Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
35
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2014
I can see what they were trying to do with this film but the storyline had a bit of an amateurish feel to it and there was a lack of depth to the characters. It appeared to be set in Manchester but there was something of a dearth of genuine Mancunians amongst the characters! Either that or the accents were bad. Without giving the storyline away too much a couple of likeable young scallies who are ravers at the weekend decide with a group of close friends to start their own events - referencing the early days of illegal warehouse parties etc. There are ups and downs on their journey and they get caught up with a variety of characters along the way. That's where the story starts to break down a bit - there's just not enough of a genuine feel to any of the characters, no back story or depth to them. It doesn't feel believable. That said, the film's got a bit of charm and there are some classic tunes on there even if their chronology is questionable. A film that starts with Kariya's 'Let Me Love You For Tonight' and ends with SL2's 'DJs Take Control' will put a smile on the face of genuine ravers who were there in the day - but, yeah I'm talking to you Terry Farley :-p - the film is set in 1990 so including Gat Decor's 'Passion' and Golden Girls' 'Kinetic' (the best tune on the soundtrack imo) is stretching it a bit as they didn't pop up for couple of years after in reality. I was also puzzled as to the direction the film was going in when an ousted DJ is aghast at 'harder' music. Acid House itself was at the centre of the scene (yet missing from this film) and was just as hard imo as 'Mentasm' which was the 'harder' track talked about. I also noticed a strange inconsistency with the film which was quite happy to continually reference class A drug use, yet was at pains not to have any real sex or violence in the film - which it actually needed to provide depth to the storyline because it would have been relevant. In summary? This isn't a particularly genuine showing of what the rave scene was like, yet it's a lo-fi enjoyable film nonetheless. Don't watch it expecting to 'find out what it was like back in the day' if you're a young clubber, nor will you be transporting back to your days of getting right on one with your white gloves if you're 40(ish) *coughs* with real authenticity. Good tunes though - cheers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
This film is a must for any old school ravers out there like myself. The music is great and it really brought back some memories.
Definitely one of the best clubbing/raving films that has been made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
If your not to serious about all the intricate details of films you would probably like this film. It's a good film i watched it online and then i had to buy it so i could watch it again would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Proper rave film!! Soon as I watched it I felt like belling the lads to go out!! Personally like it more then human traffic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
What can I say... this film is rocking and well worth a viewing. Captures the scene and took me right back. What a great young cast of new talent. Jack O'Connell is a star. Quality film, quality music.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
Great nostalgia trip. Shows how dull tennagers lives are today anyway. What a choice, watch X Factor or wear hoodies and be horrible to everyone. This is all about good times for the first half. The 2nd half gets darker reflecting Madchester's shift towards Gunchester. One thing though, a movie in 1990's Manchester and not one person is wearing anything baggy, there are no mentions of the Stone Roses or Happy Mondays and in fact when the guy is playing drums inside Matt and Dylans flat Peanut says 'Cut it out Phil Collins', surely someone switched on at that time would have said Reni who was the Roses legendary drummer at that time. Soundtrack is great and its an easy watch. Suspect this may outlast Human Traffic which seemed like the best film ever on the first few watches but is now a struggle to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
One of the worst films i have ever seen what a waste of time,having lived the dream of the early rave scene and seen some great movie made from this time i have a good knowledge of the early 90's clubs and the music, clueless and poor acting sums this movie up dont waste your time go watch human traffic
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2011
I liked this film. I really enjoyed it as I think any fellow fan of the rave, acid house scene would. I grew up listening to this stuff as a teen. Wasn't the best UK film i've seen by far but I liked it anyway because of what it represents/genre. Watching the film just made me want to get up and go rave lol.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
The film is set in 1990 but a lot of the music is from years after that. The director should have paid someone who was on the scene back in the day to go through the script and soundtrack and advise. It looks like the only knowledge of the scene has been lifted from newspaper clippings. The acting is terrible (Think Biker Grove with fake manc accents)and the characters totally one dimensional. The atmosphere and dancing in the parties is nothing like it was back then. On paper this could have been a fantastic film but it's messy and totally unauthentic. Would have been so much better if someone like Noel Clarke had directed it. A bigger pile of dung than Nick Love's 2009 remake of The Firm. One to miss. The one star is for the dayglow pink cover, not the film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2012
Having grown up during the rave scene of the early 90s I found this movie a massive disappointment. It doesn't even come close to capturing the atmosphere of the time. Terrible script, weak storyline, full of cliches. The characters are silly and annoying - I didn't care about any of them. Don't waste your time on this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here