Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
36
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2016
Chronicles the life of bobby who as a teen became a chess champion, shares his family problems, his mom was an activist. Eventually he plays a Russian in 1972 to be world champ. Many issues. Insightful. Later he goes to pieces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Expensive for a DVD that lasts 1 1/2 hrs. However, it is obviously a 'niche' product, brought out by a small, specialist film company, so one can't complain. It is certainly interesting in that it gives an outline of Bobby Fischer's upbringing and his amazing chess playing skills. There was a lot of cutting to interviews with various professionals who knew him throughout his life, and of course, extensive shots of him playing chess - in Reykjavik during the world championships and elsewhere. All in all, not exciting, but a glimpse into the mind of a genius: someone who is obsessive about perfecting his one skill, to the exclusion / detriment of everything / everyone else around him.

I noted that there was not much reference to his anti-semitic rantings and only a short passing reference to his outburst (in the Philippines, not in Japan) condoning the 9/11 attacks on New York. Which is a shame, because it would have given more of an insight into the whole person, and how a brilliant (single minded) mind can disintegrate into paranoia and withdrawal from the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
Even if your not a chess fan, then beleave me you would find the history and exploits of Bobby Fischer very entertaining indeed, would highly recommend this buy,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
It's a good film about a great player. I still remember the big match in 1972. Nice Special Features. I just wish that the DVD had some subtitles. I don't expect danish subtitles(!) but it would be helpful with english. Playing time (for the film only) is 93 min.
The danish version (which I got in Denmark) only last 89 min (even though it says 92 min on the cover!), and I don't think that any scenes are missing. So maybe the English to Danish DVD transfer were speeded up by mistake??? My dvd-player is not broken!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
The story of Bobby Fischer is a relatively simple one; a youth spent mastering chess to an almost unfathomable level so that he could take on an empire of trained chess professionals and prevail single handedly. What an amazing achievement - few individuals in any field of human endeavour can lay such a claim. And yet what a cost - Fischer was a deeply troubled individual whose obsession with chess alienated him from all other features of human experience - the most telling and poignant moment of the film for me was the revelation of his last words. People can choose to judge the man of course or lay it down to deep seated psychological flaws which I think get the cause-effect relationship wrong; here was the life of a man whose single minded obsession revealed that this is not the way to lead a happy and enduringly successful life. Showing that is the mark of a great film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
A very good documentary about the great (if not particularly likeable) player.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
A very moving film as well as being very informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
an excellent account of a very unique individual.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
This is a very entertaining and informative documentary. I was surprised when it arrived that it is not packaged in a standard dvd case, but in a cardboard tri-fold about the size of a greeting card. The dvd is seated in a slot on the inner central page. The other inner pages have information on the programming while the outside and spine have more traditional artwork and notes. The spine misspells Fischer's name as "Fisher," so I'm not sure how much quality control went into this "green" packaging. I will probably end up transferring this to a standard dvd case as I am not sure how well the cardboard will hold up to extended shelf-life or how well it will protect the dvd from scratches or other damage.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
It is quite obvious that the movie was designed as an attack on Fischer`s personality and views and does a bad service to him as a person, a chess player and to chess in general. There is literally no analysis or commentary on his best games or what made him stand out as a very different and unique chess player which is somewhat the very thing one would expect from a movie about Bobby Fischer. I am pretty sure the people who were interviewed for this movie had said much more yet somehow one has the feeling that the editors have chosen the mantra "YES I KNEW FISCHER AND HE HAD PROBLEMS" as a central motif of the whole movie. Let`s face it ,Fischer did not have problems, he was simply light years ahead of anyone else in terms of his understanding of what was and is truly going on in the world and while he might have gotten some of the details wrong he did get the bigger picture right. For anyone who wants to know why Fischer was considered a genius in the world of chess I would like to recommend the great movie by GM Roman Dzindzichashvili "A tribute to Bobby Fischer" which can be watched on youtube.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)