Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
218
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2015
Another excellently researched and written masterpiece from Ben Kane. Compelling reading. Can't recommend his work highly enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Read this book twice over the years and second time around is better than the first. Read things I'd missed first time around. Really feel like I new the characters! Brilliant bok by a brilliant author. Bring more books out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Fascinating story of the destruction of Carthage. Ben Kane is a scholar and a compelling novelist. I forsee a glittering career ahead of this young man.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
It's not often I bother to finish a book that I would rate as merely ok, as there are too many great authors to read, but something kept me at this one. The far fetched plot about the son of a Carthaginian noble sold into Roman slavery had me smiling at times- lots of convenient coincidences keep the plot afloat, such as when the slavers responsible just happen to stop by his home town for a drink and are overheard boasting about it -but I kept reading.

The cliches are everywhere. Enjoyable ones though- he has two brothers, one kind and generous of spirit, one a complete psychopath. Our hero befriends the teenage kids of his roman masters, and of course, the daughter falls for him. Lots of predictable conflicts arise- however the anticipation of them is quite enjoyable.

So, a slightly cheesy but good fun adventure. The problem lies in Kane's writing. He insists on using the same word more than once in a sentence- stuff like, "He was clothed in white clothes," or, "The shocking scene shocked him." I don't have a copy to quote from, so these aren't exact quotes, but you get the picture. A few synonyms would sort this out so easily. One gets the feeling the author is churning it out with dollar signs in front of his eyes, not taking the time to craft his sentences. Stock phrases like "in a nutshell' are way overused.

The other main hang-up is the viewpoints used to tell the tale. We simply get told told what's in everybody's head, rather than getting to see characters and events through a handful of select individuals. Viewpoint shifts several times per paragraph at times. The effect is clumsy.

Despite the dodgy style, its a rollicking adventure. The simple characters are caricatures, but that makes for light entertainment, and you won't lose track of who's who. The plot is crackers, but great fun. If you can overlook the bad style, this is easy reading that I suspect might turn into a guilty pleasure of mine.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
Wow, where do I begin with this one! This is an example of some of the very best of historical fiction on offer at the moment and a testament to an author who is consistently producing inspirational reads. If you loved Ben Kane's earlier series, then you will need to get a copy of this, his latest book as soon as you can. It's one of those books that will have you reading late into the night and almost missing your bus stop! It's that good.

Rome is at war with Carthage and as may be expected, this is a story told from both sides of the equation with Quintus and Aurelia largely representing Rome and Bostar, Sapho and Hanno largely representing Carthage. There are numerous other sub-characters including other family members and the infamous Hannibal, but these are the main protagonists around whom the story is mainly centred. Quintus and Aurelia who are brother and sister represent an aspiring equestrian Roman family and Bostar, Sapho and Hanno are brothers from a noble Carthaginian family. The story is located around the Mediterranean, across Gaul and into Italy itself.

This book is so good and its interweaving themes of slavery, injustice, aspiration, love, oaths, brutality, enmity and anguish certainly draws the reader straight in from the first page. As always, Kane's descriptive ability is superb, I truly felt like I was trailing Hanno and Sunni through the streets of Carthage in the first chapter. I could have been stood within the Carthaginian column as it wound its way through the treacherous Alps or sat within the Curia when the Senate met to question its returning Consul in an electrifying political setpiece. The enmity between Bostar and Sapho was brilliantly captured and certainly created a firm foundation on which to base the next book. I for one can't wait to see what will happen to the squabbling pair.

Everything about this book is excellent: the characterisation, the description, the battle scenes, the level of research, the prose, the suspense, the relationships... I could go on! When I read the initial chapter at the end of the last book, I couldn't wait to get my hands on a copy of the first of the Carthaginian series. Now I am in the same position as I desperately await the second instalment. It can't come soon enough for me!

Whether you are new to Ben Kane or a seasoned fan, this book is recommended to all lovers of those sorts of books that truly transport you back in time. Fans of all things Roman or students of the Carthaginian Wars should likewise obtain a copy and delve into a world of bitter rivalries. I'm certain that you won't be disappointed with the first instalment to what appears to be an epic new series.

Recommended wholeheartedly.
88 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
Thanks to his ‘’Forgotten Legion’’ trilogy, Ben Kane has recently bought Roman times to life in me far more than history and Latin lessons at school ever did. Having enjoyed this first trilogy, I’ve been eagerly awaiting his ‘’Hannibal’’ trilogy, since he told Bookbag about it when we interviewed him. Finally, the wait is over and ‘’Hannibal: Enemy of Rome’’ is here.

Bored with listening to his father argue with the elders about Hannibal’s actions in Iberia, a Carthaginian youngster, Hanno, instead goes fishing with his friend Suni. A storm comes up and they are swept out to sea and captured by pirates. Their fathers suspect they are dead, but instead they are sold into slavery in Italy, Hanno as a household slave and Suni as a gladiator.

Hanno is sold into the household of Fabricius, a Roman solider. He is preparing for war against the Carthaginians, which makes Hanno his enemy. However his son, Quintus, builds a relationship with Hanno. But they are both determined to join up with their respective armies and this puts a strain on their friendship, especially knowing that they could one day meet in battle.

I love Kane’s writing this time around, as he follows all the members of both families; those at war and those left behind. It’s a larger cast of characters than he has dealt with previously, but the story has a much broader scope as a result and takes things in a different direction. It allows Kane not just to concentrate on battle scenes – which he writes brilliantly, but to explore more psychological regions of war.

The blend of characters really adds to the story here. We get to see war from the point of view of terrified teenagers in Quintus and Hanno, the sadistic Sapho, who enjoys torturing his enemies far too much and the more professional soldiers in Hannibal, Bostar, Fabricius and Malchus, as well as the coward Flaccus. At home, Aurelia and Atia’s feelings of missing the ones they love and Agesandros’, whose family were killed by the Carthaginians, feelings towards Hanno. It’s a wonderfully emotionally textured story.

However, there are still plenty of wonderfully written action scenes. The march through the Alps with Hannibal’s army is a wonderful combination of action and emotion. The battle between the Carthaginians and the Vocontii is wonderfully written in terms of the action and then Sapho’s retribution on those he captured is vicious in the emotional stakes. It does make things unsettling at times, but as long as you have a strong enough stomach, it’s excellent writing.

Whilst this does make for a slower story, Kane’s style means that you don’t realise this. He switches between characters quite swiftly, always leaving the action poised at a point to encourage you to keep reading so you can get back and the pages fly past. He does the same at the end of the book, meaning that you really don’t want to have to wait a year for the next instalment, but forcing you to do so. If there’s one thing about Kane’s writing that infuriates me, this would be it.

My only minor concern is whether there is enough here to allow the story to continue so powerfully for a whole trilogy. However, Kane has shown with this book that he has adapted and improved in his writing and given his penchant for springing surprises, I suspect he will maintain the story arc very well and leave me wanting more. Certainly, that is what this first book in the new trilogy leaves me wanting. Any book that creates a hole in your life when it ends can only be a very good thing and getting in at the start is easily achieved and well worth the outlay.

This review may also appear, in whole or in part, under my name at any or all of www.ciao.co.uk, www.thebookbag.co.uk, www.goodreads.com, www.amazon.co.uk and www.dooyoo.co.uk
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 June 2011
After the excellent Forgotten Legion Trilogy I wondered what Ben Kane would treat us to next (and how long would it be before we can convince him to return to do book 4 of the Forgotten series).
When the Title was announced : Hannibal Enemy of Rome, i was really pleased, I had recently watched the BBC drama on Hannibal's trail in which three Australian brothers - Danny, Ben and Sam Wood - set out cycling on the trail of Hannibal, the Carthaginian warrior who marched from Spain to Rome at the head of an invading army accompanied by elephants.

Again it was yet another point in history I knew a little about, but not the detail, so this book and Ben Kane's excellent writing skills I knew would not only entertain me but also educate me, and this book delivers both of these things in spades, I read this book in a single sitting and was hugely upset when the book ended, a book full of Ben's usual great characters, great pace, fantastic writing of dialogue couple all of that with the fantastic fights scenes that Ben writes and any book Ben writes just leaps off the page.

The next book Spartacus due in Feb 2012 only has one flaw.....an 8 month wait!
Thank you Ben a great book....can you write faster. (Parm)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2011
I'll admit, I've always had a thing for Hannibal Barca. He'd be one of my ultimate dinner party guests. For me he's right up there with Alexander, Caesar, and Napoleon, and I imagine he must have had charisma coming off him in waves. So when I found out that Kane was 'doing' Hannibal, I got very excited because I knew he'd do a great job. What I wasn't prepared for, however, was the wonderful human touch with which the author drew me in; the difficult weave of family relationships, the power of friendship in the face of adversity. This tale of humanity and the human condition set against the backdrop of an epic clash of empires is what made this novel a joy to read.

If you want a story that lives and breathes, characters that you genuinely care about, and action that leaves you breathless, Ben Kane is your man. With the instinct and skill of Hannibal himself, the author draws you in and lets loose! Echoes of the great Homeric poems summon the ancient world to glorious, blazing life. You feel the ground tremble beneath the phalanxes, hear the battle cries of the legions, smell the carnage of war. You sense the sweeping tides of history that changed the world. It's clear that Kane has a passion for his subject; a passion that sweeps the reader along like a spearman hemmed in the throng, towards whatever fate the gods have decreed. I found myself cheering - a good omen if there ever was! An epic tale, triumphantly told.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
This is a beautifully written, fantastically researched and amazingly wonderful book, and if that seems like a lot of superlatives it's because it deserves them. Mr Cottrell takes the reader on a journey that allows you not only to learn about Hannibal as a 'warlord' but also to bring your imagination to bear on what he was like as a man. As I read I could touch, feel and smell ancient Carthage, New Carthage, the Alps etc....., and I fell in love all over again with this period in history. Buy this book, buy one for a friend and if, like me you are a teacher of Classical Civilisation - buy it for every student in your class! Thank you Mr Cottrell, just superb!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Leonard Cottrell (born 1913 - died 1974) completed this book in 1960 after tracking Hannibal's 1000 mile route from Spain to Italy through the Alps in a camper van. Cottrell was a popular historian who wrote for ordinary people rather than academics and who was passionately committed to making his readers enjoy and understand history. He quotes extensively from Polybius - probably the most reliable ancient source of information on Hannibal - and to a lesser degree from Livy, but only in short bursts and only when strictly necessary. His aim in this book is not just to convey the facts about Hannibal's campaign - which he does succinctly - but also to understand the man himself. He portrays Hannibal as a well educated man who spoke many languages, who had urbane good manners and an ironic sense of humour; and who happened to be a military genius. Hannibal rated himself the third greatest general of all time - behind Alexander the Great and Pyrrhus. Others might rank him higher. Cottrell also lingers on Scipio Africanus who proved to be Hannibal's nemesis and finally defeated him at the battle of Zama. In Cottrell's opinion, the success of Scipio Africanus stemmed from his ability to understand Hannibal's mind and copy his tactics, including the use of surprise; for Cottrell, Scipio was always the pupil and Hannibal always the master.

The frequently asked questions about Hannibal are: Why did he hate the Romans so much? And why did he not take Rome after Cannae when it lay at his mercy? Cottrell wrestles with these issues, but is honest enough to confess he doesn't fully understand either.

This is an excellent introduction to Hannibal, superbly written and just as fresh as when it was published over 50 years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse