Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars
52
2.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2012
This is an excellent product. I use it on Kindle For PC. It is much easier to use than the paper version. Searching is very easy. It takes you to an index where there are links to the various senses and parts of speech. This is the first Kindle reference book I have bought that is optimised for searching. This book is a model for other publishers to follow (including big names in publishing!).

Some reviewers suggested there were spelling mistakes. I haven't looked, and perhaps never will look at every word, but everything seems fine. Roget does contain some foreign words, some old English words, and some words in unusual, but correct senses. For instance, under 'desire', there is '... twist; thirst...'. 'Twist' does look odd, but is used perfectly correctly. Elsewhere, 'drouth' is used perfectly correctly in the sense of a shortage, even though, 'drought' is more normal.

So a good cheap book which is easier to use than the print version.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
I am disappointed with this. I had expected the same or better than the printed version but find that the alternative words offered are very limited and one is left referring to the e-dictionary, which is good but which does not do the same job.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
Only used it twice so far, but satisfactory response to words I was looking for as answers in a crossword. So it looks like it will be good. I will use it on holiday instead of having to lug a large book with me. This alone will make it worthwhile, my wife will not complain about me carrying heavy books around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Can't really complain at a purchase price of £1.99, and the search, within the limitations of the Kindle OS, works reasonably, but it appears to be based - admittedly from a limited number of searches - on 'American' English with only some of the variations linked so it seems that finding some words where there are US/English spelling variants might be a bit hit & miss. Some examples: searching for 'humour' & 'rumour' returns no results and can only be found using the American spellings of 'humor' & 'rumor'; searching for 'defence' does return the US version 'defense', but 'defence' isn't actually listed.

Disappointing that this aspect isn't mentioned in Amazon's product right up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
This is such good value and so easy to use. Very comprehensive and it is easy to use and search.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
It works and does what it says on the tin, so to speak. Handy to have when you are struggling for the right word. Not much else you can say about a functioning electronic Thesaurus except, as with other reference books, you want to use it with a touch screen, otherwise it gets laborious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
I have used a hard copy of Roget's Thesaurus for years and as I have been gradually acquiring all the reference books I use onto kindle I added the thesaurus to my list. I was so disappointed with the first attempt as it was nothing more than the paper one without any links to search.
This one is fab! Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
This may be useful for creative writing for linking moods, concepts etc but does not work in any straightworward way for helping solve crossword clues which is what I wanted it for.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
This is definitely one of the best buys I have purchased for my crossword mad husband. Easy to use and to-date everything he needed to find was in it. Excellent value for money and a great asset for the serious puzzle solver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
The Roget's Thesaurus is very difficult to find words
When you do manage to find the words, you would have to go and search for it in another page.
Even then it may not contain the words you want.
Occasionally you may eventually find the word
It would be much easier if the words you want are on the first page opened
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)