although respected. As such you get the feeling of an elite outcast band of brothers facing the alien menace.

Big space battles, even bigger land battles, advanced tech. All that you could ask for.

Luck
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
A good follow up to Hard Duty it's non stop action makes it hard to put the book down. Some of the narrative is a little incredible but it is Science Fiction and how many things were believed impossible before they were invented. A must enjoyable read and no look forward to the next in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
This is an excellent book; I enjoyed it even more than the first installment. The action is fast moving and characters have great depth. I can't wait until the next installment and would definitely recommend this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse