Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
53
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2017
Great film! Classic! Love this. First watched it years and years ago and decided I needed it as part of my collection! Any lovers of Kung Fu films has to have this in their collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2016
It is a good film and does get the message across about the Prodigal Son, however it did concentrate a little too much on the him spending all the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
Good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Item is of good quality and value for money. I will recommend to anyone wanting to teach children bible stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2004
This is simply the greatest martial arts film of all time.
The film has a great story. Our hero Leung Chang (Yeun Biao -Once upon a time in China, Project A )is the son of a rich man in Fats Shun. He believes he is the greatest fighter in all of Fat-Shun, however the truth is a little different.
His opponents are payed to lose, because his mother and father are afraid of him getting hurt. Chang soon finds out when his cousins upset the leading lady at the local opera. This opera star turns out to be a man, a Wing-Chun expert called Leung Yee-Tai (Ching-Ying Lam - Game of Death, Iron Fisted Monk).
Upon this revelation, Leung Chang decides to ask Yee-Tai to become his master. Yee-Tai refuses outright, so using the help of his rich father, Leung Chang purchases the Opera Troupe. Yee-Tai still refuses to teach Leung Chang, buts makes use of Leung Chang by having him perform in the opera. Leung Chang is mistaken for someone else and has to fight back stage. The battle spills out onto the stage where Yee-Tai is performing in the opera, being watched by Lord Ngai (Frankie Chan - Armour of God, Operation Condor)He is on a mission to spar with skilled Kung-Fu experts. His father is a very powerful lord and has sent two bodygaurds with Ngai, with orders to kill Ngai's oppenents without Ngai knowing. Yee-Tai helps Leung Chang fight his opponents and Yee-Tai's skill is shown to Lord Ngai. Ngai challenges Yee-Tai at a dinner and during the battle Yee-Tai suffers an asthma attack and cant continue. Ngai then challenges Yee-Tai when he is feeling better.
Without spoiling the plot that follows, you can expect stunning perfomances from Sammo Hung as Wong wah Bo and James Tein as a one armed Wing-Chun expert.
Produced by the legendary Raymond Chow, producer of The Big Boss and Fist of Fury, This fil has it all. Action, Comedy, Traged, you name it. Directed by one of the stars, Sammo Hung, The Prodigal Son is simply stunning in so many aspects it puts most films made now to shame. Not bad for a 21 year old film.
This has so much style that it should be an essential to any Martial arts fan.
The DVD come with The original Catonese version and the very funny dubbed version. It also come with a commentary by Hong Kong Legends expert Bey Logan. Other extras include Interviews and trailers and is all greatly presented.
Amazing
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2010
This animation has something both for the young and old. It really opens up the story, showing the young son's passion and aspirations, and how because of his immaturity he squandered all his wealth before putting it to good use. We also catch a glimpse of the Father's heart, showing how the son (and we) are received when we genuinely acknowledge our mistakes and ask for forgiveness. A great one to have in the family collection.Testament: The Bible in Animation - Ruth [DVD] [1996] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
Although this is my favourite Bible parable which i wanted to share with my little daughter, i was not impressed with the storyline. The quality of the images is allright, like the other DVDs in this series. However, it's mainly about how the younger brother is squandering his father's money. Little do we hear Jesus talk at the beginning or after the story is over. No highlightning the Father's love. Would not buy this one, please try other DVDs from the series and hopefully you have a more inspiring story to show your kids.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2009
Very good value for money my son (7) could not wait to see it, will be in contact again for more good vale DVD's
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2011
Undoubtedly one of the very best martial arts films ever. Features several legendary martial arts performers at the top of their games, and some top-notch choreography which some would say has never been matched.
Consider also that most martial arts films don't have a story to speak of - this film defies this and in the famed "ninja" scene you genuinely fear for the lives of the leading characters.

This DVD is as high quality a version of the film as you're ever likely to get hold of - the film is from the early 80's - it's unlikely to have better picture or sound quality than you see here.

Also note that the last time this film went out of stock, copies were being sold for over £50 on ebay etc. -- not quite antique pricing, but it's a genuine example of the much overused phrase "cult classic".
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)