Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
35
3.9 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£16.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2011
First of all I'd like to put things straight, a lot of 'professional' reviewers are saying this game is average,not better than WRC 1 & not as good as the DIRT series. I have to say I disagree, I nearly didn't buy this game because of all the negative reviews but I'm glad I did because it is brilliant. Milestone & Black Bean have a smaller budget than Codemasters, I agree, but the game they have produced feels like they've done the best possible job they can with the resources they had available. This game is so much BETTER than last year's edition & that was good, the graphics have been improved massively in my opinion, not as good as other racing games but who cares? This game has it's own style & sticks too it & it works, it really does. Everything else has been improved too, the amount of cars has been increased, the engine sounds are a lot more realistic & very true to their real-life counterparts, & although a lot of the stages are from last years game, they look a lot different because of the graphics upgrades, alot more detail. The 'Road To The WRC' mode has also been improved & made alot better, you can now hire office staff to deal with contracts/sponsors & mechanics who can develop different parts for your cars. The events are alot more structured & easier to follow, the main mode is definitely the best mode. So lots of different surface types which all make the car handle differently, handling is 10x better than last time & the ability to do detailed setups or choose a preset is excellent. A top-notch game, its the only 1 out there but boy is it a good 1. Buy it & see for yourself.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
Been playing for a week now and i think this is a big improvement over last years title,tighter handling ,better graphics and thankfully a rewind function for those 'occasional' crashes!
I believe it to be a better rally game than dirt as this is point to point racing,not the novelty events found in the dirt games.
A must buy for any racing fan,onlinne play is great too.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
After its intolerable predecessor and the developers claim to have listened to the WRC fans I bought this game as well. Sadly, the improvements made are noticeable, yet not nearly thorough enough to justify this game's existence. The graphics are still nowhere near the competition like Dirt3 or Gran Turismo. Shadows and objects pop up practically in front of the player all the time like in the beginning of the PS1 era. Details are scarce and the whole look is sterile, lifeless and to put it simply ugly. There are no eventualities, no other cars on the track no matter how fast or slow you drive. Back in 2005 Evolution's WRC - Rally Evolved showed the coolness of a game implementing changing environment with other driver's accidents, fires on the tracks or landslides. That is what rallying is about, not the sterile repetition presented in this game! The menus are a joke. Whoever came up with presenting the WRC circus in this idiotic, no-style manner should be fired. The career mode is so overburdened with options and little errands that you spend more time navigating through it than racing. As constructive criticism I would advise the developers to really focus on capturing the essence of the coolest sport in the world and present it accordingly. The graphics must dramatically improve. The tracks should actually resemble the original special stages. For example: As a regular spectator at Rally Germany the game shocked me with its presentation of the Arena Panzerplatte stage. Elements of reality are combined there in a totally different manner and the whole stage of Panzerplatte leads to the Porta Nigra in Trier. Trier, by the way, in reality is 100 km away. This is both idiotic and unacceptable. The game's music choices are torturous coffehouse or elevator style music, who came up with this? Furthermore, having the original license I fail to see why the developers have not used one frame of actual rally footage widely available to them. Isn't it the whole point of this kind of game to let the player play the actual characters of the championship and try to create a fitting circumstance for that matter?
Summing up this is the second chance the developers wasted. The WRC license should really go to codemasters. These guys are sometimes greedy, but at least they are competent. The Dirt series is generations ahead of this creation and should be chosen over it easily. Even with the smaller budget Black Bean had on this project delivering this kind of let-down the second time in a row really makes me sad.
33 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
I do think this game is a step up from last years effort, the visuals while still lacking campared with the Dirt series have have been improved from WRC 2010.
The extra classic rally cars added to the car list is a bonus for fans of the sport although there does seem to be a gap in the level of detail on these cars compared with the modern wrc cars in the game.
As for the gameplay the handling seems pritty good to me when compared with the wrc and Colin Mcrea games of old it stacks up well.

Overall i think if you are a rally fan this game is on a par with dirt 3, it may not be as good on the visual front but it makes up for it with much more pure rally content and pritty solid gameplay.
But if you want a more general off road racing experience then dirt 3 may be the better choice.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
This game has only one car worthwhile in it with default car settings, without the lancia Delta group B car this game is just for kids with no real difficulty on default, however there is a very big twist, if you increase the difficulty level to what it says it should be for an advanced player then if you change the car set ups you have a simulation on your hands

try these set ups

GRAVEL
drift
car height 8
front spring stiffness 1
rear spring stiffness 7
front compression damper 3
front rebound damper 3
rear compression damper 8
rear rebound damper 8
front anti-roll bar 4
rear anti-roll bar 8
rear downforce 8
max steering lock 10
brake bias 0
handbreak strength 10
gear final ratio 2 ???????
1st gear ?
2nd gear ?
3rd gear ?
4th gear ?
5th gear ?
front differential 2
rear differential 8
central differential 5
traction balance 1

TARMAC SLOW SPEED BERLIN drift
car height 0
front spring stiffness 2
rear spring stiffness 8
front compression damper 4
front rebound damper 4
rear compression damper 9
rear rebound damper 9
front anti-roll bar 5
rear anti-roll bar 9
rear downforce 8
max steering lock 10
brake bias 2
handbreak strength 10
gear final ratio ???
1st gear ?
2nd gear ?
3rd gear ?
4th gear ?
5th gear ?
front differential 8 for sss use 4
rear differential 6 for sss use 8
central differential 2
traction balance 3

TARMAC HIGH SPEED - GERMANY

car height 0
front spring stiffness 2
rear spring stiffness 8
front compression damper 8
front rebound damper 8
rear compression damper 10
rear rebound damper 10
front anti-roll bar 5
rear anti-roll bar 9
rear downforce 8
max steering lock 10
brake bias 2
handbreak strength 10
gear final ratio ????

front differential 8
rear differential 6
central differential 2
traction balance 3

this set up just provides good start point for changes because its a set up which enables excellent vehicle control on corners using the left foot braking technique however you may need to give up some of that maneuverability to make the vehicle more suitable for the bumpiness of track etc, for bumpy conditions softening the rear suspension &or roll bar slightly may be a good idea, on smoother surfaces lowering the ride height or slightly tightening the front suspension & or roll bar may help???
soft suspension means more grip, in a straight line more grip at the rear means better acceleration because as the vehicle is pushed back by momentum it will sit heavier on the rear wheels, so you have to determine what is most important to you, handling or acceleration dependent upon the type of circuit, I guess if you are running soft front suspension like this is, then diverting traction balance to front may find extra acceleration, im not sure yet just thought of that just now haha? that likely wouldn't do a thing though, higher rear differential settings might help a little but not much, its just something you will have to decide for yourself i think, its whatever gets the best time in the end, ive still not taken gear ratios and rear wing into consideration, with less ride height you should not need as much rear wing if its the same as formula one, in formula one the car also provides downforce with riding so low but im a bit skeptical that this has an effect in WRC cars except possibly when it is at zero
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
What a great game, pure rally, none of the silly gimmicks that other so caller rally games have in them. Even WRC3 has elements in it which are total rubbish, bot once in my 20+ years did I have to smash gates or set off against the clock with my car falling to pieces around me.
The only complaint I would have is that the Co-Driver came from the school of wimps, squawks like a stuck pig after a crash or calls out "watch out" after you hit something, and is always saying "slow down". My navigator never ever said slow down, maybr the odd "Care ahead" now and then. Allin all a great game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
K so when i got the first WRC game by Blackbean when it came out i was to say the least disappointed,tbh i traded it back in the day i got it,it was so bad.Actually tbf i still havent got over how bad that game really was,seriously it was like they had looked at the sega mega drive big book of game programing for inspiration.Graphics were naff,stage design was awful,really i could just go on and on and on,so many faults,not enough virtual ink in the world to cover them all.
Nyhoos jump forward a year and here we have WRC 2.Firstly I have to say i bought this game entirely because of the low price of £13 and a bit because my m8s kids had bought him a copy for his crimbo so i didnt want him to suffer alone.
Secondly,since ive had it i have spent a HUGE ammount of time on it. Graphics and stage design are very much improved although graphically its not Dirt 3 level but the gameplay makes up for that. The handling is somewhat improved although does take a small bit of getting (more sim feel than arcade) used to and tweaking in the car setup screen.
If i had any complaints the only ones i would really have would be the lack of force feedback and steering wheel options,not a game breaker but could be better.Lack of lobby options online eg. force assists off. Stages still arent long enough and there are 2 few per country to make it feel like a real rally.
All in all this gane is so much better than the last one and i would happily recomend it to anyone for the price its at just now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2012
This could have been the rallying game on the PS3, unfortunately the designers have ignored the basics of physics and inertia to produce what resembles a slot car going around a track. The handling is nothing like an actual car, the biggest challenge is spotting where the track goes.

Poor graphics, laborious menu system and not in the same league as Gran Turismo 5 with regard to being a realistic driving simulation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
First say to me is the best WRC have certainly taken. Much better than the WRC3. Tambine say it is very sad that still original band when servers are not working. When you buy an original game, as a minimum, Respect those who expect a price reduction or were unable to buy it at launch and let the servers running. I am still MotoGg 08 player online, that's a very good example.
regards
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2011
Let's get a couple of things straight before we start. This ISN'T Dirt and it's not trying to be. It's a darn good Rally game which is incredibly enjoyable and superb fun. The career mode is one of the best I've ever used on a racing game, getting sponsors, cars, liveries etc and it's a long old journey getting to the top, starting in the R2 class.

If you want to go straight in then do so, drive the full on WRC cars in single rally or championship, straight from the word go.

Handling on the game is really good for the budget they had, it seems incredibly realistic and a lot of fun can be had. The graphics aren't too bad - nothing overly special but they do the job.

Quite frankly an excellent game, a lot of fun, nice and simple menu system combined with good handling and a solid price to boot = WIN!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)