Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
29
3.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£18.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2017
The product is no good for me personally. It bent on the first use and could not be used again. The company accepted a return and fully refunded me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
I have used this a few times now and it works quite well, very happy with it so far!

I think a couple of reviewers did say that it does require someone with a bit of strength as it can be hard to force the potato through.

Its really easy to clean and makes perfect chips :).

I did find that larger potatos needed slimming down before they would fit in the tray that slides forward to chip the chips. But all in all most potatos will fit.

Pros

+ Easy to use
+ Easy to clean
+ Perfect chips each time

Cons

- Large potatos need trimming down
- Can require some force to get the potato through the blade.

Conclusion

If you enjoy home cooked chips and want a quick and easy way to cut them into the perfect shape then you definately must get this!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
The body is mainly made of metal, so it might be able to last a long time. I can't say the same of the blades though. Just after a couple of uses, one of the blades popped out from the frame and another one is bent badly. I'm sending it back for a refund.

Unfortunately, the alternatives within the price range seem to as bad or worse, many with the body and handle made of plastic.

I don't know why manufactures don't forget about trying to get chips in one go. These things should only have a few parallel blades, instead of a grid. That would reduce friction and also allow for stronger blades to be used, as they would not need to be interweaved. Yeah, you'd have to chip the potatoes in two steps: one to get slices, and again, after turning the slices 90 degrees, to get chips. So twice the movements, but with less force needed and a more durable product.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
The first thing that struck me that this was a quality product; looks as if it's made to last, which isn't normal these days, unfortunately.

It's easy to use but does require a bit of strength to force the potatoes through.

The only reason for not giving it 5 stars is that it does not accept very long potatoes. (I like long chips)

But apart from that, I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Delivers what it says on the tin, choice of two thicknesses of chips/fries. At times can require some brute force, though with more practise a better technique may evolve. A little faster to use than just a knife. Would not recommend for those with arthritic hands.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
The potato chipper was used only three times and broke apart at the hinge. Obviously the hinge was not strong enough to take a hard object such as a potato. But as it is a POTATO chipper, it should have been.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
cuts potatoes quite efficiently and neatly, and also cuts fingers with equal efficiency, not the safest product when it comes to cleaning
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Why didn't I get one of these ages ago? Brilliant... Teamed up with the new Philips Airfryer I am in chippy heaven...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
If you are planning on cutting chips, don't buy one of these.
Mine broke on the first use, the handle and frame is flimsy and pops apart when you try to put a spud through. When a spud did go through, the cutting blades bent out of shape; and I still didn't have any chips... So in all, it's rubbish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I spent a lot of time reading the reviews of various chippers and thought this seemed to have quite some positive ones. One small potato later and I was returning it as the blades had bent. Not fit for purpose.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)